We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jasper Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jasper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jasper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 946: English reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couples night .The front staff were friendly. The room was lovely spacious with toilet shower in a separate area Mini bar/fridge coffee and tea area Foxtel The rooms only downside was traffic noise as it faces elizabeth st and the foot traffic and construction can be heard The food at the downstairs restaurant is delicious we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Donna M, Thank you for your recent review. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our entire team. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Melbourne.

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I booked a two-night weekend stay in here because of the location and I liked that they had a room overlooking a courtyard. It was even better than that! The room had direct access to a covered internal courtyard in the heart of Melbourne's CBD with outdoor table and chairs, lawn and plants. Absolutely fantastic. While the room was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Terry F, Thank you for your recent review. Itis always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our entire team.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This is a perfectly adequate hotel for a short break at a reasonable cost. No frills, but breaky and dinner was okay, but lots of restaurants closeby if you prefer. Was an excellent base to see the city as inside the free tram zone and for the time spent in the room all was fine. All staff were pleasant, friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham I
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham I, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and overall you were consistently happy with the hotel features and facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Jasper is a little Boutique Hotel close to the Victorian Market.Its on Elizabeth Street and an Free Tram station is just in front of the Hotel.They have 2 different room types. The newer ones are stylish and modern and the older ones are a little older :-) and not so stylish but still clean. Rooms are quit noisy since the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars U
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lars U, Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and overall you were consistently happy with the hotel features and facilities. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Perth
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

房間的環境很髒,地毯上面有很多髒污斑點 ,更恐怖的是當我使用衛浴的時候,裡面的垃圾桶沒有清理,還有使用過的保險套! When we check in was midnight, when we walked into the room, there are some dirty spots all over the carpet, it looks like wax so we told the reception just make sure they aware that. Then I went into bathroom for shower, when I open the rubbish bin, I saw some yellow rubber in there and by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shane T, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I would like to apologies for the issues you faced while you were with us. All of our rooms are checked twice before they are issued to a guest, once by the housekeeper who cleaned the room and then again by a supervisor. As we have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the city for a friend's birthday. If you need a room because you will only sleep in it after a late night or want privacy as a back packer then this budget hotel is for you. Don't expect any frills AT ALL. However, it is quite clean (minus the mould in the shower- wear your thongs!) and staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherylandChris
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SherylandChris, Thank you for your recent review. I will following up with our Housekeeping department regarding your comments about the shower as this is not to the high standard that we are known for. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

London
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I had stayed in a balcony room a couple of years ago and to be honest much preferred it - despite it usually being much cheaper than this type of room which is meant to be the very best. Extremely clean and tidy (despite a few stains) and great bathroom, but very basic design and felt quite cheap and plain...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloydcclarkson
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lloydcclarkson, Thank you for your recent review. Your comments inspire us to see opportunities to serve you better, through innovation resulting in a quality outcome. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and overall you were consistently happy with the hotel features and facilities. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My son and I stayed at this hotel on our last trip to Melbourne about 12 moths or so ago. At the time he was on break from Uni but had to do stuff. These people were so accomodating......faxing, scanning and emailing for him. The service is amazing and the staff are awesome. This hotel is not in the middle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lesley, Thank you for your review. Its great to hear that we have left a lasting impression on yourself and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be share to share you feedback with my team. We definitely look foward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Good location, tram stop right outside the hotel or 10 minute walk to bourke street with the queen victoria markets 2 minutes away. Clean modern rooms with foxtel, friendly staff with a decent bar/restaurant underneath. Would reccomend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca C, Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review after your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our entire team.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The hotel itself is very good, with all the amenities you would expect. The room is a very good size, with heaps of room for luggage. There are dozens of cheap eat places nearby. The only downside is the noise. We had a room facing Elizabeth St, and there was a party outside in the street which went until after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterg1001
Amanda_Bronlund, Front Office Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi peterg1001, Thank you for your recent review. With our central location it is difficult to eliminate all of the street noise unfortunaly although we have double glazed our windows to help with this issue. If there was a party taking place outside we do have 24Hr reception who can call noise control if they are alerted to the issue....

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $126 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jasper Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne, Victoria
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jasper Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
5 months ago
9 months ago
australia
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Jasper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High Floor, room not facing Elizabeth street.”
 of 5 bubbles Picolla2014, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Elizabeth street side (tram line) very noisy all night until the trams stop”
 of 5 bubbles FenderStrat-Perth, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a back room to avoid the noise”
 of 5 bubbles 375matthewl, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles emilyn542, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a courtyard facing room for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles boolbada, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5