We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
334 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (33)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (113)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#28 of 340 Speciality lodging in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank only five minutes walk to the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the Crown Complex. The free tram zone is within walking distance, which will allow you full access to our vibrant city. St Kilda is a 10 minute tram ride away, catch the #12 from our doorstep. Visit the fabulous South Melbourne Market for the freshest seafood, best coffee and the famous 'Giant Dim Sims'. Grab a bargain at DFO and enjoy your huge choice of restaurants along the Yarra River.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Paid wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Vending machine
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino, German and 3 more
453Reviews2Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 174
  • 69
  • 24
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Krystal wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1. Bunk Beds are really rocky and old 2. Not enough PowerPoints in room 3. Dont have set process for changing linen (especially if staying for more than a week) which can end up with foul smelling room esp if staying longer than a week 4. Housekeeping is really bad and looses guests belongings when changing linen - they lost multiple items of mine which i was never compensated for 5. You may be moved rooms at any time without warning and have all your stuff packed up only to find some things have gone missing 7. There are some guests who have lived there for 3 years and their stuff stinks 8. Showers dont work properly and have cold water 9. Housekeeping is really noisy and wakes you up cleaning if your sleeping (during day) as you may have had a big night and went to bed late - no respect or decency. 10. Be prepared to be evicted from Hostel at any time if management happens to be in a bad mood (have a back up option) 11. Lighting in bathroom can be poor, especially near showers 12. Handtowels always empty in bathroom and doesn't restock regularly 13. Other long term residents are criminals staying in hostel so watch belongings 14. Toilets have had vomit over them for 2 days with housekeeping not cleaning 15. Rude staff and management 16. No free wifi The negatives by far outweigh the positives so just avoid the hassle and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban-GM, General Manager at Urban Central
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear your last stay with us didn't go as well as we both would have liked. We work hard at keeping our venue safe and clean for our guests as well as staff. During the current world wide health scare, our in-house procedures have been updated as recommended by the Australian Government to protect our guests and staff at all times. We take this situation very seriously and are expecting all guests to follow these procedures, should they wish to stay with us.
Read more
Ekrubber wrote a review Jan 2020
Moyarra, Australia59 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed in a family suite which was neat and clean. Cheerful service from the front desk was exceptional, and the even helped us with parking onsite. Beds not very comfortable (are they ever away from home?).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban-GM, General Manager at Urban Central
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so pleased to hear you found our family room neat and clean. Our Front Desk are great and I'm looking forward to sharing your comments during our next staff meeting. Thanks again.
Read more
patrik wrote a review Jan 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden3 contributions6 helpful votes
Very nice hostel. Clean rooms and beds, nice vibe and a social hostel. People where playing pool and pingis in the bar area, Mixed ages as well.. 5 minutes walk to the cbd area. I would definitely come back...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban-GM, General Manager at Urban Central
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Urban Central Accommodation. I'm so glad to hear you found us nice and clean with a great social vibe. We'd love to see you back again some day. Cheers
Read more
Famous2four wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
On our way to tassie the staff were amazing bent over backwards to make sure we were happy so we booked in to stay on our trip home. After 11 hours on the ferry we were happy that we had somewhere to drive straight to . Staff this time though had rude horrible couldn’t give a toss if you prepaid attitude. Lost our car booking made us repay for parking, kids found a drug “gas” container in the room they didn’t care and were just plain RUDE. Very disappointed to say the least .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban-GM, General Manager at Urban Central
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay with us. It's great to hear your first stay was amazing and I'm sorry that we weren't able to keep up the standard that we both would have expected. Our small onsite gated carpark costs $15 per night and we are unable to make reservations for this in advance. We appreciate all feedback and thank you again for taking the time to provide this information.
Read more
Ammie wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Worst hostel I have ever stayed at!! Full of criminals. Dirty rooms, disgusting kitchen and horrible rude staff. One in particular that works in reception that I have reported.... worst hostel and worst customer service I have ever known. I have been warned by other people about the hostel. Everywhere stinks, smoking inside disgusting place!! Be warned..shady characters staying there and a lot of long term old creepy men permanently living there. The bar open to the public, bringing a lot Of weirdos there. As a female traveller on my own I felt incredibly unsafe. Would defiantly not stay here again nor recommend anybody else to stay here. Had the worst experience here ruined my travelling experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Urban-GM, General Manager at Urban Central
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are a non smoking building with 24 hour reception in the Southbank district of Melbourne. All of our rooms are four share dorm rooms with individual lockers, power points, heating/air con. Linen and bedding is included and you may rent a towel for $5 from reception if you don't have your own. We also supply free rice, pasta, tea and coffee in our kitchen. Our cleaning staff pride themselves in providing a clean and hygienic venue which we receive alot of compliments on. Our onsite bar, is open nightly to guests and the public from 4.30pm. We adhere to the strict liquor licencing requirements and ensure all of our welcomed guests have a safe and enjoyable time. Nightly happy hour and bar activities provide free entertainment for everyone. I'm sorry to hear your stay did not go as well as we both would have liked. If you would like to provide more information on your dates of stay and your name, I'd be happy to look into this further. Please feel free to email us directly. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback, we appreciate all comments regarding our business.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 21 - USD 115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
urban central hotel melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneSouthbank
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Urban Central
Which popular attractions are close to Urban Central?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Melbourne (ERM) (0.5 km), Crown Casino (0.4 km), and Red Herring Escape Rooms (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Urban Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Urban Central?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Urban Central?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Urban Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include St Ali Coffee Roasters, Simply Spanish, and Mr. Hive.
Are any cleaning services offered at Urban Central?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Urban Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Italian, Korean, Malay, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Urban Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Melbourne Gaol (2.3 km), St. Patrick's Cathedral (2.6 km), and Rippon Lea Estate (6.7 km).
Is Urban Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.