We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Show Prices
#45 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,949: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is at an amazing location ... 10 mins walk to city center/casino. Airport shuttle drops and pics you up at 1 min distance from the hotel. Rooms are very spacious , cleaned daily. We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. eureka tower is just 20 m away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacationaddict_009
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Vacationaddict_009, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location in Southbank to access the various popular sites near our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Warm Regards, Cameron Richardson...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Good location but the front of house staff need to communicate with each other more and try and be more accommodating - keep guests informed. Bathroom floor very dirty. We would stay again because of the location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey563
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Tracey563, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location in Southbank to access the various popular sites near our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Warm Regards, Cameron Richardson...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

When I checked in 2 of the computers were lagging and we had to wait. The room was fresh and enough spece. No issue with noise or slamming doors. The breakfast was good and sustained me for most of the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 485ernstl
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear 485ernstl, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Travelodge Southbank. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate your feedback about the hotel and will ensure that your kind words and feedback are passed onto our team. Thank you again for sharing the experience...

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The only negative point I experienced during my stay, but a point I consider very important when chosing a room, was that I booked room with "free internet" stated in the website, but in reality there were only a few MB/day. I felt a little tricked with the use of the expression "free internet". It would be more honest to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joana_domingues
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Joana_domingues, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Travelodge Southbank. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to announce that we have now changed our internet plans and guests now receive free unlimited wifi at our Hotel. Thank you again for sharing the...

Ayr, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This hotel is ideally positioned for Melbourne CBD. Walking distance to everything you need. Staff were fantastic and friendly. Nothing was too much effort. Only downside was the fact that the room only got serviced late in the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location in Southbank to access the various popular sites near our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Warm Regards, Cameron...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We chose this hotel as it was quite a bit cheaper than others in the area and were pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable, the location is fantastic and the staff were really friendly. It even had a sink and microwave so you could do some basic food prep in your room if needed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 41rache
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear 41rache, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our specials available through our website and emails. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Cameron Richardson | Duty Manager Travelodge Southbank

Kinglake West
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Such a great location to stay walking distance to crown casino. Rooms are fresh & clean staff are most helpful & restaurant food was great with plenty of variety for breakfast. certainly stay again bedding was comfortable - having a great night sleep is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank W5363LPkimc
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear W5363LPkimc, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location in Southbank to access the various popular sites near our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future. Warm Regards, Cameron Richardson...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I cannot move in mornings to get myself out of bed beds are really uncommfortable have told reception first night i was here al they said nothing we can do rooms are small had to ask for more tea bags are not been replemished on servicing travelodge is close to everything but im sure there is way nicer friendlier places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncfletcher2016
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Ncfletcher2016, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I am sorry to read that our guest service was not up to the standard we expect. I have addressed your concerns with the Front Office department to improve our overall guest experience...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Footy finals in Melbourne are no bigger than last Friday night and I was there live. Staying at the Travelodge Southbank makes the weekend more enjoyable because of position, price, cleanliness and polite staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne O
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear Leanne O, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amazing location near the MCG and were able to access the various popular sites near our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near...

Wollongong
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Staff were very friendly & went above & beyond for our stay. Location was excellent near the DFO, Casino & Restaurants. Room was very clean & well designed. Already planning our next trip back here with family & friends. Thanks again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiehX9914TZ
Cameron R, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review

Dear KatiehX9914TZ, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Travelodge Southbank. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate your feedback about the hotel and will ensure that your kind words and feedback are passed onto our team. Thank you again for sharing the experience...

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (69)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4,290 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
733 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#54 of 158 in Melbourne
3,258 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: $128 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank Victoria
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank staff and other travellers.
49 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Surrey, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (49)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles keithrobbie, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Three or eight, handy for laundry rooms”
 of 5 bubbles rosemaryWales, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don,t know.”
 of 5 bubbles SkegnessBiggerry, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Skydeck, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 832lizziee, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great Location, Free Breakfast, Free Wifi”
 of 5 bubbles AWorldTraveler1992, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5