We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hobart Central YHA

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This very centrally located YHA hostel will help you enjoy the sights of Hobart. Walk to the harbour and Salamanca. Choice of multi-share and private rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
15
30
40
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
15
30
40
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews youth hostel small lounge area noisy at night no elevator common areas the location is perfect dock area port arthur city centre top floor short walk hot water within walking distance battery point salamanca place supermarket waterfront
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great experience with YHA Hobart, everything was very clean, the staff was very nice and helpful, would definitely try YHA’s other hostels. The only downside was the noise from the pub besides the hotel, however, it stops at around 11pm, so if...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank ychoi88745
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here one night in late November in Rm 32 on the very top floor. The main advantage of this hostel is its location. It is right in the heart of the city in my opinion. I arrived here by plane from Melbourne and...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Condornarvik67
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel in a private room. The room faced the main road making it very noisy. The room was tiny. The shared bathroom was horrible, no covered bin for sanitary disposal which meant it also smelled very bad and the sink and...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Garima B
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 17 September 2018

Hi Garima - we are very disappointed that you had a poor stay as that is not representative of YHA. We are investigating the issues you have raised so we can do better.

Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few hostels and accommodation places around the world and this is one I would not return to in a hurry. The staff are friendly, facilities are OK but the location, whilst central, does not lend itself to a good nights...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank MarkHeyink
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 18 July 2018

Hi Mark, thanks for your feedback. This hostel is in the city centre, so there is some surrounding noise. On the up side, it is one block from the harbour and two blocks from Salamanca Markets, so hard to get much closer to all the...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018

The hostel is well-located, in the heart of the CBD, near the Docks and Salamanca place. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, with heaters for winter. Bathrooms were also clean and showers had hot water (which is not always the case…). The...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank laulalex
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
minhduongngocnhat
22 June 2018|
Answer
Response from OhhHeyy-ItsMel | Reviewed this property |
You can definitely check out early, you just put your sheets in the basket which is near reception and slide your room key under the door as the reception desk isn’t open until like 8am I think from memory (I had to do this... More
0
Votes
17darjeeling
27 October 2014|
Answer
Response from Shane N | Reviewed this property |
Hmmm you shouldn't have any problems calling unless its out of hours? There is usually someone on the front desk all night if that's when you call? Good luck!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Choose a room with private bathroom if you are worried about cleanliness."
ychoi88745
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Rooms on the top floor seem to be quiet but they may be difficult if you have heavy baggage"
MsAutumnRose
10 Mar. 2018
Read review
"my women's 4 person dorm was above the pub, other womens dorm was up more stairs"
valerys289
15 Jan. 2018
Read review
"Talk to the staff, they know the area best and can help organise free or paid trips"
jamesmI5278UZ
5 Aug. 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 67 - USD 123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing