We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
270 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 138
Expedia.com
USD 139
Get rewarded with One Key
StayForLong
USD 129
Hotels.comUSD 139
NovotelUSD 138
AlgotelsUSD 141
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (707)
Room & Suite (501)
Dining (80)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#101 of 415 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Melbourne, Novotel Melbourne on Collins offers 380 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. The 4.5 Star property is within walking distance of some of the finest attractions in Melbourne. Offering a contemporary restaurant and bar, indoor heated swimming pool & spa and fitness centre, it is the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. St. Collins Lane, located conveniently beneath the hotel is now open, Melbourne's most unique fashion destination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
5229Reviews42Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,030
  • 2,233
  • 655
  • 192
  • 119
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ratna_BSBLS wrote a review Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore275 contributions40 helpful votes
Location is very strategic, many cafes, restaurants around and more importantly 4 trams from Sourthern Cross Station stop almost in front of it. We checked in as Accor Plus Platinum, but unsure if upgrade was given looking at the room, but it is likely because the hotel was at almost full capacity but they extended our check out to 14:30 as we our flight was in the early eevening. They also gave us a bottle of red wine instead, which was quite good and we appreciated it. We were given room facing the road and it looks like the room facing the inside courtyard is more spacious. At one point on the last morning, the hot water stopped but it was fixed within 10 minutes. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash and hand wash was provided but not body lotion. Hair dryer works well, bedding was clean as well, there was 2 pillow plus one in the wardrobe, no room slipper but we were given when we asked. Room is also equiped with hairdryer, mini fridge, flat screen, desk, and a sofa. Service at the bar was quick, but the food we ordered was average, value wise it is ok given that we use AccorPlus discount but not at full price. We booked with redhot rate from the apps .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
AbbottHsu wrote a review Nov 2023
Serang, Indonesia787 contributions240 helpful votes
Very strategic location in Collins street for visitors to explore CBD either by walking or taking free Trams. The check in counter is in 3rd floor. It is the place for you to have the foods, drinks, wines and daily breakfast. The staffs are really friendly and professional to serve you every day. The breakfast is wonderful as well. You can choose salads, breads, yogurts, fruits, drinks, juices, teas and so on. Pretty standard Western style. The only thing you may feel bored is the breakfast menu is almost the same everyday. Since it is in CBD, it is easy for you to go dining or shopping by walk. You can feel the atmosphere of Melbourne and try to relax yourself. Taste a cup of coffee or the Burgers here. Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
David W wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
+1
This is my honest review based on my own experience, I hope this is helpful . Stayed here over night and paid a premium dollar , no bed was setup for my son as we had booked for , we had to call reception at 11.00 pm to have sheets and blankets sent up ( not a big deal but not what you want after enjoying a night out )bed could have been made better by a 4 year old , the underlay was still folded in half when the sheet was fitted to the bed , there where stains all over the underlay , stains on the lamp shade , stains on the floor and the walls where dirty , Honestly I have stayed in cleaner back packers than this place and to say I was disappointed is an understatement , after reading the reviews it seemed like a nice place to stay , couldn't be further than the truth in my opinion , after my personal experience staying at this place I would be looking elsewhere for accommodation. Final notes , staff were friendly and was good location close to everything. 2 Stars from me .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 4 days ago
Dear David, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us but are sorry that we did not meet the standards expected of us on your visit and will be addressing this accordingly amongst our teams for us to improve. The comfort of our guests is extremely important to us, so we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied in this regard. Kind regards, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJD37 wrote a review Nov 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom171 contributions78 helpful votes
Excellent hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Wi-fi a bit patchy though and does drop out. The gym is pretty good and the pool nice, although not really big enough to swim in. Restaurant staff are superb, friendly and attentive and the menu is very good. The portions are generous and the food is good. Great hotel for a stay in Melbourne for business or leisure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AJD37, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We're delighted to hear that you found our rooms spacious and clean and that our restaurant staff made a positive impression with their friendliness and attentiveness. It's also great to know that our menu met your expectations with its variety and generous portions. We appreciate your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi connectivity and understand that a stable internet connection is important to our guests. Please rest assured that we are continuously working on improving our services to ensure a seamless online experience. While our pool is designed for relaxation and leisure, we acknowledge your comment about its size and invite you to enjoy our InBalance Fitness Centre for a more extensive workout. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Your wellbeing is our priority, We do hope we will see you again on a future visit. Kind regards, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert D wrote a review Nov 2023
Brooklyn, New York2683 contributions572 helpful votes
I have stayed here previously so I was happy to return on this trip. The hotel is very central and is handy to the trams, theatres, and shopping. My room was spacious and comfortable. I had one problem with my room. The clock was flashing 12:00 and I was unable to adjust the time. I complained to the front desk and one of the clerks came to my room to investigate. He spent about 15 minutes and could not figure out how to adjust the time. I told him to just unplug the clock and have someone replace it the next day. When I returned to my room the following day, I had a different clock and it had the correct time. One of the best things about this hotel is the breakfast. There was an excellent variety of items: fruit, cereals, breads, pancakes, hot dishes, and an omelette station. I would gladly return the next time I visit Melbourne.