We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Southern Hotel

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good35%
  • Average27%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for The Great Southern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
72
225
187
84
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
72
225
187
84
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomsouthern cross train stationcrown casinoairport bussky busetihad stadiumone night staybed was comfortablehandy locationshort stayinner citywould stay againmelbourne cityfree trampublic transportskybusstorage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

First of I was very tired so I waited to do review Untill I got home. After flying from Rome to UK then back to Australia I rang and ask for early check in as we landed back in Australia at 6.30am got to hotel...More

Thank eli t
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room is quite small but adequate. Good size bathroom. Tea & Coffee facilities and a bar fridge. Great air con. Southern Cross Station is right across the road and the Crown Casino is just down the road. The...More

Thank Liane D
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Nice hotel, friendly staff, room was clean and excellent value for money, the restaurant next door serves great meals and i highly recommend it, the only negative is that we heard another guest whinging to a front desk staff about the wifi fee, apparently costs...More

Thank coopertassie
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The images of this hotel make it look like a clean and modern hotel, appropriate for business and 3-4 stars. This place was no more than 2 stars and was not a clean/modern hotel. On arrival, the...More

Thank jlbmpms
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My secretary found this hotel for my short stay and as expected I cannot check in the morning. I had to wait in the restaurant next door which I am told not part of the hotel. Anyway waiting there for 3 hours already soured my...More

Thank blue_ring001
View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Melbourne, Australia
See all 162 hotels in MelbourneSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
USD 59 - USD 127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 59 - USD 127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
callumwesley
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Sherpa123 | Reviewed this property |
My advice would be to contact the hotel direct and make arrangements for them. This place is very clean and comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Wonderful helpful staff.
0
Votes
Patrick C
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from E4101OZsandram | Reviewed this property |
when we stayed at the great southern hotel in brisbane we had 2 single beds for our first visit then 2 king beds for our second visit. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
716luke
8 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Missymiss76 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, $50 is charged to your credit card, and supposed to be canceled on departure. 3.5weeks later, I'm still fighting for my refund, and staff are very unhelpful.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Our room faced Spencer Street, our windows opened for fresh air but the street noise is too loud at night to..."
Read review
"If quiet is needed ask before booking - courtyard doesn't mean quiet"
Read review
"Stay in the new section, have a window"
Read review
"Go elsewhere."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing