We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brunswick Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brunswick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Trollhattan, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel (Tassie Backpackers) was old and needs a good refreshing. Room had a bad smell that just wouldn't go away no matter how long we kept the door open. Windows doesn't open. Kitchen is very small and not enough enything to cook food properly if there's anyone else there. Barely any places to sit and eat. ONE electric socket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elian461
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2nights at dorm of 4pax. Is noisy if you want rest early because bar is just beside. Bathroom is share for male and female.Kitchen is dirty and no heater at common area. Overall just location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JiaLily
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the bar at 9 an ordered a meal sat in a section off the bar with our number , drinks and cutlery all obtained from the bar . After some time an extremely rude waitress Cara or Kara not sure how to spell her name approached us telling us we could not sit there as we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a friendly hotel / hostel with connected bar. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm during a recent trip to Hobart. Good location in central Hobart, but the facilities themselves are pretty run down - leaky roof, grungy bathrooms, and old bedding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CGLondon25
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Brunswick 2 nights. Not only the photos posted in the web page had nothing to do with the real rooms at the hotel, but the staff was not very helpfull. We asked 2 questions about some steet near the hotel and the answer both times was "everything is on google". Then, we ask for the phone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coppernico
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While in Hobart Early Jan 17, we booked at the Brunswick Hotel, (Deluxe Double Rm with Private Bath & Aircon). Our Room was just not satisfactory..Bath/shr you could barely move around in and mouldy and dirty. 5 night stay, we got clean towels daily and cleaned out the bin...no linen change. Location is the only positive thing I can say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexS1508
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 25 December 2016

The place is nothing like the photos, very dirty in general. I booked a twin room but it is surprisingly small with a dirty sink next to our bunk bed. Toilet across our room was filled with toilet paper on the floor. Socket in the room was so loose that I dare not to use. The shared bathroom does not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyHon1214
Brunswick67, Reception at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate it. We are very sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. We offer budget accommodation in the centre of Hobart. We thoroughly clean the entire building each day and are working with our housekeepers to improve this. Our bathrooms are shared as we...

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

When I first got there the location was great, however the staff were rude both at reception and the bar staff. The room was nothing like the pictures and the walls were paper thin. The bathroom was also dismal, would recommend staying elsewhere and paying slightly extra.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whitebrooke
Brunswick67, Reception at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear your stay was not the best it could have been. Our staff always try to be as helpful and friendly as possible, we are sorry it did not come across that way. We are constantly looking to improve our facilities and thank you for...

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Would not recommend staying at this hotel! Room was depressing (not like the photos) and the shower leaked constantly. I was told by staff that this was going to be fixed but not for another day into my stay, four nights later the shower was still not fixed. An alternate room was offered by the reception staff member but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasia P
Brunswick67, Reception at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. We do apologise for the maintenance issues not being sorted out as promptly as they should have been. We know this is not acceptable and this issue needs to be fixed. Our staff always try to...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Eaten here on a few occasions for work lunches. Food is always nice though a little overpriced on some items. Not sure if cheaper lunch specials are offered but haven't noticed nothing advertised. Service is good and there's not much waiting which is great. Like the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylTas
Brunswick67, Staff at Brunswick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our menu. We do offer $10 lunch specials from Monday to Thursday with the purchase of any beverage. We are pleased you were happy with our service and enjoyed the atmosphere. We hope to see you again!

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.6 km away
Welcome Stranger Hotel
Welcome Stranger Hotel
#12 of 29 in Hobart
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Alabama Hotel Hobart
Alabama Hotel Hobart
#3 of 29 in Hobart
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
0.5 km away
Astor Private Hotel
Astor Private Hotel
#1 of 29 in Hobart
283 reviews
0.1 km away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#18 of 55 in Hobart
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $55 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brunswick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brunswick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please check different source of reviews before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyHon1214, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Simple go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms come with an ensuite so I would suggest that.”
 of 5 bubbles 98taylaa, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms here”
 of 5 bubbles 902saraiv, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at rear are best very close to the music but have double glasing”
 of 5 bubbles JohnT453, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5