We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne

44 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (428)
Room & Suite (189)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#141 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne is close proximity to Crowne Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Marvel Stadium and Southbank. Trams and public transport virtually at the door providing easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer. Wifi available at an additional cost. Hot buffet breakfast is available at a cost of $24 per person (served between 6:30am to 10:00am) $50 cash deposit or $50 pre-authorisation on credit card for Security Key Bond collection per room on arrival. Porter service is not available, however Luggage storage is available. Additional administration fee applies when making payment via credit card to settle accommodation or incidental charges. The hotel is a smoke free property with no smoking permitted in guest rooms. This Hotel does not cater to bookings of unaccompanied minors under the age of 18 years.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
999Reviews24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 325
  • 270
  • 134
  • 139
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
daisy c wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
Value for money. The staff are very helpful & friendly. The hotel is very close to public transportation like train and buses. Just walking distance to the convention centre. There's plenty of food and entertainment choices. We love having breakfast at the hotel because the portions are good and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Coordinator, Marketing at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon. Kind regards, Mike The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona M wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia93 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
This is the 2nd time we’ve stayed here. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to Southern Cross station, supermarket, Southbank & Crown complex. The room was not flash but it was adequate for our needs. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, there were tea/coffee facilities, small fridge and wardrobe. It was quite a warm evening so we used the air conditioning throughout the night. The A/C is an old unit and was located above the door which was tricky to reach given there was no remote; it did the job though. The communal areas of the hotel probably require attention as they were not very clean and the internal balustrading resembles a prison. The staff were polite & professional and there is onsite parking available for an additional charge. The restaurant next door was very good value and made lovely parmigiana. Overall we were satisfied with our stay and the cheap price we paid for the room $100.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Reservations, Owner at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We strive to provide exceptional service and amenities to all of our guests, and we're delighted that we could do so for you. If there's anything we can do to ensure a 5-star experience during your next visit, please don't hesitate to reach out. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Kaye The Great Southern Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie W wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Although the location is great, look for somewhere else to stay. We had no window and found it very noisy as our room was next to the stairs that were required to be used after getting the lift to the 4th floor. Bathroom has been updated but was in need of a good scrub of floor tiles. Beds very uncomfortable and were advertised as king single but were only single beds. Carpets had worn patches with no pile left. Room very small. For the price we expected more!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Reservations, Owner at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Dear guest, We appreciate your time in sharing your experience with us. We take each review seriously, and yours will never be put to waste. However, as much as we want to resolve it quickly, we are sorry to inform you that we cannot find your booking details in our system. This hinders us from acting accordingly. If you may, please send us an email containing your booking details so we can identify the room you are referring to. Thank you and have a great day! Best regards, Kaye The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phil U wrote a review Nov 2023
Richmond, Australia1 contribution
The air con not working report Ed it 2 hours later it got fixed. Showers Luke warm not nice at all and did not fix this problem. . Breakfast paid fortwo Breakfast but would only let one eat . As great southern stated it one had one paid for . But showed in our booking it showed two Breakfast paid in full but great southern would not expect this overall I rate great southern as very poor service and bad hotel and will never return there.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Yes don't stay at the great southern hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Coordinator, Marketing at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback. Regarding your alleged concerns with your room and breakfast, we could not find your booking details in our system. Unfortunately, this has hindered us from addressing your concerns in a timely manner. To help us assist you better, kindly provide us with your booking details by sending an email through our website. Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a great day! Kind regards, Mike The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
josh wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT STAY HERE! Pictures are deceiving and the rooms/hotel does not look like the photos online. The whole place is run down and looks like a prison! The room itself felt like a prison cell, it was dirty, the bed was uncomfortable, it had a sheet and a dirty brown old blanket over the top. You could here all sorts of noises throughout the night, from other rooms and random noises from the room and outside the block. The shower was either boiling or freezing and not clean. There was brown stain on the toilet roll whixh i dont even want to think what that was. There is teo small windows with blinds that people could still look through. Beat part of my stay here was leaving and finding another hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find another hotel. We found the hilton 5mins down the road for similar proce with amazing clean...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Coordinator, Marketing at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Hi Josh, We appreciate your feedback about our hotel and understand that every guest has their own perspective. We're delighted to inform you that all our rooms have undergone spring cleaning for an enhanced experience. Please be informed that we are having ongoing maintenance on our boiler system, causing the unavailability of hot water at times. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again. Thank you for your kind understanding. Kind regards, Mike The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hannah Y wrote a review Nov 2023
