We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

View Melbourne

562 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (354)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (257)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#75 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our 206 spacious, warm and inviting rooms provide guests with free wifi, a separate dressing and wardrobe area, well-appointed bathroom with large walk in shower, individually controlled air-conditioners and work desk. Other room features include mini-bar, tea/coffee facilities, in-room safe, bathrobes, double glazed windows, high speed wireless broadband internet access, High Definition LCD TV with Apple TV.Hotel facilities include 24hr reception, 24hr room service, dedicated conference floor, gym, concierge,dry cleaning service, on-site secure parking and complimentary wireless internet in public areas. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed in Hop Garden Cafe and Bar, with its outdoor terrace, café, restaurant, and bar. The View Melbourne is in the perfect location to enjoy the best of Melbourne.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic, Chinese, Czech and 4 more
3879Reviews33Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,957
  • 1,457
  • 306
  • 95
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
fatdouglas wrote a review Feb 2024
Albury, Australia44 contributions15 helpful votes
Okay, but nothing special. Needs improvement. Firstly on check in, I asked about the pool. I was looking forward to a swim after a long drive. I was told the pool was not operational and hadn’t been for a while. There was no mention of this previous to check in or when we booked. I always book a hotel with a pool as I love a swim after a long drive. Very disappointed. The positives View was great. Room was well laid out. Beds were super comfy and we had a good night sleep. Location was good. A ten min tram ride into the city. The negatives The carpet was worn and needed a refresh, and the shower could undergo a good clean. Carpark was quirky. Very tight. I wouldn’t take a big car in there. Overall. Okay but not memorable
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t take a big car in the car park. Pool is closed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Renae D wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I stayed there over the weekend Taylor Swift was in Melbourne and brought my dog because I don’t want to leave him alone. I booked through Wotif and it said to reply to the confirmation email to arrange one of the rooms being dog friendly. I did so and they replied stating it would be $100 extra per night, that’s fine. What they didn’t tell me is that they would also take a $300 hold on your account until you check out. I don’t care how rich you are, $300 is a lot of money. When I checked out she didn’t say how long it would take to have the money back into my account. I have now called and spoken to 3 different people and the money is still not in my account. First they told me the finance division works 9am-4pm so I called back the next day. Then they said they’d transfer me and nobody answered. Then I called and she said they don’t work Fridays so I won’t be getting my money back until at least Tuesday now. I’ve been promised a call from the manager and there’s been nothing so don’t expect your hold back if you bring your pets.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Matthew L wrote a review Feb 2024
La Quinta, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel has been out home away from home for over 25 years. We used the hotel for our Golf tours and private stays and the hotel has certainly declined in the past 4 months. We where there only last week and tried to talk to someone about future booking and introduce ourselves to the new head of reservations. Apparently the new head of reservations was too busy to come out and introduce herself. No contacts with a hotel we have been loyal for 25 years. Extremely disappointed,obviously no longer want our business. I'm sure the one of the other 6 hotels in the area will welcome us. I would find it very hard to recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Jenkins, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Matthew, Thank you for recent stay with us, we do definitely appreciate your loyalty over the last 25 years and are proud to be your home away from home! We are sorry to hear you were not able to connect with our Reservations Manager at the time of request as she was out of the hotel however upon her return she was able to call the contact number we received and left a voicemail for further assistance. We remain available for you at all times and look forward to your return again in the future,. f you would like to speak with our Reservations Manager before your return, please contact the hotel at stay.melbourne@viewhotels.com.au. Warm Regards, View Melbourne Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
IraB1089 wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Very nice, clean hotel, at a very convenient location. Close to St Kilda beach and not far from the city centre. Very good value for money for a family stay and apparently pet friendly. Will take our dog next time to stay with us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
maxwa2023 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Chose this hotel for its location. There are nearby trams that leads you to City or Prahran. Plenty of nearby cafes and restaurants. Hotel though needs a renovation as it didn’t feel close to a 4 star hotel compare to its competitors. But we knew this from some reviews and it was only a short stay. Where the greatest disappointment was the lack of communication about the closure of its pool. We had packed our swimming gear as we saw they had a pool but much to our disappointment we found out that it was closed. No prior communication to us after we booked directly from their site nor from check in staff. Room service was the worst we have seen. The way our bed was made was a disappointment. A10 yr old child could have done a better job. Very rushed and no care to guests whatsoever. And the hotel service staff can spend some time dusting around the room. It didn’t bother us, but it may to lot of future guests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear maxwa2023, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at View Melbourne. We appreciate your detailed review and take your comments seriously. We apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay, particularly regarding the lack of communication about the pool closure and the standard of room service. Your feedback regarding the need for renovations and cleanliness issues has been duly noted, and we will address these matters with our team to ensure improvements are made. We strive to provide excellent service and a comfortable stay for all our guests, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a much-improved experience. Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