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Robert, Thank you for sharing your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient for your stay, with easy access to trams, theatres, and shopping. It's great to know that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms as well. Regarding the issue with the clock, we appreciate your patience and understanding as our team worked to resolve it. We are glad that it was promptly replaced with a functioning one. Additionally, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with our breakfast, offering a wide variety of delicious options. We look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions. Best wishes, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Felicity M wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do NOT stay here. Being cup night, there were few rooms left so booked a premium room. It was horrendous. No windows. Soulless and depressing. I rang to see if I could change to a room with a window and they said that would be a downgrade but refused to refund the difference in the price. The manager at reception was rude and unhelpful. What sort of place takes money from unhappy customers who have agreed to a downgrade. I could have cancelled the booking without any penalty and rebooked the downgraded room myself but the manager refused to do that for me. Instead she cancelled the entire booking because I was objecting to the downgrade without a refund. Fortunately the Westin over the road had rooms. Only $150 extra a night and infinitely better.. Also, the premium room comes with a Nespresso machine but the capsules in the room were Starbucks. A hotel that is clearly out to make as much money as they can from you. Shameful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do NOT stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Felicity, Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Yes, being a centrally located hotel in the heart of Melbourne you are correct that not all rooms have external outside views, however all rooms do have windows; Junior Suites whilst offering considerable space do have windows which face internally into the atrium. Whilst the offer for you to move to a Deluxe Room with city views was declined, we are glad that after you were provided with a full refund you were able to find a suitable hotel befitting of your needs. Regards, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole S wrote a review Nov 2023
Bella Vista, Australia28 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Novotel on Collins was a great hotel. The location was ideal. I stayed here for 2 nights 28-30 October 23 one block from Regent and Athenaeum Theatres and very central to all of the shops and Bourke street mall. There is a tram stop outside the entrance with accessible entrance so suitcases roll on easily. The staff were very friendly from front desk to restaurant and housekeeping.. I was upgraded which was awesome. Breakfast was lovely With plenty of choice. I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Close to theatre, shops and tram. Easy to get to Southern cross station and sky bus to airport.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nicole, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you found our location ideal and convenient for your visit to Melbourne. It's great to know that you appreciated the accessibility of the tram stop and the proximity to theatres and shopping areas. Our team takes pride in providing friendly and attentive service, and we are glad that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast selection and the lovely upgrade you received. We always strive to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MatthewJames2009 wrote a review Oct 2023
Kingston, Australia153 contributions121 helpful votes
My wife and I found the room to be an average hotel room in an excellent city location. I had expected a king bed but the room had a smaller queen bed. The room was bare of any information about Melbourne and the environs near the hotel, e.g., restaurants nearby. Fortunately I had my computer with me to check out several nearby restaurants. The bar was well priced and the snacks provided were typical of most hotels. We'd stay there again because of the location but would ask to be allocated a king room (more expensive we were told).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Matthew, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our excellent city location, making it convenient for you to explore Melbourne. We also appreciate your kind words about our well-priced bar and the snacks provided. We apologize for any confusion regarding the bed size in your room. For future stays, we recommend booking one of our Deluxe Rooms or Junior Suites, which feature a king bed for added comfort. Additionally, our friendly staff at the reception is always available to assist with local recommendations for restaurants and attractions in the area. We hope you will return to enjoy these improvements first hand. Best wishes, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lalitesh J wrote a review Oct 2023
New Delhi, Delhi, India12 contributions4 helpful votes
Housekeeping and Reception are not attending calls and when I walked to the reception Duty Manager mentioned that "They are busy with other work hence have ignored the call, also no one is available from housekeeping to attend your call."
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Dear Lalitesh, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to know that you found our location to be perfect for your stay in Melbourne. However, we are truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced with our housekeeping and reception services. We understand that our guests expect prompt and attentive service, and we apologize for not meeting those expectations during your stay. Rest assured we will address this issue with our team to ensure that it does not happen again in the future. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
djh1 wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia13007 contributions362 helpful votes
+1
This hotel was five star standard, except with four star prices. There is virtually nothing to fault, with the minor exception of no robes or slippers, and the bathroom soap container is too far from the sink. Other than those tiny irritations, everything else was absolutely perfect. Our room had a nice view of Collins Street, and was on a high floor, just as I requested. It wasn't huge but well laid out with places to sit as well as a very comfortable king sized bed. Reception was quick and the staff were helpful, both on the phone before our stay, and in person during our stay. Breakfast was excellent, the egg chef made a sensational omelette to order, and there was a full buffet as well. Even though it was busy there was no waiting for a table. The location is also perfect, virtually in the middle of Melbourne. It was only a ten minute walk to our restaurant on the river and very close if you wanted to shop or sightsee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Dear djh1, We are grateful to you for taking the time to send us this review. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be of a five-star standard at a four-star price. It's great to know that you appreciated the comfortable king-sized bed, helpful staff, and excellent breakfast, including the sensational omelette prepared by our egg chef. We apologize for the minor inconveniences you experienced with the absence of robes and slippers, as well as the soap container placement in the bathroom. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future improvements. Our location in the heart of Melbourne is indeed perfect for exploring the city, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future. Best wishes, Andrew Maynard, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 126 - USD 196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel melbourne on collins hotel melbourne, accor melbourne on collins, melbourne novotel
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
380
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL MELBOURNE ON COLLINS (AU$190): 2023 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Nearby attractions include Apsis VR Melbourne | Virtual Reality Escape Room Experiences (0.4 km), Melbourne Urban Adventures (0.4 km), and Drinking History Tours (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11 Inch Pizza, Da Guido 365, and Roule Galette Melbourne.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Novotel Melbourne on Collins located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Novotel Melbourne on Collins offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Melbourne on Collins?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.9 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (1.2 km), and The Johnston Collection (1.6 km).