We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Quest Southbank

12-16 Kavanagh St Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (67)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Early Bird Special
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#20 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At Quest Southbank, everything Melbourne has to offer is at your doorstep - in a quiet location only moments from Southbank Promenade and its iconic restaurants, The Arts Centre, National Gallery of Victoria, Federation Square, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex, Melbourne's CBD, Melbourne Park and MCG Sports Venues. Quest Southbank has 90 modern spacious hotel apartments including One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments. Ideal for families, colleagues or larger groups looking for a home away from home experience with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. We also offer a range of Two and Three Bedroom Executive Apartments – that offer more space internally, superior fit out and extensive views over either; the city, the bay or the Arts Precinct and scenic Kings Domain gardens. All Apartments enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed fibre service and Nespresso Coffee machine and Speciality Teas. At Quest Southbank guests can enjoy a diverse range of menus and dining experiences, at Southbank’s iconic restaurants, cafés and bars all with a spectacular backdrop of Melbourne’s city skyline.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Strollers
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian
Hotel links
Special Rate:Early Bird Special
1627Reviews11Q+A70Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 769
  • 574
  • 186
  • 59
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SusanneS741 wrote a review 24 Feb
Uppsala, Sweden5 contributions8 helpful votes
Good location. Staff informed about great breakfast nearby, as well as other services. Washing facilities very good too. Streets are not so busy at night, calm neighborhood. We would stay here again if we return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 4 days ago
Hi SusanneS741, Thank you greatly for taking a moment to review your stay with us at Quest Southbank. It was fantastic chatting to you and accommodating your stay in Melbourne. We hope to welcome you back for another stay sometime soon. Take care, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Panee L wrote a review July 2022
Sydney, Australia8 contributions11 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Location is great - close to the arts precinct, entertainment/restaurants, a short walk to Flinders Street station and the CBD. The room is comfortable and quiet. Staff very friendly. Most housekeeping personnel were very friendly, receptive and helpful - great service. We were very comfortable staying there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 17 July 2022
Hi Paneel2015, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Quest Southbank! We really do appreciate all feedback as it is the key to our success! We are blessed with the fantastic location, being in the heart of Southbank and close to everything! As well as having fantastic staff both reception and housekeeping! We really do strive to provide the best customer service possible. We hope we can welcome you back to Quest Southbank one day in the near future! Thank you. Kind Regards - Meme - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bettinaogden wrote a review 24 Feb
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
I booked a one room apartment on the second floor facing Kavenagh Street for a four night stay during the week The room was well appointed, spacious and clean. The bathroom also had laundry facilities and I actually did a load of washing! It was a pleasant stay and I was very happy to have the extra space to unwind after a long day of study and physical workshops at the uni. The location was absolutely brilliant. In easy walking distance to VCA, The Art Gallery of Victoria, the Botanic Gardens, Melbourne Theatre Company, NIDA, and so many more cultural institutions. Each night I was able to walk down to the river and soak up the atmosphere where there were a plethora of restaurants, bars and shopping options. The charm of the Yarra at late afternoon was not lost with school rowing squads, go-boats and ferries. Within an easy 2 minute walk I discovered a small arcade with an IGA supermarket (with bottle shop), a Japanese street food shop, Chinese take-away and a lovely dine in or take away pizza restaurant (I can recommend the Pizza). There is a cafe downstairs and a wholefood cafe just around the corner. Flinders street station is also an easy five minute walk away. Upon leaving, I walked to Southern Cross Station (Spencer Street) to catch the Sky Bus to the airport which was a seamless experience, and good value for money. The walk to Spencer street took about 15 minutes with trolley bags in tow. I can highly recommend Quest as good value for money. The one downside was that the construction work across the road began at 7am, which did not bother me but if you are a late sleeper, consider this over the next few weeks/months until the work is complete.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 4 days ago
Dear bettinaogden, Greetings from Quest Southbank. Wow! What a fantastic and thorough review of your recent stay with us. We are extremely appreciative you have taken such time to provide some commentary on your experience at Quest Southbank. The team are thrilled you made the most of our great location in the heart of Melbourne's Arts precinct, and you were able to access all the surrounding amenities without a hassle. We would love the opportunity to accommodate you again and look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amy0j wrote a review 19 Feb
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution
Excellent location (short walk to MCG, DFO and promenade). Clean, neat facilities. Great showers and bed. Went for a girls trip but will certainly stay again with my young family. Overall very happy with the accommodation, service and facilities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Amy! Thanks so much for taking your time to leave us such a positive review!! So happy to hear that you loved the convenience of the location for your Swiftie trip and that you enjoyed the shower and bed! We hope to have you stay again at Quest Southbank sometime soon! All the best, Nicola - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
H8793OGjulia wrote a review 19 Feb
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution
Such a beautiful and high quality apartment. Our stay was excellent despite being brief. Staff were wonderful and incredibly friendly, helpful and supportive during our stay. The facilities were excellent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Julia, Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us this great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the quality of your apartment and will be sure to pass on all your lovely feedback to our helpful staff! We hope to welcome you back to stay at Quest Southbank soon! All the best, Nicola - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sahajkumar wrote a review 18 Feb
Bunbury, Australia1 contribution
Great location close to everything. staff was good. rooms were clean and good size. kitchen was equipped well. disturbance from nearby Contruction site in early morning was a bit annoying but overall good experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much sahajkumar for your comments on your recent stay at Quest Southbank! We are pleased your experience was a positive one and hope to accommodate you again. Take care, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
5travellingfamily wrote a review 17 Feb
Albury Wodonga, Australia1 contribution
Really clean fully furnished self-contained apartment - perfect for families as the kitchen size was very generous and supermarket and playground just around the corner. The views were fantastic, day and night. Parking spaces in park house are super tight though.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 5travellingfamily, Greetings from Quest Southbank! Thank you for your review. We rely on such feedback to try and continually improve our guest experience. It is great to see that your family was comfortable and enjoyed our home away from home apartment experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa wrote a review 15 Feb
Hastings, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at the Quest Southbank for work purposes including a free weekend. It is well placed for access to restaurants, cafes and also within walking distance of supermarkets, CBD, Yarra river, Botanical gardens, south Melbourne market. Bonus is the cafe next door that becomes a Mexican restaurant in the evening, perfect and great coffee/food. Great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you leesaelvis for providing some great feedback on your recent stay with us at Quest Southbank! It looks as though you utilised our excellent location to explore Melbourne's offerings and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Take care, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roalja wrote a review 2 Feb
Noosaville, Australia118 contributions95 helpful votes
Staff were very helpful. Good little restaurant next door. Car park a bit squeezy. Lifts very efficient. Apartments must be due for an update soon. Perfectly adequate for a few days but definitely not luxe and I’m not sure how cost compares with similar in that location but $400 a night for four adults is okay. Thanks for letting us stay an extra couple of hours in the car park and check-out is 10am. I had trouble finding that detail.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Roalja, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us at Quest Southbank. As a small family business we strive to continually improve our guest experience and thank you again for the feedback. We are delighted to have accommodated your requests and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. All the best, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
twograys2024 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Wonderful with a very clean and comfortable room, staff was also very helpful couldn’t fault them at all. Was upgraded to a two bed room apartment after realising two 16 yr olds girls and mum wouldn’t do well in one queen bed, don’t know what hubby was thinking when booking, but the wonderful lady on the front desk upgraded us and made our trip even better by being so much more comfortable.l would recommend your Hotel without hesitation Thankyou so much
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Quest Southbank, General Manager at Quest Southbank
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear twograys2024, Greetings from Quest Southbank! Thank you greatly for providing some wonderful comments regarding your recent experience staying with us. It is lovely to read that you had a pleasant stay and your staff interactions were positively memorable. We hope to welcome you back again. All the best in 2024, Scarlett - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$183 - AU$311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quest southbank melbourne, quest southbank hotel melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneSouthbank
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEST SOUTHBANK (AU$183): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Melbourne) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Quest Southbank
Which popular attractions are close to Quest Southbank?
Nearby attractions include The Australian Ballet (0.10 km), National Gallery of Victoria (0.2 km), and Southbank (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quest Southbank?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Quest Southbank?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Quest Southbank?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Quest Southbank?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quest Southbank?
Conveniently located restaurants include P.J.O'Brien's Irish Pub, Waterfront, and Ponyfish Island.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quest Southbank?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Quest Southbank have airport transportation?
Yes, Quest Southbank offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Quest Southbank located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Quest Southbank?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Quest Southbank?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Indonesian.