We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Alabama Hotel Hobart

Save
Share
L 1 72 Liverpool St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
USD 88
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/22
Expedia.com
USD 89
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/22
Priceline
USD 93
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/02/22
Hotels.comUSD 89
eDreamsUSD 88
CheapTicketsUSD 89
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Alabama is a small art-filled hotel offering boutique budget rooms in the heart of Hobart. Please note that all rooms have shared bathrooms, there are no rooms with a private or en suite bathroom. If this is not your style, we understand, but please be aware of this before staying and / or reviewing. Each room has a small fridge, a heater, hanging space for your clothes and a fan for warmer weather. Hobart is rarely hot, air-conditioning is not needed here. Even on that rare hot day, the city cools down at night and the windows open to let in a breeze. It is perfectly safe to have a window open at night while you sleep. Tea and coffee is available to purchase from reception, which is open from 8am - 9pm daily. There are no tea making facilities in the rooms. Our inner city location means we do not have off street parking. Unless you're planning a longer trip through Tasmania we wouldn't recommend hiring a car for your stay at the Alabama as inner city parking costs do add up.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Laundry service
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
172Reviews3Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 35
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephan K wrote a review Feb 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Had a super stay in Alabamas... Friendly staff, excellent rooms and the shared facilitys and chillout places are good, clean and a good place to get in contact with fellow travelers. This is the perfect place to start a trip in tazzy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
LynleyAS wrote a review Dec 2018
Te Anau, New Zealand14 contributions20 helpful votes
Absolutely loved staying here and will definitely be back. I was travelling on my own and found the central location perfect - within a short walk of everything! The staff here are its best resource - so friendly I felt like I was coming home every evening, and nothing was any trouble. Loved starting the day with an early morning coffee, or coming in at the end of the day for a quiet drink, enjoying the very welcoming and funky decor, and chatting about anything and everything. I don't usually go for a shared bathroom but it really was no problem here and everything was spotlessly clean and fresh.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FlaminIrish wrote a review Nov 2018
19 contributions1 helpful vote
Couldn't ask for more. Great staff, Sam I think. Clean comfortable room. Shared toilets were not an issue as they were just down the hall and were clean and tidy. Very central and parked in the Central Car Park for $6 overnight. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Joel Taylor wrote a review Nov 2018
Melbourne, Australia205 contributions104 helpful votes
Stayed here on a work trip while in Hobart. This hotel is so unique and has such a fun vibe. The staff are super friendly and attentive. The communal lounge area has some sweet vibes and a great selection of drinks. We be back to stay here on my next Hobart trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Aury V wrote a review Oct 2018
2 contributions
This hippy laid back person whose name he didn’t give was not receptive to what I had to say. I came in to room 11, it smelled bad, stale odour that inmediately gave me a headache. He refused to give me a refund despite the fact that the odour was making me sick. Opened window did not help.He thought I was unreasonable because he could not smell it. It’s not that clean. Worst experience!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from AlabamaStaff, Manager at Alabama Hotel Hobart
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Hello Aury Van Sanden, under the terms and conditions of your booking you were entitled to a 50% refund which was issued to you when you departed. When you check into a busy hotel on a Friday night and occupy a room, even if it is only for an hour and a half, that room cannot be sold that evening again. It has to be cleaned, and housekeeping staff do not work evenings. Even if they did, and even if we were able to have it cleaned and ready again, the chances of selling it again with only an hour or so left of the day are slim to none. This is why there is a charge for occupying a room even for a short time. Two staff members on duty went to the room you complained about and could not smell anything. You refused all offers of another room, indicating to me that a ‘smell’ was not in fact the issue. Prior to your booking you phoned several times and asked many, many questions and I helped you with local advice and nearby places and services as well as describing the hotel in detail. On arrival you were rude and hostile to the staff on duty, and now in this review you throw out personal insults which is disappointing to me after all the times we spoke and after the efforts we went to for you.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
USD 57 - USD 85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing