We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crossley Hotel

Orbitz.comUSD 95*
View Deal
#37 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crossley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crossley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Echuca
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The hotel was perfectly located being within walking distance of Flinders Street station, Fed Square, China Town, Kino Cinema, the Vic markets and other visitor attractions, It was clean, comfortable, friendly and above all reasonably priced. My only complaint was not being able to open a window for fresh air at night or find a way of turning off the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinecH9390DC
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear christinecH9390DC, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel. The Crossley Hotel is undoubtedly such great value and close by to all of Melbourne’s fantastic visitor attractions. Thank you for also highlighting our clean accommodation and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback and was disappointed we were not able to assist by showing...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Crossley was perfectly situated for our girls trip to Melbourne. Little Bourke street is the ideal place for dinner and drinks, with so many great restaurants to choose from and with some fantastic bars you don't even need to leave the street to have a good night! We went to see Matilda the following day and the Princess theatre...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 643abbi
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 643abbi, Thank you for writing a review on The Crossley Hotel and I’m pleased that the hotel was perfectly located for your girl’s trip to Melbourne. We are certainly located close by to Melbourne’s wonderful eateries, bars and of course the theatres. Thank you also for your comments regarding our staff and clean accommodation that we ensure to deliver....

Iluka
Reviewed 28 September 2016

There was no hotel staff to check me in at 12:30am and I was left outside for 20 minutes before another hotel guest came down and let me in. This is extremely unprofessional and as far as I know nothing was done about it. I will definitely not be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 564gianlucal
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 564gianlucal, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor albeit less than perfect. I would like to start by offering my sincerest apologies in regards to the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I have investigated the issue as mentioned above and was informed that our night staff was away assisting a guest for...

Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank La Fla B
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Sydney
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We had one night at The Crossley Hotel in September 2016, one adult and two teenagers. We booked a standard room which was fine for one night - a queen bed and single. The room was a bit crowded with one side of the queen bed up against the wall. However we weren't spending much time in the room so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AllieSydney
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AllieSydney, Thank you for your taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel. I’m pleased to read the room you stayed in was clean, functional and reasonably priced. Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff and we were able to assist with a late check out. If you decide to stay with us again...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Cost of room was a bit more that we wanted to pay however reviews were pretty good so we went ahead. Room was pleasant, clean and spacious but a bit old school and missed that cozy feel that this small style of hotel should offer. Lounge area of the room was not that comfortable to spend time in. Bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnaandjon
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear donnaandjon, Thank you for writing a review on The Crossley Hotel. I’m pleased to read you find the room provided was pleasant, clean and spacious. Thank you for your comments regarding our extremely helpful staff. It’s also great to read our centrally located hotel was great for your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Crossley Hotel...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Booked as a Wotif mystery 4 star hotel in the theatre district. It was fine - an old property but reasonably well maintained. I was on first floor with a view of the wall of the neighbouring building (couldn't expect anything else at the rate I paid of $100). Bed a little firm but a great strong shower, good steam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel. The Crossley hotel is a good product of excellent value as you mentioned and thank you for your comments regarding our friendly service and well maintained hotel. We hope to welcome you back to The Crossley Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,...

Peacehaven
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Helpful staff ,excellent price , great location,right next to Chinatown ,tram stop at the bottom of the street , going to the bourke street mall ,10 mins walk from Swanston street close to flinders station.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wayne G, Thank you for writing a review on The Crossley Hotel and your comments regarding our great location, helpful staff and finding the hotel such great value for money. We hope to welcome you back to The Crossley Hotel in the near future. Regards, Sherri Front Office Manager

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The hotel is close to everything, close to China town and even free tram for travelling around the city. If you enjoy walking, the Southern Cross Station is around 25 min walk using the road in front of the hotel. It is very clean and quiet. Staffs are helpful and friendly. I stayed here for 2 nights, it was good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chontida2016
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chontida 2016, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel and highlighting our central location. I’m pleased your 2 night stay was quiet, room was clean and our friendly staff were so helpful and friendly throughout your stay. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to The...

Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Nice well positioned hotel with a short walk to all major sights. Hotel offers a continental breakfast only which looked nice. I myself didn't have it as not a breakfast water. Room itself was a decent size with all amenities. Bathroom could do with a bit of modernisation though as didn't quite meet up to my expected standard. No safety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
CrossleyHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Crossley Hotel. The Crossley Hotel is in a well-positioned location close by to all major attractions. Thank you for your comments in regards to our room size and amenities. Unfortunately we don’t have safety deposit boxes in our rooms but as mentioned we do have...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
1,026 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
847 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
2,098 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: $116 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossley Hotel Melbourne, Victoria
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crossley Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
CrossleyHotel Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Hi Michelle,

Yes we do have a bar on the basement level of the hotel.

Regards,

Crossley Hotel

over a year ago
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Highness100 Colombo, Sri Lanka Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

We had an amazing breakfast at Cumulus and high is listed as one of the best breakfasts in Melbourne.

1 day ago
Gold Coast, Australia
over a year ago
CrossleyHotel Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Good Afternoon Victoria,

Thank you for your enquiry. The hotel offers a bed and breakfast package. Please contact us directly to make your booking and we will be able to assist you with our best available rate of the day.

Thanks,

Melissa

Crossley Hotel

over a year ago
Melbourne, Australia
2 months ago
CrossleyHotel Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Good Morning,

The hotel offers Valet Car Parking at $35 per night.

Regards,

Crossley

2 months ago
Jerusalem, Israel
2 months ago
Susan T Launceston, Tasmania, Australia Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Take the Sky Bus to the station then you just tell the service desk what hotel your staying at and they tell you what mini bus to go on to your hotel. It's super easy to do and cheaper than a taxi.

2 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Crossley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room with renovated bathroom, and on a higher floor to avoid street noise.”
724cassandraw, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper request rooms above the 1st floor due to noise from the ground floor lifts.”
949kimg, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room higher up at the back of the hotel”
  • Fabulous room
  • Fabulous room
  • Modern bathroom
  • Modern bathroom
  • Fabulous room
  • Modern bathroom
  • Fabulous room
  • Fabulous room
BendigoVic, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor, less noise from garbage collectors early in the morning.”
AlexK315, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Located CBD, Quiet Rooms and close to all facilities”
p0stie45, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 95* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 95
AMOMAUSD 101
Expedia.comUSD 95
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates