We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Brunswick Hotel

67 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 13 hostels in Hobart
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Brunswick Hotel is one of the last remaining hotels that once graced Liverpool Street. Established in 1827, twenty years after the settlement of Hobart, the hotel represents an important part of this country’s social history. The Brunswick Hotel bar boosts eight different beers on tap that includes Cascade Brewery’s finest beers (the oldest brewery in Australia), an evolving section of some of Tasmanian’s premium red and white wines both by the glass and bottle. The Brunswick Hotel also provides very fairly priced Hotel rooms that are the perfect choice for a centrally located Hobart stay. Our en-suite rooms come equipped with a fridge, tea & coffee and a flat screen TV. Our restaurant headed up by one of Hobart’s premium chefs, Tony Gamble, who has produced a menu that exemplifies locally sourced produce, meat, seafood and cheeses. These dishes leads themselves to be shared between friends or indulge on some of our pub classics, such as Marrawah Steak sandwich, our own Brunswick Lamb Burger, grilled calamari and our own hand cut fries. The Brunswick Hotel is the perfect place for a casual every day lunch and dinner catch-up or unwind. Not to mention a ‘Hobart Getaway’ for the weekend. With the longest chesterfield in Tassie (second longest in the world), comfy leather booths or tradition "sit at the bar" seating, we are ready for you at Hobart’s newest friendly local hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
248Reviews0Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 61
  • 63
  • 36
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
alannah P wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution
Was expecting a great night with myself and a group of friends, horrible attitude from staff all night. very unwelcoming. my partner went in to buy a drink, completely sober, and was called a “cock” for ordering a simple drink. disgusting staff and energy the entire time spent there. do not visit this pub, unless you want the same unwelcoming attitude without any provocation. 0/10
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Layla G wrote a review June 2021
1 contribution
Was there tonight with a few friends. Bar staff called our friend a cock when all he did was ask for a drink. He was completely sober and had not caused issues at all. We had been there for 30 mins. Rude to all of us the whole night, death stares, eyes rolled. would not recommend at all. Terrible atmosphere and overpriced for the absolutely appalling experience they give.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
StephanieJC wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
Stayed at the Brunswick 2 weeks ago with a few friends as we were heading out in Hobart. A week later.. my head starts itching, so does my partners. After another few days he suggests that we should check our hair- what do we find but HEAD LICE!!! I contacted our friend who also stayed in the room and after looking he has also found them. I messaged the Brunswick on Instagram and received no reply- and again on Facebook to receive a response from them- completely denying any responsibility. I have slept no where else but my own bed since that night, neither has my partner or my friend who we haven’t seen since that night. As a hospitality worker, and someone who has worked my time as a housekeeper- I understand that these things happen however the fact that this company has offered nothing, taken no responsibility means more than likely they haven’t addressed this issue and they will continue to pass head lice on without a care in the world!! So unless you want to be combing your hair every 2 days for the next month I suggest staying accross the road at the always amazing Alabama hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ross T wrote a review Nov 2020
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
Table of 10 at dinner. Ordered dinner for half Waited 40 minutes for a meal late Sunday night and after correcting over with the server 3 times it was incorrect. When questioned by server she became defensive and blamed us . Paid $280 for 5 really ordinary meals and abusive service. Asked for manager and was attended by some doorman who thought I was unreasonable not waiting for my meal to be recooked in 20 minutes. Now 9 pm half of my guests have finished and left the restaurant. Was pre warned by one of the diners that it was a bad choice. Basically told too like it or get lost I took the second alternative $280 poorer. There are certainly better choices. Ross Talbot
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aviva B wrote a review Aug 2020
Gold Coast, Australia209 contributions115 helpful votes
It was noisy with the restaurant & bar downstairs poor sleep quality. Risky staying there as the hallway had an obvious electrical fault. They mucked up my booking so I got moved from a nice private room to a dorm where the bed was uncomfortable. Had to share a dirty kitchen where the oven didn't work properly & the communal fridge I had a clearly marked item stolen out of! Food inedible the 1 time I had dinner there. When I left I found out when I needed to stay for another night as a once off some untrue things got said about me which got twisted when I spoke to 1 of the cleaners.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from JAR Operations, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Aviva, We are sorry to hear that your stay had so many issues. Our hostel is nearly 200 years old and as such is smaller than other more modern rooms. We are again sorry that we were not able to correct the issue caused when you booked through a third party and paid for a dorm room but they gave you information on our private rooms. If we had any available private rooms during your stay we would have corrected the issue to the best of our ability. We are sorry that your food was taken while in the communal fridge and that you found the kitchen dirty. We will be investigating what else we can do to improve the fridge situation and we have had the kitchen deep cleaned. We do rely on our guest cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen but we do clean the kitchen daily with staff picking up throughout the day anything not put away. We've had an electrician in and there isn't any faults with the electrical system in the hostel. Best wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flyer542640 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
I arrived in Hobart last moment and they made a late allowance for a lonely traveler. All of the team that I spoke to couldn’t do enough to help me out, I arrived very late and I couldn’t have made to feel more welcome. From the friendly bartender Daniel that first welcomed me (and let me stay a little bit longer to finish my 2 for 1 beer, and read a bit of my book) to the lovely late check in guy Jose, who’s customer service was second to none. It was a very enjoyable experience, the staff later on gave me and a couple of other patrons a personal tour of the city and amazing places to check out. This is the first place of my travels that I have felt so welcomed and can’t thank the team enough, fantastic job guys!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from JAR Operations, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Daniel and Jose were so helpful. We love hearing about our guests stay and will pass along to our valued staff your experience. We hope that you can stay with us again when everything gets back to normal. Best Wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
