We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hobart Central YHA

111 reviews
Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good31%
  • Average43%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“family room”(5 reviews)
“ensuite room”(3 reviews)
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (111)Write a Review
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
9
27
37
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
9
27
37
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall lounge areafamily roomensuite roomgreat locationyour luggagesupermarketwaterfronttasmania
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not bad. Some rooms noisy from traffic. Very small kitchen. Small lounge area. Plenty of clean bathrooms. Friendly helpful staff.Choice of dorm sizes. Quite a few stairs to upper levels. No screens on windows.

Thank anniestravelreviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

my room was nice, though right above a noisy pub. Amenities were nice, very helpful staff, nice sized rooms. Kitchen was small, not the good for large groups. One of my friends had poorly vetted Roomates, who did not abide by hostel policy. Great location...More

Thank Valery S
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 18 January 2018

Hi Valery - thanks for the feedback and sorry your friend had a disappointing experience. Whilst hostel's are communal accommodation, no one should be uncomfortable, so if this ever happens again at a YHA, please ask to chat to the manager and they'll try and...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

The room was crowded, warm, smelly and stuffy and needed more ventilation. The bed however, was comfortable and clean and service was great. Not for me I'm afraid, but the individual bathrooms were a nice touch that would keep many a back packer happy!

Thank PLVine
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The good first: It is centrally located, clean bathrooms and clean rooms with good space and hangers. Friendly staff. The bad: The smallest and uncomfortable kitchen ever. Refrigerator, no freezer. The WORST: The bar on the first floor playing loud music every single night won't...More

Thank Lggcf
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 5 October 2017

Hi - we are sorry that you were disturbed during the evening of your stay. We will have a chat with the bar about the music level with your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Hobart.

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Visited here on August 1st intending to start our adventure of Tasmania although we had no real plan. The woman at check in was incredible and although we arrived at 10am we were checked into our dorm and had already organised trips and possible day...More

Thank James M
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 14 August 2017

Hi James - thrilled that you had a great time staying with us. Birthdays should always be special :-) Hope the rest of Tasmania lived up to your expectations and hope to see you again sometime.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345619
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
USD 54 - USD 135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 54 - USD 135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
17darjeeling
27 October 2014|
Answer
Response from Shane N | Reviewed this property |
Hmmm you shouldn't have any problems calling unless its out of hours? There is usually someone on the front desk all night if that's when you call? Good luck!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"my women's 4 person dorm was above the pub, other womens dorm was up more stairs"
Read review
"Talk to the staff, they know the area best and can help organise free or paid trips"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"Ask for one that's not above the pub. I don't know if there are any though."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing