We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fraser Place Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fraser Place Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

921 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fraser Place Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 874: English reviews
canberra
Reviewed 8 December 2015

This was a great surprise. Its in a little laneway and walking distance to everything. I found the staff very friendly and full of good tips and advice. I absolutely LOVED that they provide L'Occitane products in the bathroom and refresh them daily. Such a nice and generous touch which I wish other more expensive hotels would also do. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susiebcanberra
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Susiebcanberra, Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We really appreciate when a guest can understand the message we are sending through our product. It's nice that you are so appreciative of the fine touches that we deliver. I will pass on the feedback to all the staff about your experience with us. Glad our maintenance team could be of...

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed two nights in December for a concert. When we booked online it was 2pm check in and 10am check out. When we arrived very early (9am) and dropped out bags off we were told 3pm check in, when I questioned this I was rudely told this had been changed to 3pm check in 11am check out, which serves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Salstollz
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Salstollz, Thank you for letting us know your feedback. We understand that all guests have different requirements for the time of check-in. This is true that our check in and check out times have changed to 3pm and check out 11am. We do ask guests to pre-book their accommodation from the night before to guarantee that here will be...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Stayed one night - the facilities are just above basic, but the location was terrific. It can be a bit noisy though. I also find hotels that hold money from your account annoying - in this case particularly so as there is nothing in the mini bar and getting through $150.00 in movies would be a feat. I would probably...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline H
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Caroline H, Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay. We hope that although you found our facilities basic. We hope that you were comfortable and we had provision for all that you required for comfort and convenience. All hotels hold a deposit or a pre-authorisation on a credit card. Please understand that we need to protect our...

Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, small hotel with a nice breakfast. Friendly service personnel. Gym a little small. Seem to be nearby many good attractions. It is quiet in the rooms even though there is traffic outside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roald G
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Roald G, Thank you for your feedback. Its great that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff service. It's great that you utilised our properties facilities and that you found our location convenient. we would like to have you come back and stay with us in the future. Next time you are in Melbourne please do not hesitate to contact...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Stayed here for work and this place was a good pick. One of the deciding factors was the free wifi since I like to reward hotels when provide this. Nice and roomy and comfortable. Room has a kitchenette with stovetop and microwave but it's right near Chinatown and a lot of affordable eat out choices. Hotel is in a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheAusCouple
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear TheAusCouple, Thank you for your fantastic feedback!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt comfortable. It's really great that you found everything and it was close by. Glad you enjoyed our free wifi too. I will let the staff know that you enjoyed your stay and we would like to warmly welcome you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2015

This serviced apartment is fairly standard for this style and price range but a few things annoyed. A very late check in of 3PM and when I asked several times even for an hour earlier this was refused. Air-conditioning (which was necessary in this stuffy room) was very noisy. But if you opened the door to the balcony the city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim B
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. As a branding standard all of our properties have a 3pm check in. We do endeavor to try and check in guests if their room is available. we apologise that on that instance we were not able to accommodate you. We are aware that the air-conditioner can...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Average to say the least. Carpet appeared to have red wine stains. Coffee machine was broken, contacted reception and they stated it would be replaced (not replaced). Had instant coffee instead. Electrical jug would turn on and boil by itself. Housekeeping were warm and friendly and so was Carmen at reception. The others at reception didn't even acknowledge you. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madonnna70
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Madonna70, Thank you for your feedback. We have passed on all the issues that you have faced to the housekeeping department. Since you have stayed with us we have rectified the stained carpet issue and checked to see that all appliances are in working order. i have also asked my front office team to be more diligent when taking...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

When we walked into the room the stained carpet stood out like a sore thumb. The bed was uncomfortable. There was no armchair or couch although the room was big enough for one or the other. It was definitely not a hotel I'd go to again. The staff seemed ok although we had little to do with them, arriving at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lynda T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have spoken to our housekeeping department regarding your feedback. I apologise for this shortfall in presentation. We find that our beds are enjoyed by majority of guests and sometimes it is difficult to get all the comfort levels correct out of one type of bed. Its...

Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Doctor CompRhet offers another reader-oriented review: Tucked away on a side street near the Melbourne Exhibition Center and Art Museum, this hotel features apartment-like rooms with many useful amenities. The small lobby is unpresuming but pleasant, with two computer terminals for getting online and a sitting area (though someone should clean the very dirty keyboards). Rooms are spacious and clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCompRhet
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear DoctorCompRhet, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. WOW!! I wanted to thank you for the amazing feedback you have given! I will be sure to share this with all of the team. It's great when a guest reviews our property that get to experience everything that we set out to offer. We really...

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Very bad experience with two of the frontline staff in my recent stay with the hotel. Firstly, the lady at reception who attended to me was very hostile ... However she seemed very smiley to the Caucasians right before me. I can't say for sure if she was racist but she gave me that vibe. It's something I can't describe...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Juliana B
Marcus_Packham, Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Juliana B, Thank you for taking the time to write some feedback, we really appreciate it. We find it upsetting that you did not receive the usual great standard of service that we offer when you stay with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. I will definitely discuss this with our staff to ensure that they can understand how the...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,541 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 158 in Melbourne
1,371 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
7,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $118 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Fraser Place Melbourne Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fraser Place Melbourne staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Seoul, South Korea
Singapore, Singapore
7 months ago
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Adelaide, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Fraser Place Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bathroom and toilet are separated from the main living room by a heavy sliding door with opaque glass. This seems a bit weird at first, and you may want to know your fellow traveller well enough to deal with it!”
roseydozey, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet considering it was mid CBD”
SusieQAuckland, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Just call the hotel and speak to reception about your room requirements.”
Mykolant, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My wife and I found room 501 to be quiet and wheelchair accessible.Not to mention very accessible to the lift as well.”
  • Room ensuite
  • Room has 2 hotplates,dish washer as well as coffee/tea and kettle/toaster in cupboard.
  • very comfy bed.
  • microwave,bar fridge, television.
24PaulH24, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nice to be able to open a window!”
E9963GIpeterr, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5