finautm wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I was here with my wife and my youngest daughter so it's a blessing for us to traveling together and stay in View Melbourne Hotel. We are looking forward to our next visit to stay at the same place. We would like to recommend the hotel to our family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear finautm, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at View Melbourne. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It warms our hearts to know that you found your time here to be a blessing, and we are thrilled that you are already looking forward to your next visit. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we would be honored to welcome your family to our hotel. We can't wait to host you again and ensure another wonderful stay for you and your loved ones. Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adamG8078OT wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Hi Guys, just some background information. I’m a travelling rep so I stay in a lot of hotels. Very honest with my feed back. I will break this down into dot points. I stayed for 5x days. I always provide photos: 1) breakfast buffet food is cold and old. It’s cheap $22 but not eatable. 2) I had to walk downstairs to get towels for my room as they left me with none. They also reused I’m hoping my old towels one day. I could smell my perfume. 3) I found fingernails left in my sink and I stayed for 5x days. They remained there for my entire visit. No one cleans the room. 4) My bed wasn’t even made they just pulled the sheets up. It’s weird I’ve never seen them no make the beds before 5) I ate 4x separate meals in the Indian lemon style dish, dumplings, brownie and burrito. All of them are rubbish and quite pricey. Lastly, my sink area remained disgusting. I took a photo each day as at the start it was comical seeing gross fingernail stunk on my sink but towards the end I was really over coming back to a dirty room. One positive the bed is comfortable. All photos provided are in sequential order so you can see it gets progressively worse. Don’t stay here very dirty and bad food.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AdamG8078OT, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at View Melbourne. As a frequent traveler and a valued guest, your honesty is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the numerous issues you encountered during your stay. Your experience does not reflect the high standards of cleanliness and service that we strive to maintain. Rest assured, we have addressed these concerns with our housekeeping and food and beverage teams to ensure immediate improvements. We understand the importance of a comfortable and pleasant stay, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continuously strive to enhance the experience of all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back for a much-improved stay in the future. Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
We stayed for a concert at Sydney Myer Music Bowl and it was the perfect location to stay as it wasn’t directly in the busy city. The room was extremely spacious, great service and attentiveness by all staff and the Hop Garden was a particular favourite!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Sajenkins0210, Thank you for sharing your incredible first-time stay at View Melbourne. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the spacious room, excellent service, and the Hop Garden. Your feedback is inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay! Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amcilw247427 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Great Location, close to trams, clean hotel and helpful staff Surprised that rooms weren't cleaned and reinstated mini bar and coffee/tea supplies each day but otherwise had an enjoyable stay. Thanks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear amcilw247427, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at View Melbourne. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great location, cleanliness of the hotel, and the helpfulness of our staff. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay overall. Your comment about the room cleaning and replenishing of the mini bar and coffee/tea supplies is duly noted, and we will review our processes to ensure a consistently excellent experience for our guests. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay in the future. If you have any specific suggestions or if there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience, please feel free to let us know. Thank you for choosing View Melbourne, and we hope to host you again soon. Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
blakers2 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
This property is Great value for money, with friendly staff, very comfortable beds, good size rooms and a dressing area. It also has a great indoor/outdoor bar. Would stay here again. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hannah Kennish, Guest Services / Front Office at View Melbourne
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear blakers2, Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience at View Melbourne. We are thrilled to hear about your great stay and appreciate your kind words. Your feedback is truly motivating for our team, and we're honored that you would choose to stay with us again. If there are any specific details you'd like to share or ways we can continue to make your stays even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us directly at duty.melbourne@viewhotels.com.au. Thank you for choosing View Melbourne, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay! Warm regards, Hannah Kennish Guest Services View Melbourne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$135 - AU$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
206
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIEW MELBOURNE (AU$135): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about View Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to View Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include The Cobbers Statue (0.4 km), Family Of Man Statue (0.4 km), and Bobby Rose Statue (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at View Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at View Melbourne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at View Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at View Melbourne?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to View Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosco's at Chevron Cafe Bar, Woods Cafe - Bar - Restaurant, and Tapenade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at View Melbourne?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does View Melbourne offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at View Melbourne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Chinese, Arabic, Czech, Korean, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to View Melbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (4.4 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (4.0 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (3.9 km).
Does View Melbourne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.