Colchester, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
We arrived at 0130 after our flight and hoping for a nice, easy stay, we were extremely disappointed. The layout is like a prison and the rooms like the prison cells. There are 2 windows at the front next to the bedroom door so people can just look straight in. The only benefit it 2 blinds on each window. The bed had some horrendous, dirty brown throw over it. The springs were almost coming through the bed, the pillows were like sleeping on air (as in there was absolutely nothing in the pillow). The toilet roll had suspicious brown marks on it, stains throughout the room, the water coming from the shower had no power and was difficult to get the temperature correct. Something like this may be perfect if you were staying for one night after being on the drink, but I wouldn’t recommend anything longer if you’re sober. We found a better hotel at a cheaper price and only 2 minutes round the corner. While the location is perfect, the outdated, dirtiness and tired appearance of the hotel lets it down
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Social Media Coordinator, Marketing at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your insights on our hotel. We value diverse perspectives from our guests. We take reviews seriously and will answer your concerns. We have raised this issue with the housekeeping team. They checked the room and did a deep cleaning to have it ready for the next guest. Moreover, we apologize for the fluctuation of the hot shower due to our boiler system. Presently, the maintenance team has ongoing maintenance on said unit to improve the experience of our guests. Kind regards, Mike The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Familyholidayers_12 wrote a review Nov 2023
Adelaide, Australia52 contributions19 helpful votes
False advertising regarding rooms on Bookings.com. Was like being in a jail cell with no space. Great staff who provided an upgrade. Iron was filthy & damaged clothing & outside/inside room smelt like cigarette smoke.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No nice places to eat around this hotel, noisy, smells of smoke, undesirable clientele throughout...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Reservations, Owner at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We aim to exceed the expectations of our guests; however, we do understand that each guest has their own preference when it comes to our interior design and space. About your alleged concerns, we regret to inform you that we cannot find your booking details in our system. This hinders us from acting in a timely manner. It would be best if you could provide us with your booking details by sending us an email through our website. Thank you so much and we look forward to hearing from you. Have a great day! Best regards, Kaye The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tourist05222457289 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
Dirty hallway. One service lift operating during renovations of the lifts. Very slow. Heaps opting for the stairs. We were notified by fellow patrons lift times and its service was bad within 5 minutes of checking in. HUGE dirty wheelie rubbish bin left in floyer for hrs. Dirty stairway leading to our room. Very outdated blanket / bedding and foyer. Stayed there numerous times. But this room dingy, little . Was not worth its $265 10/10 for position. Cocktails in restaurant were lovely
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Reservations, Owner at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Thank you for contacting The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne. We are sorry you did not enjoy the stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback. Please be advised that we liaised with the housekeeping department regarding dirty stairway, hallway, wheelie rubbish bin, outdated blanket/bedding and foyer. We also coordinated with the maintenance department and please be informed that we will be replacing our 44 Spencer Street lifts both lift 1 and 2. Each lift will be out of action for approximately 12 weeks and this project will be completed by 01.04.2024. Please see lift upgrade notice on our website. We have addressed the issues internally and we hope to see you again and give you better service as expected. Best regards, Kaye The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carol C wrote a review Oct 2023
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions1 helpful vote
The Great Southern hOtel near Southern Cross station 3 min distance to walked easy to finds Hotel family’s room was big and clean. Very comfortable stay, next Year will back to hotel again. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Reservations, Owner at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay will be very soon. Please don’t hesitate to call us by then so we can gladly welcome you even better. The Great Southern Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melanie B wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Uninterested staff. Ridiculous noisy rooms with uncomfortable beds and bedding. Our shower drain was blocked, causing the bathroom floor to flood. Limited car parking. The only positive was the location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vera Admin Coordinator, Other at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Responded 1 Oct 2023
Hello Melanie, thank you for sharing your feedback, We are very sorry to hear that your recent experience with our hotel was not up to your expectations. We have promptly followed up on the reported issues and can share that the drain was fixed by our maintenance during your stay and the bed mattress was changed this morning. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$85 - AU$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
enterprize hotel melbourne
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Enterprize
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
256
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GREAT SOUTHERN HOTEL MELBOURNE (AU$85): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Haigh's Chocolates Rialto (0.3 km), Viri VR (0.09 km), and SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vue De Monde, Delhi Streets Indian Street Food, and The Grain Store.
Is The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (1.6 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (2.2 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (1.9 km).
Is The Great Southern Hotel Melbourne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.