979ursm wrote a review Jan 2020
Lucerne, Switzerland17 contributions11 helpful votes
Everything is old and dirty in this Hostel, the Kitchen overfilled with unwashed stuff... The bed was ok, but 10 people in one little room, was to much. It was loud and the air was to thick... I can’t recommend staying in this Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from JAR Operations, General Manager at Brunswick Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what we would have liked for our guest. The hostel is cleaned daily but we will bring up your concerns with the staff. The kitchen is cleaned daily but we do rely on our guests to clean up after them selves. Our staff do come and check a couple times through out their shift to pick up anything not cleaned or put away. We are sorry that you found the 10 bed dorm to much we do have dorms that have less people like our 4 person and 6 person dorms as well as some private rooms. We value your feedback and will investigate ways that we can improve for the future. Best Wishes,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aussietraveller2828 wrote a review Nov 2019
Hobart, Australia41 contributions11 helpful votes
A group of 11 visited for dinner. We had a variety of meals including Wallaby, Mushroom, & the standard Schnitzel as well childrens meals. All meals were well presented & were of ample size. Drinks were all reasonably priced & we went to the Bar ourselves. The only think that was disappointing was the carpet in the Dinning Room which I am sure is the same as the one which was there when I last visited over 10 Years ago. It is well past it's use by date & looks like it hasn't been cleaned fo a long time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We did not stay at this hotel; it was purely for Dinner
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HadenY17 wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Australia95 contributions28 helpful votes
I've reviewed The Brunswick before so I won't say much, this's just to provide a hack for future fellow travellers to get around the cold showers. I really like Tassie Backpackers at The Brunswick so criticising it is like criticising a good friend, you don't really want to. I love the character of the old building, it gives you a taste of the old Hobart which is really nice and the lounge and rec areas are cosy, it's reasonably sociable, generally good people and vibe. Ok - so it generally has barely warm showers unless you get in early but the hot water runs out very quickly. I got lucky the first day and got actually consistent hot water which I never have there before, but the second day they were lukewarm at best and given there were two unexpectedly freezing cold mornings in Hobart, this would've been intolerable and I honestly don't know how people there do it. Two get arounds, one of which I'd resolved to do if I ever stayed there again and this happened is the Doone Kennedy Aquatic Centre is 10 minutes walk east of there, easy to get to and for $2 non-swim entry you can have a warm shower, which I did. The second, which I discovered later that day, is that there are free showers on Level 3 of the car park of all things attached to the shopping centre with the Woolworths in it across the road from the Brunswick. If the hot water is next to nonexistent which it mostly is I *strongly* recommend one of these two options unless it's summer and hot as in the colder months the cold showers are just horrible. The only other thing is there are hardly ever any bowls in the kitchen which from what I observed is because guests pilfer them which really isn't cool. But not the fault of Tassie Backpackers, you just have to be prepared is all I'm saying.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brunswick67, Reception at Brunswick Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Dear Haden, We were so sorry to hear that the water wasn't warm when you stayed with us. The hot water does go out occasionally but if you let reception know they can fix the problem and there will be hot water within 5 minutes. The issue effects the showers that are located near the kitchen. If you could message us and let us know which showers were having the issue with the cold water we would love to fix this issue. We do restock the kitchen and we are working on getting more bowels etc. Thank you so much for your detailed review we really love hearing from our guests so that we know where we are doing well and where we need some improvement. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon. Best Wishes, Accommodation Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GreyWolf182 wrote a review Aug 2019
Hobart, Australia123 contributions38 helpful votes
Met a friend for a couple of drinks last week after work. I ordered an Irish coffee and the bartender seemed confused by that; said he didn't have any cream so would a shot of Jamieson in a coffee be OK. I said yes and he said he'd bring the drink over to me. $13 for the Irish coffee. How disappointing when it arrived at the table! Small coffee cup, cappuccino, no coffee taste discernable, and a shot of whiskey. Maybe half a shot as I could barely taste it. A really good Irish coffee is a work of art, this one certainly wasn't. Service was pretty quick and civil. The place was packed, so obviously very popular. However, the live music made having a conversation with my friend pretty much impossible. I'll try another pub next Friday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hobart area.
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRUNSWICK HOTEL (AU$27): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Hobart) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Brunswick Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Brunswick Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hobart Penitentiary (0.4 km), Mawson's Huts Replica Museum (0.5 km), and Constitution Dock (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Brunswick Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Brunswick Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Brunswick Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Brunswick Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cultura Espresso Bar & Restaurant, Dāna Eating House, and Urban Greek .
Does Brunswick Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Brunswick Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Brunswick Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Hobart.
Are there any historical sites close to Brunswick Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hobart Penitentiary (0.4 km), Runnymede (3.3 km), and Constitution Dock (0.3 km).