We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hobart Central YHA

Save
Share
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Overview
9 Argyle St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
13
30
40
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
13
30
40
17
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noisy at night common areas city centre within walking distance perfect location battery point waterfront salamanca australia
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hostel in a private room. The room faced the main road making it very noisy. The room was tiny. The shared bathroom was horrible, no covered bin for sanitary disposal which meant it also smelled very bad and the sink and...More

Thank Garima B
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Garima - we are very disappointed that you had a poor stay as that is not representative of YHA. We are investigating the issues you have raised so we can do better.

Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few hostels and accommodation places around the world and this is one I would not return to in a hurry. The staff are friendly, facilities are OK but the location, whilst central, does not lend itself to a good nights...More

Thank MarkHeyink
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 18 July 2018

Hi Mark, thanks for your feedback. This hostel is in the city centre, so there is some surrounding noise. On the up side, it is one block from the harbour and two blocks from Salamanca Markets, so hard to get much closer to all the...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018

The hostel is well-located, in the heart of the CBD, near the Docks and Salamanca place. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, with heaters for winter. Bathrooms were also clean and showers had hot water (which is not always the case…). The...More

Thank laulalex
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Stayed in a self contained room here that wasn't really any cheaper than the average lower end motel in Australia but what makes this place good is that it is very well located. There are a range of the main attractions of Hobart with a...More

1  Thank Paul L
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Paul - we are pleased that you enjoyed the hostel. It is certainly convenient to being able to walk to all the main sights in central Hobart and most of the day tours to places like Port Arthur leave from just down the street....More

Reviewed 10 April 2018

Hostel is located right in the heart of the CBD, so a very central location. Staff are really lovely and accommodating, even was lucky enough to be upgraded to a 2 bed dorm for 3 out of the 4 nights I stayed. Hostel is clean...More

Thank crunchierach
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Hobart Central YHAResponded 13 April 2018

Hi - sorry that you had issues with the room cards, but glad you enjoyed your stay in Hobart. We are in the middle of upgrading our room entry technology to newer systems - it just takes a while as we have a lot of...More

View more reviews
About
Description
This very centrally located YHA hostel will help you enjoy the sights of Hobart. Walk to the harbour and Salamanca. Choice of multi-share and private rooms. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
63
Price range
USD 65 - USD 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hobart Central YHA Tasmania
Location
Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
63
Price range
USD 65 - USD 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hobart Central YHA Tasmania
Location
Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Photos
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 nearby hotels
Mantra Collins Hotel
1,505 reviews
.11 km away
Quest Savoy
473 reviews
.16 km away
Central Hotel Hobart
129 reviews
.20 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
5,309 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 674 nearby restaurants
Lark Distillery Whisky Bar
288 reviews
.16 km away
Hope & Anchor Tavern
449 reviews
.12 km away
Franklin Restaurant Bar
499 reviews
.03 km away
Kopitiam Singapore Cafe
106 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 326 nearby attractions
Mawson's Hut Replica Museum
936 reviews
.18 km away
Lark Distillery
278 reviews
.14 km away
Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery
1,189 reviews
.09 km away
Theatre Royal
182 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
minhduongngocnhat
22 June 2018|
Answer
Response from OhhHeyy-ItsMel | Reviewed this property |
You can definitely check out early, you just put your sheets in the basket which is near reception and slide your room key under the door as the reception desk isn’t open until like 8am I think from memory (I had to do this... More
0
Votes
17darjeeling
27 October 2014|
Answer
Response from Shane N | Reviewed this property |
Hmmm you shouldn't have any problems calling unless its out of hours? There is usually someone on the front desk all night if that's when you call? Good luck!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms on the top floor seem to be quiet but they may be difficult if you have heavy baggage"
74autumnd
10 Mar. 2018
Read review
"my women's 4 person dorm was above the pub, other womens dorm was up more stairs"
valerys289
15 Jan. 2018
Read review
"Talk to the staff, they know the area best and can help organise free or paid trips"
jamesmI5278UZ
5 Aug. 2017
Read review
"Book early"
748barb
9 Jan. 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing