We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (86)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#106 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Above the hustle and bustle and close to all the adventures Melbourne has to offer, voco Melbourne Central offers intriguing spaces and charming service. With the center of the city in close proximity, you'll find vibrant shopping malls like Emporium, Melbourne Central and Bourke Street Mall, plus a smorgasbord of dining options thanks to Melbourne's magical laneways. The tram and train are literally minutes away from your doorstep, so you can discover the city at your own pace. We offer rooms on high floors with breathtaking views of the city, perfect for spending well-deserved 'me time'. These inner-city sanctuaries have special voco touches including cosy bedding, luxe amenities, smart TVs, free fast Wi-Fi, and windows that open to fresh air.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Car hire
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
88Reviews1Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 18
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sanitv wrote a review Today
Bangkok, Thailand106 contributions72 helpful votes
I had a great night stay at VOCO Melbourne. Upon arrival I was greet by a staff at the valet, took our car, then take us to check in. The whole progress is very efficient! The room was standard and well equipped. The hotel is centrally located and walkable to everywhere
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SunnyCol wrote a review June 2023
Sydney, Australia13 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We visited Melbourne for the weekend and chose a package with Voco through Qantas holidays that offered an upgraded room, breakfast, a cocktail each and late checkout at 1pm. We decided to use the valet parking, which cost $70 per night but I was happy to pay for the convenience and we planned to use the car a few times over the long weekend. Check in was quick and easy and all the staff were very friendly. The hotel was in a great location. We walked to the football at Marvel Stadium & found that we could walk to all the restaurants, bars and main shopping areas easily from the hotel. The rooms were super quiet, we were in 1513 and 1511 and also very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The cocktails we had at the bar were very tasty and the bar looked out to the heated pool area, although, the weather was too brisk for me to hit the water! The breakfast was yum, with plenty of choices and the restaurant has a lovely view of the city. We checked out at 1pm and the staff were happy to keep our bags and the car, as we had a late evening flight, so that we could wander around the city one last time! Overall, we had a lovely stay and would recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Entrance to the valet parking is just past the hotel entrance on Lonsdale Street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 June 2023
Dear Colsun, We trust this email finds you well. On behalf of the entire team at Voco Melbourne Central, we would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during your recent visit. It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest, and we sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided. First and foremost, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a positive experience. Your recommendation of our hotel to others is the highest compliment we could receive, and we are truly grateful for your kind words. We are thrilled to learn that you particularly enjoyed our hotel breakfast. Our culinary team takes great pride in providing a diverse and delicious selection of dishes to start your day off right. Your appreciation of their efforts means a lot to us, and we will certainly share your feedback with them. Moreover, we are pleased to hear that you entrusted the care of your car to our valet service. Ensuring the security and well-being of our guests' vehicles is of utmost importance to us, and we are glad that you had a positive experience with our valet team. It is also wonderful to know that you were pleased with the location of our hotel. Situated in the heart of Melbourne, we strive to offer our guests convenient access to the city's vibrant attractions and amenities. We are thrilled that our location met your expectations. We genuinely hope that your stay at Voco Melbourne Central was memorable and exceeded your expectations. Our team is dedicated to providing exceptional service and creating unforgettable experiences for our guests, and your feedback serves as motivation for us to continue delivering on that promise. We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. If you have any future plans or require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are here to make your next stay with us even more exceptional. Once again, thank you for choosing Voco Melbourne Central, and thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. We greatly appreciate your support, and we look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Warm regards, voco Melbourne Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ateexpectations wrote a review 7 Apr
Bondi, Australia76 contributions47 helpful votes
Great location. Great service. Very environmentally conscious. Love love love the fact you can open a window slightly and thus not be in a/c all night. Rooms are small, very clean and bed super comfortable. Definitely new hotel of choice for my Melbourne trips.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear ateexpectations, I hope you are well, we highly appreciate you leaving us a great review. Your comfort and experience is our top priority and it brings us great joy to hear you enjoyed your time. We would love to get the chance to welcome you back to our hotel. Best regards, Voco Melbourne Central Team !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neil118 wrote a review Mar 2024
Auckland Central, New Zealand40 contributions16 helpful votes
Had an excellent stay and thoroughly enjoyed this newly opened hotel. Upon arrival at reception, the delightful agent promptly informed me of all the benefits available as a platinum member without any prompting. The room was spacious with a delightful city view, and the bar areas were equally impressive. After a disappointing experience with another hotel chain, this stay was absolutely fantastic. I've found my new go-to place for business travel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dear Neil, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and amenities we offer. We are especially pleased that our reception team provided you with exceptional service and made you feel valued as a Platinum member. Ensuring our guests feel recognized and appreciated is a top priority for us, and we are thrilled that you found our team to be delightful and informative. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room with a delightful city view and that our bar areas left a positive impression on you. We strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and inviting spaces to relax and unwind. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we can't wait to host you again soon. Warm regards, Team voco Melbourne Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny0401 wrote a review Feb 2024
Bellarine, Australia643 contributions271 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights during the Australian Open. Check in was easy and attentive. Arrived at our room, it was small. It had a king bed which was very comfortable, side tables where you could control the room lights, 2 chairs & a small table. The biggest issue was the bathroom. A single vanity, no storage for your toiletries, the shower was not large, but a bit bigger than the standard. The toilet paper was behind you, was of poor quality and so were the tissues. You could only get 1 person in here at a time. The water pressure was good & the shower was hot. Towels were of good quality. Breakfast consisted of a good variety of breads, fruits, cereals, eggs all ways, juices, and pastries. Tea & coffee was offered and served to the table. The services at breakfast was lacking the professional side to it. One young waiter told us if we wanted another pot of tea we would have to pay for it. My husband spoke to the manager and it is not the case. The manager delivered another pot of tea, but wasn't going to take the old pot away! We had to tell him to do that. Some extra training would go a long way. The bar we frequented of a night. They have a good cocktail & wine list at reasonable prices. The bar manager, apologizes I have forgotten his name, but he was great. He was chatty and very professional. The location of the hotel is close to Bourke St mall and other retailers. Its close to lots of cafes and restaurants. The reason we would not stay here again is the size of the bathroom, but overall it is a good hotel and staff are nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2024
Dear Jenny, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at voco Melbourne! We love detailed reviews as they help other travelers as they choose accommodation. Your kind words about our staff mean a lot to us, and we truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future, perhaps in a premium room with a bigger bathroom. Kind Regards, voco Melbourne Central Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
U8601AWcatherineb wrote a review Jan 2024
Princeton, United States34 contributions6 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel in a great location and great value, I highly recommend staying here when in Melbourne, the hotel is very nice and you’ll get a great nights sleep. The bathroom was so modern and the shower was great, you could see thru or close the curtain and checking in and checking out was seamless!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I didn’t park here so I can’t comment on that but I came for the Australian Open and it was so...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we truly appreciate your support. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know Warm Regards, Team voco Melbourne Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
thedjlee wrote a review Jan 2024
Seoul, South Korea115 contributions114 helpful votes
Cool hotel, in that Melbourne way. Understated entrance is off the main street, down a laneway. Has that "insider" feel to it. Lobby is on level 6, so take the lift. Room is slightly smaller than average (for this price), but luxuriously and tastefully appointed. Great view over Melbourne - feels like you're much higher up. Most attractions and sites are within walking distance - we went to Crown for some entertainment. Nice, friendly service from check-in; staff are very unobtrusive. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear Thedjlee, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests and it is gratifying to know that we were able to meet your expectations. Once again thank you for choosing voco Melbourne Central and for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Voco Melbourne Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Melanie K wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
We only had a drink at the property but Sam was so knowledgeable and stayed later than I’m sure was required to!. Next time will ensure that we have dinner at Voco as the menu looks amazing. Checkin was stress free and the restaurant menu looks absolutely gorgeous 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear Melanie, Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Blacksmith Bar and for your kind words towards our colleague, Sam. We look forward to welcoming you back, and hopefully to our Restaurant too this time! Kind Regards, voco Melbourne Central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nessisms wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia223 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
I stayed at the Voco Melbourne Central for over a week and here are my thoughts. The biggest positive of this hotel is the staff, they really impressed me with their service, the staff were always really friendly and accommodating. There was one man, whose name I unfortunately forget was always bright and cheerful every morning and it really brightened our day. The hotel itself is perfectly positioned with trams within a few minutes walking distance and 5 minutes walk from Melbourne Central, which is a great shopping centre with a range of great restaurants and shopping. The hotel rooms had very comfortable beds, however the rooms were not too roomy and the bathrooms were very quite small. The bathrooms had big bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner for use. One small thing that I found inconvenient was that you had to ask for the basic amenities such as a shower cap, because these things were not available in the room. I have stayed at many IHG hotels and those amenities are always in the room. There were also slippers available, which I later discovered could be requested when you ask the staff. There were tea bags and a coffee pod machine with coffee pods, a kettle and also UHT milk in the fridge. I found it rather odd that there was a curtain which can be opened and closed which is where the shower is, this can be quite intrusive if you want privacy in the bathroom. When booking your room, avoid the rooms facing Lonsdale Street, because it gets very noisy from the Club Retro across the road. I also suggest requesting a room away from the lifts, because they have rooms in front of the lifts. The one thing that annoyed just about everyone I met at the hotel were the lifts. The lifts were frustrating at times. To access the hotel rooms, you had to press the hotel option on the key pad and then when you get into the lift you had to hold your hotel card against the sensor, however the sensor did not always pick up the hotel card, so you had to get off at the next level to repeat the process again. Occasionally we found that we had to wait a while for the lifts to arrive. The hotel's breakfast buffet was an inclusion with my hotel rate, which was a good deal. The buffet is located on level 7 which is also where their restaurant is located. The breakfast buffet was okay, but not anything special. There were a range of pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats, salad, a range of breads, hot food such as bacon, eggs, soup, sausage, hash browns and a automatic hot drinks machine which you can use which makes your selection of coffee or hot chocolate. I did appreciate that you could order eggs to be cooked the way you would like. There were a few options for people who require gluten free food, these included bread and pastries. There were separate toaster for people who require gluten free options. To be honest, I wasn't a huge fan of the pre cooked hot food options because they weren't always hot. If the breakfast buffet is not included in your hotel rate, I would not pay for the buffet breakfast, because there are better breakfast options located nearby. Overall I thought the Voco Melbourne Central was a decent hotel and pretty convenient if you want to be close to everything.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Dear Nessisms, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Your kind words mean a lot to all of our staff, we truly appreciate your support. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Kind Regards, voco Melbourne Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mynameisjadem wrote a review Jan 2024
193 contributions191 helpful votes
Fantastic four night stay here - beautiful rooms with plenty of light, sumptuous beds and a lovely shower. Stay on top floor (26) like us for a fabulous view of the city! Breakfast was excellent and they have a lovely terrace for drinks / use of the plunge pool. All in all, highly recommend this hotel for its quality and location. Would definitely stay again if in Melbourne.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t forget to collect water from the fridges in reception for your room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Voco Melbourne, Owner at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Jadem, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we truly appreciate your support. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know Warm Regards, Team voco Melbourne central
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$238 - AU$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VOCO MELBOURNE CENTRAL, AN IHG HOTEL (AU$240): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Drinking History Tours (0.3 km), Hardware Lane (0.1 km), and Royal Arcade (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11 Inch Pizza, Da Guido 365, and Brick Lane Melbourne.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to voco Melbourne Central, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Patrick's Cathedral (1.4 km), Old Melbourne Gaol (0.6 km), and Parliament House of Victoria (1.1 km).