We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Melbourne

Save
Share
186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
USD 201
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (597)
Room & Suite (451)
Dining (58)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rydges Melbourne
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#101 of 168 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2839Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 760
  • 1,097
  • 623
  • 237
  • 122
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tommy Chek wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a good quality hotel. You kind of know what you are going to get before you even step foot into the hotel (that’s if you have stayed at a rydges property before). It won’t wow you but it doesn’t need to. It does the simple things right for a reasonable price.. would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Kim, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear tomcV9352RJ, Thank you for your positive feedback and choosing us to stay at Rydges Melbourne. We sincerely appreciate your continued loyalty to Rydges and our team will do our best to ensure we won't disappoint our loyal customers like yourself. Look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Linda Kim Front Office Manager Rydges Melbourne
Read more
Francine R wrote a review Sep 2021
Cowes, Australia74 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
We were disappointed with our overnight stay at Rydges Hotel. Firstly, we were placed in a queen room on the 6th floor; due to the COVID pandemic the hotel was almost, empty and we observed only 3 other vehicles parked in the underground car park that we paid a fee of $35.00 to park in on top of the $160.00 room cost. On checking in we were given the key and signalled on our way to the lifts; no concierge service was offered to assist us to our room which I considered pretty poor considering I am using a walking frame and my husband is elderly and struggling also…so, up to the room we went. Oh, what a very ordinary room! Nothing to write home about, dated, white, a few very uninteresting small pictures on one wall, short tan curtains hung just to the windowsill, a TV, no bed lamps, no other, plants or décor, not even a flipping fan in the toilet! A very outdated looking 60’s style wardrobe with no white fluffy gowns and slippers, OMG, this is a city of Melbourne hotel? Really? It looks more like a motel room! And OMG, the noise from across the road was just unbearable!!! My husband sat down to try to watch the TV to drown out the sound and I tried to rest after our long trip from Phillip Island and then I thought, no way, there is no way that I am going to pay for something so appalling as this, especially as this hotel was almost empty albeit for us guests permitted to stay with medical appointments. I rang reception and requested that we be shifted with the assistance of a concierge as I was now alone, this was agreed upon and I was promptly shifted to the 22nd floor to a less noisy suite.   Oh, but my grief didn’t end there, where the heck was the room information? It was nowhere to be seen! I searched high and low, so over to the phone, LOL, the flipping phone was dead, so I traced the line back to the port, no flipping wonder, this was a comedy, the jacks were hanging out of the wall and the connections were broken and in the wall cavity itself. Not only that one of the TV controls had flat batteries. I had no mobile phone so I had no choice other than to go fetch help, after room service couldn’t fix the phone she conceded that a technician had to be called, got the phone fixed and the TV controls and a multi-plug so my CPAP machine could be used but I could only get one of our iPads hooked up to their lousy Internet service that kept buffering in and out. OMG, would I stay at Rydges Hotel, not in a million years!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Kim, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Francine R, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your stay did not meet expectations. I do apologise for the noise in the first room. You originally booked the standard queen room which contains the shower over the bath but we offered you complimentary upgrade to the Queen suite room with the walk in shower as a good gesture to provide you the comfortable stay without noticing the unexpected external noise outside of the room. Since we were in the era of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have been providing the welcome letter on check in which contains all the hotel operation as well as the QR code to look up our digital compendium & room service menu instead of placing the book in the room. I am very sorry that we did not acknowledge you had no mobile phone to utilize as our team could promptly print out the compendium for you. I have passed on your comment about the room to our management. We do appreciate you sharing your insights as this will improve when we do refurbishment. Thank you again for all comments, good and bad, provided by our guests because it is important to develop our service levels and improve the hotel product. We hope you can give us another opportunity next time. Kind Regards, Linda Kim Front Office Manager Rydges Melbourne
Read more
Catherine wrote a review Aug 2021
14 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing service and such friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. The location was amazing and walking distance to restaurants and cafes. We had such a great time we will definitely be back. Thanks to all staff for their attentive service and hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Kim, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Catjm1973, Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent experience at Rydges Melbourne. We totally agree about our central location as well as our staff who always do our best to provide the friendly service! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Linda Kim Front Office Manager Rydges Melbourne
Read more
Terri B wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Have stayed at Rydges (Exhibition St) on several occassions and always been very happy with the service provided and the amenities.. Has always been an easy check in for us and we have always been happy with the rooms provided. Out most recent stay was no different The large king size bed was amazing So comfortable and the pillows were great...Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel toany of my family or friends. Its such a convenient spot to stay Walking distance to theatres China town right at the door and public transport so near.Car parking is easily accessible from the street and into the Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Kim, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Z9176MWterrib, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you took full advantage of our central location and enjoyed our Rydges dream bed. I will share your awesome feedback with our team. We look forward to seeing you back in the future! Kind Regards, Linda Kim Front Office Manager Rydges Melbourne
Read more
Tara B wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
was an absolutely beautiful room - even better than expected. highly recommend. we will be back for sure :) the bath tub was well worth the travel, the room service for breakfast was absolutely delicious. & the restaurant was classy and quite.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Kim, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 181tarab, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am glad to hear that you got to experience all Rydges Melbourne has to offer including our Locanda restaurant. I will share your amazing feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay! Kind Regards, Linda Kim Front Office Manager Rydges Melbourne
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 70 - USD 139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rydges hotel melbourne, melbourne rydges hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District / Chinatown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
363
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rydges Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to Rydges Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Depot Adventures (0.3 km), Old Treasury Building (0.4 km), and Her Majesty's Theatre (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rydges Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rydges Melbourne?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rydges Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rydges Melbourne?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rydges Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hochi Mama, Straight Outta Saigon, and Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rydges Melbourne?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rydges Melbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rydges Melbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rydges Melbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.6 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (0.5 km), and Rippon Lea Estate (8.0 km).