We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

United Backpackers Melbourne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of United Backpackers Melbourne
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is perfect, next to Fed square. The hostel is really new and clean, with huge common areas (netflix cinema, bar, kitchen). Internet do not work and the hot water ends arround 10am. I recomene it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, come back and visit us soon. The United Crew.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location of this hostel is what makes it so great, just seconds from tram stops and Federation Square. Kitchen facilities are great, one of the few hostels I've stayed in where ovens are provided and never had to wait to cook. Appeared to be quite cliquey though, although the staff where friendly on reception, many long termers seemed unwilling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophiemidds94
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Sophie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on us, especially one that is so awesome. So many positive points highlighted. Really sorry that you found the long termers cliquey. I find it hard to comment on this one as they don't work for our company. But as always when traveling, we encourage people...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms, common areas, kitchen, bathrooms and all were very clean and inviting! The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. A locked storage area was available while waiting for check-in. The laundry facilities were a great bonus! The beds each had their own lockable underbed storage area and electrical outlet. The location was right across the street from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LinduhC
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

We are over the moon that you had such a positive experience here with us. Thanks for the awesome write up. Hope you are still enjoying your travels. Thank you so much. The United Crew

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location close to everything. Good quality for a backpacker, big kitchen and cozy bar downstairs. Bathrooms a bit dirty and AC got super cold at night. Late check in at 2 pm..! The reception was always super busy with long queues,but the staff is as friendly as you can expect in a big busy hostel as this one.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noora L
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Noora, Thanks for leaving us this review. We don't often get negative comments about the cleanliness of our hostel, but that's not to say that we don't take it seriously, because we. I can assure you we have just had a housekeeping meeting last Friday to remind and retrain on what our high standards are here. We hope very...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're travelling alone this is the hostel to stay at. With a really friendly staffing team and amazing bar downstairs. It's easy to mingle and meet people. I stayed here for 2 weeks and loved every second of it. The rooms are clean and spacious, bathrooms seem newly renovated and nice. And the kitchens are just mega!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HannahDarby85
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Thank you so much for your positive review. We love hearing that we are kicking goals and people are loving their time here at our hostel. We hope the rest of your travels in Australia are as awesome. Hopefully see you back here one time. Take Care, The United Crew

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

4 huge social rooms, all aircon: Bar (with pool table, giant jenga and something on every night), chill out room (lots of comfy seats and plug sockets), tv room (I only popped my head in hear during two weeks as I was busy doing other things but seems a good set up), and kitchen/diner (loads of fridge and pantry space,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leah-barlow
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Leah, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. With regards to the WiFi: We do also offer a high speed WiFi but it does cost money. 1 day is $4, 7 days is $12, if you are wanting to download films etc this is probably the best one to use. We...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights Here hostel is in the heart of city easy access to everything public transport and restaurant it's very clean no complaint on those whatsoever. Only issue we hated was 10 AM check out if u can check in on 2pm only why do we have to checkout at 10am don't we pay for 24 hrs or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yogibear5252
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We do understand that checking out at 10am can be too early for some people, but sadly we have to do this as we love to make sure our hostel and rooms are super smashing clean. We...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hostel, clean, super friendly stuff, lockers, large kitchen area and awesome bar! Activities on at the bar every night to bond the backpackers, even if you're traveling by yourself you going to find this hostel very cozy and fun. Loved it! will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank טל א
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

5 stars rating......Thank you very much. We are over the moon you had such a great time with us here, and that you also took the time to review us. You are awesome, Enjoy the rest of your travels, The United Crew.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

United backpackers was the first hostel I stayed in since I came to Australia backpacking. The facilities were very good. Sturdy and comfy beds, lockers, large clean kitchen area and multiple clean bathrooms. I cannot fault the standards of this hostel as they are very good. Entertainment on at the bar every night which is good and often offering free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello Dan, Thank you for the 5 star rating, we are delighted that you had a great stay and you dig what we are doing here. You rock for taking the time to review us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The United crew.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place has absolutely anything you could need for a few nights in Melbourne. It's right opposite Flinders St Station, 30 second walk from Federation Square and a tram stop, only a few minutes walk away from the main shopping streets - I couldn't express any more how central this hostel is. This means its in the free tram zone...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindyBopper
United_Melbourne, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It means so much to us as we really do work hard as a team to make sure everyone who stays with us has a great stay. Hopefully we will see you again one day, until then enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers The United Crew

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
10 Share Dorm (12)
Viewed
4 Share Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Private Queen Ensuite (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
5,077 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 156 in Melbourne
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#6 of 156 in Melbourne
819 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#11 of 125 in Melbourne
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $35 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from United Backpackers Melbourne staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
5 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from United Backpackers Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not next to the alley way, you will be woken up at around 6.30 by cafe workers throwing beer bottles into the bin.”
 of 5 bubbles Fle0003, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 12 dorm does not have airconditioning, so if you can not stand the heat I would defenitely not choose those rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles juliavC409WZ, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure to get in early as it books out fast!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Jaselorimer, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors to avoid the loudness from the basement bar”
 of 5 bubbles bexxodoodles, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1st floor is noiser but closer to kitchen and tv room, higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles chelsealopes, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5