We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree on Collins

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,279: English reviews
Albury, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A really lovely place to . Large clean rooms with lots of facilities. Central & close to everything. Friendly & helpful staff . Easy to find & check in . Great for families or just adults. Everything you could want

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 619sheryld
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location but apart from that pretty basic. Room cleanliness could have been better (dusty under bed & behind bedside drawers. Also had to go to reception to retrieve our own toilet paper & tissues.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y1209OSpaulm
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beds were unmade, quilt just covered over the bed, then on one side it had indentations on the quilt and pillow as if someone had a nap. Rubbish bag was left on the kitchen counter. Staff removed bag after we complained but bench was not wiped down afterwards.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanessa T
Adrian L, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Good Morning Vanessa, I do apologize for the miscommunication between departments that led to you being checked into a semi-finished room. You can be assured we are investigating further how this was able to happen. What I am happy about is that although you had booked an un-refurbished 2 bedroom apartment. You were upgraded free of charge to our premium...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location is amazing, located in the heart of Melbourne with access to the free tram zone and a tram stop right in front of the main entrance. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness could be improved but overall the stay was great and we'd recommend it for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 596berni
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, very clean and beds very comfy. Could do with a paint and new carpets. Helpful staff. Tram stop right outside door. Close to great coffee and food. Within walking distance to theatres.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinemU1288TN
Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed with a work colleague for a conference. Lovely apartment with all that we needed and more. Fantastic location, very close to tram stop. Great price. Would highly recommend, in fact we both said it would be a great place to stay for a week!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahgI8724JB
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great central location with a tram stop right at the door. Would stay there again. Didn't appreciate the fire alarm at 1am - no staff to be seen as we evacuated and no explanation or apology the next morning. A guest told us that someone was cooking on Level 3 - who would be cooking at 1am??

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VandP2013
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is great, value is great. Room was good, but there were foreign hairs and that about the bathroom when we arrived. They don't have full room service, only turn up the bed and replace the towels etc. every day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
Ballina, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We wanted to stay overnight in the city so we didn't have to negotiate unfamiliar public transport late at night. We chose BreakFree because of its proximity to the trams and a very reasonable price. On arrival it was confusing as there is no reception on the ground floor - it is up in the lift and level 6. There...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
Ballarat
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a fantastic place to stay right in the heart of Melbourne and close to everything!!!! We did not expect the room to be so nice when we arrived but we opened the door and were blown away. Would stay here again for sure!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9950NTtamaram

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#110 of 156 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 156 in Melbourne
4,028 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
370 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $121 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
BreakFree On Collins Melbourne, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back rooms have no view, but are pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you are getting a refurbished room, forget the rest.”
 of 5 bubbles 999Caveman, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic location for the free tram system area, close to Bourke st Mall, restaurants and police station”
 of 5 bubbles Happycamper2010_10, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't do it. One star is too many for cleanliness.”
 of 5 bubbles judentom, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You are in the heart of the city, all apartments we have had have been very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnrW4720WR, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5