We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Pickled Frog Backpackers

281 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 13 hostels in Hobart
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1835, The Pickled Frog has always been a drawcard for the world’s adventurers. We’ve hosted sailors, whalers, smugglers, gold-diggers, daredevils and wanderers. Now it’s your turn. If you’re keen to explore a fascinating island, come stay with us and add your history to ours. We’ll show you the time of your life. The Pickled Frog has been a haven for Hobart travellers since colonial times. Painted in unmissable Kermit green, our hostel is a landmark on Liverpool Street. We’ve been voted Hobart’s number one backpacker’s hostel three years running. You don’t get better than that. We know what backpackers want. We have the hottest showers and the coldest beers. We know you’ll want to meet new people, make new friends and feel right at home by our open fire. We have all the shared space you need to curl up in an armchair and upload your selfies in peace or join the happy crowd at the bar Your adventure starts with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
313Reviews0Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 96
  • 47
  • 20
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Andy T wrote a review Dec 2023
Perth, Australia56 contributions27 helpful votes
I stayed in a room of 4 for one week. The hostel is in a convenient location and the building is gorgeous and filled with froggy vibes on the inside. The downstairs lounge is spacious and great to relax in. Our room itself was too small to really fit bags in, but another friend stayed in a different room that had much more space, so it seems like a bit of luck is involved! But the room was comfortable and relatively clean. We didn't use the kitchen much but it always seemed pretty busy. The bathroom is in pretty dire need for an upgrade imo (well, I can only speak about the men's room). One small sink for everyone to use, there's always a queue so you have to brush your teeth in a hurry and you can forget about shaving. The toilets are fine, but the showers have limited privacy and nowhere to put your clothes - it's really tricky to get changed without getting your trousers wet on the floor. A few hooks, some proper doors, and bathmats would go a long way. The staff were 11/10, incredibly friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The worst hostel I have stayed in by far. Stayed in a 4 person room that was being occupied long term by a long term worker. His belongings were scattered everywhere. Another chap had also arrived at the same time. At about 2.30 I’m woken by the bunk below having sex. There was no security, downstairs people were asleep on several sofas and chairs. A very strong smell of cannabis and loud music. No possibility of changing rooms. The sex continued, even though I asked them to move at least to another bunk. The hostel has next to no security, people wandered in and out of my room at will. Please do not stay here if you wish to feel secure and or respected.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The desk staff, especially Anna, were very friendly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kelbym123 wrote a review Feb 2023
Whistler, Canada18 contributions2 helpful votes
Lots of common areas with comfy couches. Wifi is not great. 8 person room is pretty cramped, no storage, no individual plugs. Could hardly walk through the bags ant time because there was no where to put them. It made repacking hard. Bunk beds move a lot. Nice bedding though. My room was near the stairs to the common area, and people seemed quite loud until 1am but I don’t know if they were upstairs or downstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elsa F wrote a review Nov 2022
Nazareth, Pennsylvania1 contribution
Me and my friends came here soaked after hiking in the rain at 23 at night and they were so kind and provided us with a room and fresh towels, and the day after we could dry our stuff. Simple place, friendly staff and a good place to hang out. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rocío E wrote a review Mar 2020
La Plata, Argentina112 contributions45 helpful votes
I was in a 14 beds room, overcrowded, not well ventilated, nor good illumination. The stuff isn't the helpfull, everything seems over capacity. My friend had a bug in her bed, and they didn't give her any compensation for the night she had to spent sleeping in the living room. They only changed her room. Lots of long term guest, so may be hard to socialize if you're there only for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid 14 beds room, if it's a hot day is almost impossible to breath in there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JMc wrote a review Feb 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom22 contributions14 helpful votes
The smallest dorms imaginable, which never get hoovered. The kitchen is so packed with food you cannot get space to store anything, making cooking a real challenge. Despite labelling our bag our brand new groceries were stolen. In general the kitchen, communal areas and bedrooms are all dirty. Extremely noisy at night. The social element was there but overall couldn't get past the filth, theft and noise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Aim for upstairs with luxary dorms as they have curtains around beds and closer to communal...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frogteam, General Manager at The Pickled Frog Backpackers
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Thanks for your review. You did stay with us at a very busy time of year, being peak season, so the kitchen can get busy with guests and guest food. It is only because we are so popular! We work hard to ensure the hostel is quiet at night, so we do apologise that you had a noisy stay. We have a night manager who monitors the hostel to keep the noise down. Sorry to hear about your missing food, we do have security cameras in the kitchen so if you had of let us know we could have had a look for the culprit. Sorry that we didnt meet your expectations during your stay, thanks for the feedback and we will continue to work hard to improve into the future. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonny wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
They are understaffed here to the point where it harms their operations - long wait times to do anything with the front desk, kitchen is very small and very little space for food. Common area is spacious with lots of games I know this is a small complaint, but the hostel tells you exactly what bed to sleep in, but housekeeping doesn't follow the same system. Housekeeping came in to the room and removed everything on my bed anyway - including some personal items and cash. When I confronted the staff about this, they politely said sorry, and chose not to resolve the issue. When I asked to sign up for the mount Wellington tour, I was told to come back later because the staff member was busy on the computer. When I came back later, all spots were filled. Not a big deal, but the signup process was as simple as writing my name on a piece of paper, and took no more than 5 seconds. Nothing big, but lots of small things bothering me about this hostel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frogteam, General Manager at The Pickled Frog Backpackers
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thanks for your review. Please note that our staff do juggle and manage a lot of guests, and do it very well. You did stay at the absolute peak time of year for us across the new year period, so the occasional short wait is possible. We do tend to have peak times at the reception, such as 10am check out. The Mt Wellington tour across that busy time was booked out days in advance, so whilst we are sorry you couldn't join us, we do recommend booking that ahead of time. Thanks for the feedback on the bed issue, we have now implemented a new system to fix that issue, our apologies. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
James wrote a review Dec 2019
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
I absolutely loved my time at the Frog!! The staff were super friendly, the music was always good and the community of travellers was really warm and incredibly welcoming. Would recommend this place very highly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vicki wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
I totally recommend staying at the Pickled Frog backpackers. Staff are friendly, welcoming & super helpful. Travelling solo, it was easy to meet people & relax with a great fireplace, Happy well stocked bar, cozy lounge areas etc. A huge hit for me were the awesome free bus tours! So much fun! Tim is friendly,fun, & loves what he does. A GREAT way to explore & meet people 😁. I would definately love to come & stay n play again! A huge thankyou to the Froggie staff! Vicki xo 😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frogteam, General Manager at The Pickled Frog Backpackers
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Thanks for the lovely review Vicki! we enjoyed having you stay with us!! Safe travels. Team Frog.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vera wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Really enjoyed my stay at the frog! The staff is amazing; they helped me with finding a car, got a haircut and just made me feel so home. Will be back for sure to enjoy more of the free tours they offer and the hospitality! Thanks guys.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frogteam, General Manager at The Pickled Frog Backpackers
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Thanks Vera! We hope the car is still going well! Safe travels. Team Frog.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hobart area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$72 - AU$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PICKLED FROG BACKPACKERS (AU$72): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Hobart) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pickled Frog Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include St. David's Park (0.5 km), Fullers Bookshop (0.4 km), and Markree House Museum & Garden (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sawak Cafe, Astor Grill, and Fico.
Is The Pickled Frog Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Hobart.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pickled Frog Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hobart Penitentiary (1.0 km), Runnymede (3.7 km), and Constitution Dock (0.5 km).