We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,186: English reviews
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled with two of my friends, we were mostly new to Melbourne, 17 and travelling alone for the second time. The staff were incredibly helpful, Addi, thanks for everything. Early checkin wasn't available when we arrived, but he looked anyway, when it wasn't available, the first thing he did was offer to look after the bags. When I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StoogeKebab
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked our accommodation on line for 2 nights. When we arrived at the hotel we discovered that it was under renovation. Our room was very very small and very old and tired looking. For $538 for 2 nights it was a total ripoff !!!!!!!. (We expected a little luxury for this price). Noise from construction on Friday was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire B, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time during your stay in our hotel. We do have our room size information on every website just to give our guest a big picture how big our rooms are. Due to the Australian Open season, the hotel rate is relative...

Alstonville, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Super friendly and helpful staff. Small room with no view. Had everything I needed though. Somewhere to leave my gear, a bed and a hot shower. Would stay again for the budget price I paid. Central location and couldn't hear the streets. Could probably do with some better doors to stop internal noise but that was minimal. Free Wi-Fi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dibbs83
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Ibis Styles is conveniently located within walking distance from Southern Cross Transit Center which is were the SkyBus drops you. They have 24hour check in. Their rooms are freshly renovated (new paint smell was a little overbearing but I'm sure this will not be an issue much longer). The rooms have all amenities required for a short stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielleg746
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear danielleg746, Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to see that our hotel is very convenient for walking to Southern Cross train station and Skybus. We are happy that you liked our newly renovated rooms with all amenities you found in the room. Near our hotel indeed have a lot of choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay in Kingsgate was good, we enjoyed our new year there. However we didn't get fresh towels til our last day when we called reception. Although the aircon started to play up we were offered a different room. Everyone was friendly. Lift feels a bit dodgy but I'm sure it's just older. Paint needs work throughout hallways and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corrina C
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Corrina C, Thank you for your review. We are glad that your new year here in our hotel. Our housekeeping does daily service for every room even change the towels for our guests. But if you happened to any issue, please do not hesitate to contact our reception like you did at your last day, our friendly receptionists will...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Needed to check in early for a variety of reasons. Contacted hotel in advance and they accommodated easily. I will be back there this Saturday for BBL match. I use this hotel frequently due to its proximity to Etihad Stadium.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graeme M, Thank you for taking your time to leave your comment. We are glad you had a good time during your stay in Melbourne. We hope to see you again at this Saturday. Sincerely, ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for NYE at Ibis styles Kingsgate Hotel location wise was good for what we had planned for NYE. It would also be great location for an event at Etihad Stadium. On check in staff were quite friendly and provided us with information for parking which was close by at $25 for the night. The room it self was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob I
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob I, We are delightful to hear that you had a good time during NYE in Melbourne. It is absolutely pleasure to hear that our room was clean and better deal than other hotels and we do appreciate that you liked our wifi. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located in CBD, the contracted parking of the hotel is located on the next block 5 minutes away with 25AUD charge for 24 hours. The hotel condition is not very good as it is quite an old building however this should be improved after the renovation. The room is small but well equipped as per ibis standard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DioEkapoj
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DioEkapoj, Thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you find our hotel location is very convenient for your trip. For the size of the room, we do have bigger rooms, just a small fee you will be upgraded to a bigger room. Please seek help from our 24 hours reception next time when you come here....

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't expect too much on the hotel room. The room is quite clean but a bit old. As the roomis a bit too near to balcony, we often smell the smoke from balcony. The cleaner did a good job in house keeping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LerLer87
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LerLer87, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We understand that our hotel is only 3-star hotel which could not do anything more like other 4-star or 5-star hotels, but we will not stop trying to improve ourselves in the future. We are glad to see that you had no problem with our cleanliness which we will pass...

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel. Arrived earlier than I stated but they tried to find me a room, was a busy period with competition going on. Staff were very friendly and informative about the area and no question was too difficult to answer. Nice restaurant next door

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank blockout1966
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear blockout1966, Thank you very much for such a postive comment. We are delightful to see that you had a very good time during your stay in Melbourne. We will let our team know and it would definitely keep them moving forward. Regards, ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel Team

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
1,076 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#129 of 157 in Melbourne
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $93 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel
Ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel Melbourne, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Wodonga, Australia
over a year ago
Paraparaumu Bea
2 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get one towards the front. Nightclub behind somewhere at another premises. ”
 of 5 bubbles 426graemem, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“an outer room would be nice with natural light, but internals are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles magic4mum, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms -as mine- are oddly designed with almost no daylight reaching the room itself.”
 of 5 bubbles Global_Citizen_YK, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terrible bed and pillows”
 of 5 bubbles gailhG5788VQ, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“please ask them for a room with a view of main road, Otherwise it feels like a jail”
 of 5 bubbles Sonal3684, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay