We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (631)
Room & Suite (387)
Dining (44)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$151
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#133 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
4906Reviews34Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 729
  • 1,957
  • 1,453
  • 476
  • 291
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
OchreSilence wrote a review 18 Feb
Brisbane, Australia339 contributions142 helpful votes
Extortionate price for a room with a view of a concrete wall (Taylor Swift concert weekend). One lift was broken with 3 hours to go to concert and no one was allowed to use the stairs because they “are alarmed”. Mould in the shower grout. Tiny bathroom with no place for personal effects like makeup. No method of defogging (no exhaust fan) the bathroom No body lotion. Tiny room. Only green and black teas no herbal choices. Failed to respond to request for scissors. Vacuum cleaners x 2 between room and elevators lying across hallway creating a trip hazard.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid during major events.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 4 days ago
Dear OchreSilence, Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, and we take your feedback seriously. We will address these matters with our team to improve our services and ensure a better experience for our guests. We appreciate your insights and regret any inconvenience caused. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toto wrote a review 3 Feb
1 contribution
Location is great - pretty much central to most things in Melbourne. Relatively old building, desperate need for refresh. Beds were bad, could feel the springs. The card I booked to for the hotel was replaced, so even though I paid already they asked for another charge in a new card. Rarely happens but fair enough if that’s the rule. Was ensured will be refunded. Plus they charged me more than what I originally booked for about extra $30. However needed a wild goose chase to get my refund for the double charge and irresponsive replies. Was out $650 for a good 4 months. Prashanta Dias was not helpful at all. Keeps saying it’s refunded but never did. Didn’t reply to emails and avoiding phone calls.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scott M wrote a review Jan 2024
Wagga Wagga, Australia69 contributions48 helpful votes
Location perfect and very affordable for an experience of China town colour & atmosphere and array of restaurants within Melbournes China town , Tip: opt for parking a few blocks away at Wilson 180 Russell st Tip 2 : Ensure you validated your parking at the Hotel & receive your original parking card to scan not just the receipt style shopper docket as you wont get past the exit boom gates unless you have a very understanding intercom Wilson staff member on the other end which I did Tip for hotel : , if your going to place 1 of the 2 elevators out of service for maintenance, At least a heads up , sms , email to guests and not find a customer and luggage jam in the one elevator at 8am on a Monday , a blanket sms or email to allow luggage to be taken down early and not be limited to 4 or 5 people at best with luggage , all 12 levels in the one lift with luggage , 30 mins for my wife to get down as I opted the fire stairs as did others however found the door locked behind us , luckily found an Exit taking us kit to street next to Pullman hotel , With that being said the staff were fantastic to try and accomodate for something out of their control , 3rd Tip : customers relax don’t take your holiday frustrations delays out on front counter staff doing their best . Would I stay again ? Definitely, sure the rooms & bath rooms are a little tired however for $153 (Accor membership) location , parking $24 per 24 hours is definitely worth it ,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 180 Russell st - Wilson parking for this hotel , have it validated and ensure you receive your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 415ScottM, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the perfect location and affordable experience in Chinatown. Your tips are valuable, and we apologize for any inconvenience with the elevator maintenance. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nichole H wrote a review Jan 2024
265 contributions49 helpful votes
I booked this hotel for its location and because the Mercure chain is usually really good. The location was fabulous! Right where we wanted to be however the rooms need a bit of a fix up. Our shower leaked which by the looks of the water damage on the bottom of the bathroom door has been like that for a while. Our fridge dripped water and froze the milk and strawberries we put in it. There was also some kind of work going on so the noise of what I assume was a drill or grinder got very annoying. The bed however was comfortable and the room was pretty spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nicholeh0, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind words about our location and comfortable beds. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered, including the maintenance concerns and noise disruptions. Your feedback is valuable, and we will address these issues promptly to enhance the overall experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more seamless stay in the future. Best regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark E wrote a review Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
The hotel is situated in a great location in close proximity to Melbourne Central. Disappointingly the hotel is very basic in nature and is not really to the expectations I hold for a Mercure branded hotel. The reception area is pleasant but is noisy as a result of construction work occurring on Level 1. The rooms are noisy as they do not hold sufficient insulation. The amenities in the bathroom had not been restocked and the vents and exhausts had not been cleaned properly. I would not recommend this hotel and cancelled our repeat reservation a few days later as a result of the initial experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear markeY1767PT, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for falling short of your expectations during your recent stay. Your comments regarding noise, room amenities, and cleanliness have been duly noted, and we will address them promptly to ensure a better experience for our guests. We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more enjoyable stay in the future. Best regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mediafriendly wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom11 contributions29 helpful votes
Zero room service and I mean “zero” This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at where your room and bathroom won’t be cleaned even upon demand. Apparently their policy is only to cheat rooms every three days so if you are only staying for a weekend say, you are out of luck.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear mediafriendly, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Please note that our current cleaning policy is to service stay-over rooms every third day. However, guests are welcome to request additional items such as fresh towels, toilet paper, etc. on a daily basis. We appreciate your understanding and we apologize again for the incovenience experienced. Warm regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Attila the Hun wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Older lady at the reception was trying to get us paid before she would give any info Rooms a disgusting and dirty Furniture is from the last century Charging a car cost $10/day and the advertised swimming pool does not operate The place is like a motel not a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The advertised pool does not operate The room is totally different from the pictures Old...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear attilac959, Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. We are interested to learn more about where you saw information about a swimming pool, as we do not have one in our hotel. Regarding the charging station, it is indeed for electric cars, and we regret any confusion. We also want to clarify that we utilize Wilson Parking on 180 Russell Street, offering a special fee of $24.00/24 hours for parking. We apologize for the challenges you faced at reception and for any cleanliness issues in the room. Your comments are valuable, and we'll address these concerns to improve our services. We appreciate your feedback and once again, our sincere apologies. Best regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
travelnoobdude wrote a review Jan 2024
Singapore57 contributions49 helpful votes
Really wanted this hotel to work out. I had 2 issues. One with a banging sound for the air conditioning that woke us up multiple times. Second the staff at the reception were not approachable. Guest Relations Manager, Natalia Garavito, had left her name card in the room to contact her to make my stay 'even more enjoyable'. I emailed her with the 2 issues because it was not enjoyable at all. I did not get a response. I called for the number via my mobile on the name card to see if there was an update. No one picked up. I left a voicemail. No callbacks. When I checked out, I told the reception that I was waiting for a response from Natalia. They told me they would pass the message. It has been days and no response. I've left feedback to the hotel survey but no response. The reception did ask if I had informed them of the problem in the room. I didn't know how to tell them they were part of the problem. From the person who checked me in, who had somewhat of a ‘diva’ attitude to others who only seem to be selective to whom they want to acknowledge. This hotel is pulling down the name of the Accor branding. The only good thing about it was the location. I bet the response would be in the lines of this is not the level of service they aim to provide and they will use it to improve their service. No, I did not pay to have you improve someone else's experience. You should have done it when I was there. **Unable to upload a video of the noise
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid room 845
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Travelnobdude, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. We appreciate your detailed feedback and regret that we fell short of your expectations. We are investigating the issues you raised and will take immediate action to address the concerns with the air conditioning and the lack of response from our team. Your feedback is valuable, and we truly apologize for any frustration caused. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and provide a much-improved experience in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Evan S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
In my experience the only good thing about this Hotel is its location. The rest was very bad. Almost two months after I checked out they debited my bank account repeatedly without my knowledge and without warning with an amount they say was unpaid. When I checked out I paid everything I was asked to pay by front desk. They had no authority to debit my card so long after I checked out. So two months after checking out they register me without my authority on a "Fast Checkout" thing. I am not even there anymore. I called them and told them they should not debit my card and they agreed not to. A few days later they went ahead and did anyway without my consent and knowledge. And to try and justify it they register me on some Fast Check Out Scam when I am not even a guest for almost two months. All very unprofessional and dodgy behaviour. Also, half the time the internet didn't work, the TV didn't work, they do not answer phones in reception and every so often there is a sewage smell on certain floors. The plumbing is so bad you can hear the water running through the pipes in your room. Customers and guests be careful"
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alice P wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I stayed two nights and three days 2박 3일을 머물렀습니다. - Good : Location - Bad : Too old and not noise-cancelling. It's like a motel - Worst : No cleaning service(No house keeping). I think it's done once every three days. - general review : I wouldn't have made a reservation if I knew that cleaning wasn't done every day. It's like a motel. 청소가 매일 이뤄지지 않는다는걸 알았다면 예약하지 않았을겁니다. 위치가 좋다는거 말고는 소음차단도 되지 않고, 시설도 낡고, 마치 모텔 수준의 느낌입니다.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Evas Restaurant, Marketing at Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Alice P, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the cleaning service frequency. Your comments are valuable, and once again, our sincere apologies. Best regards, Alex Mihardja Executive Assistant
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$119 - AU$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure welcome melbourne hotel melbourne, accor welcome melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
330
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE WELCOME MELBOURNE (AU$119): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Nearby attractions include Drinking History Tours (0.07 km), Block Arcade (0.3 km), and The Regent Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11 Inch Pizza, Da Guido 365, and Roule Galette Melbourne.
Is Mercure Welcome Melbourne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Welcome Melbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (0.5 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (1.0 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (0.8 km).
Does Mercure Welcome Melbourne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Mercure Welcome Melbourne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.