We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Show Prices
#62 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,085 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mantra Southbank Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,081: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We stayed at the hotel for one night. There seemed to be an inroom party involving a large number of people, yelling screaming and playing ridiculously loud music. Calls to reception at 1am and 2am had no effect ... got to sleep at 3 when they finally turned the music off.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4929DIsarahb
Management response:

Good morning. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am terribly sorry that other hotel guests disturbed your peace and quiet. I have discussed the matter with our night staff and we have implemented better controls to ensure that future disturbances are minimal. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and look forward...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Decent self contained apartments on busy City Road and a short walk to the Southgate complex and the Yarra. I stayed for work and found it very comfortable and well equipped. Decor was brutally grey and lacked spark but the skyline view from the pool deck made up for it. Staff were competent and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orwhathaveyou
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. The hotel certainly has beautiful views from the pool deck. I sincerely hope that you will be soon to enjoy the same. Regards Cheryle

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Having stayed at four other Mantras within the Melbourne city I happily gave Mantra Southbank a try when my usual Mantra On Russell was not available having seen a few rooms when some friends stayed there. When booking direct through the hotel 2 months prior I asked for room 1304 because of its lovely city view. Now of course I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rollerboy76
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Great spot for a family of four to stay. Just out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre, but perfect for walking through Southbank along the Yarra. Easy access across the bridge to Federation Square and Flinders Street Station. Apartments were furnished nicely however the bathroom was on the verge of being disgusting. Lots of mould in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 924tashw
Management response:

Good morning Tash, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to learn of the state of your bathroom and I sincerely appreciate you bringing this to my attention. We have a new housekeeping manager who assures me that she will review all bathrooms at the property. I have also addressed the maintenance...

Castlemaine, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

+ 1 bedroom apartment was huge, nice balcony, great kitchen, windows which opened, great location - noisy plumbing and neighbours affected our sleep, no cooking pots or sharp knives in kitchen, no free wifi!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1978GGandreab
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that equipment was missing from your room. This should have been noted and addressed well prior to your check-in. I am thrilled that some aspects of your stay were well received and we look forward to seeing you again at Mantra Southbank. Regards Cheryle

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The staff were absolutely awesome in regards to politeness. I wasn't impressed with the state of the room and it's lack of industry standards. Was a very small room with no balcony. WiFi not only wasn't free it was expensive. Damaged walls. 1 tv. One bathroom and poor housekeeping. The biggest let down of all was the absolute fail being...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U35KHdarrens
Management response:

Dear Darren, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with our facilities. The hotel will undergo a refurbishment in mid 2017 and really hope that you do pop back and review. I note that you were very complimentary towards our staff and this has been passed on, thank...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We found the 2 bedroom apartment clean, spacious and well set out. Will be staying there again next year. Also the breakfast facilities in the dining room downstairs were excellent with a good variety of food. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryb959
Management response:

Dear Rosemary, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to the next time you stay with us. Regards Cheryle

hobart
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Rooms were delightful and staff were excellent. The location of the hotel was extremely handy for accessing many parts of the waterfront. As an infrequent visitor to Melbourne it was a great way to get around.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmrf2016
Management response:

Dear David, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We hope that now you have familiarized yourself with Melbourne and are looking forward to your next visit to this beautiful city.

Drouin, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Nice rooms but a little pricey for what you get. Beds are not very comfortable Spa and pool on level 18 were fantastic, That was the best part though. Great location, close to the southbank promenade so not far too get a good meal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotto8547
Management response:

Dear Scott, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found the bed in your guest room uncomfortable, I appreciate that a good nights sleep is important to our guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and look forward to welcoming you back to Southbank when you are next...

Shepparton, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Good location and view, the staff wear friendly and Spire Restaurant was convenient, the food was top class and wine superb with friendly and professional staff to serve you every need. The room was well appointed although the dishwasher knob needs attention, but you have everything including washing machine and dryer. The bed was comfy and clean. The only negative...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 277soniae
Management response:

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your comprehensive review of our facilities and local attractions. I am sorry that the air-conditioning fan kept you awake and trust that all the other "positives" experienced off-set this inconvenience. We have also requested that our maintenance team investigate replacing the fan. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Southbank in the near...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#43 of 157 in Melbourne
658 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
994 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: $171 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Victoria
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Singapore, Singapore
4 months ago
Visakhapatnam, India
5 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Southbank Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on City Rd probably noisier than ours (eastern side facing Arts Centre)”
 of 5 bubbles peterhD7113TY, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a gallery room which was nice but noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles caram63, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High Floor for a view of Southbank”
 of 5 bubbles stacytoby, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“select rooms:- 501 / 601 there away from the road. or rooms 508 -511 and other floors with similar numbers they are on a quiet side street”
 of 5 bubbles Worldwidediner, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner apartment rooms with big windows looked best.”
 of 5 bubbles dazman_family, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay