We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Great location in Battery point, with a good bar and restaurant downstairs. Rooms are basic but do the job. Staff on the premises are very friendly. Free parking out the back and close to great restaurants like Da Angelos next door and Salamanca is a 5 min walk down the road. I paid about $100 a night which included a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJG33
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back if you venture to Hobart again. Kind regards, Megan

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Have stayed here a few times. This is in a great location at the top of the stairs to Salamanca Place. Very convenient to get to the Market and Constitution Dock. Walking distance to Muirs, The Drunken Admiral and numerous restaurants and seafood outlets. The accommodation is old and needs a spruce up but the bed was comfortable and portable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Thx Aaron for the great beer in the best glasses, friendly pub that made us welcome . Great staff. Fantastic position close to everything and live music on the weekends. Good feeds at a great price and beers went down nice. Weekend stop over in Hobart. Thx POW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yaapeet
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the kind words! So glad you enjoyed your time at The Prince. The staff here are our biggest asset. Hope to see you back. Megan Childress

Bendigo
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Service fantastic as is food AND price. $10 for T-bone steak chips and salad! No room in bar for counter meal so we were allowed to dine in the restaurant for the same price. Lovely waitress, nothing too much trouble. Live band, nice atmosphere. Will definitely go there again and will probably stay there next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We didn't stay there but had a great meal there, staff were very friendly,meals were well priced , within walking distance to Salamanca and CBD would eat there again! great little hotel with a great atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie t
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel in Hobart. The rooms are stuffy with central aircon not working. Even though it was cold outside, the room waz quite hot and stuffy. The entire hotel smells of stale alcohol including the carpets and the linen. The toilet was so smelly like it had never been cleaned and we were expected to get drinking water from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reshma N
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reshma, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, if you would have mentioned any of this while you were here, we could have offered solutions. If the room was stuffy with it being cold outside, I'd recommend opening the windows or using the fan that is located in the cupboard. Also, it is a bar/hotel, which...

Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Prince of Wales for a week as I had started a new job but had not moved to Hobart yet. I found the room very adequate for my stay and was neat and clean. They provide the things for a light breakfast for in room dining. I also enjoyed a meal that was well prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CC_N_AU
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, I'm glad we provided a nice start to your stay in Hobart. Hope to see you around in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards, Megan

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Excellent location, very reasonably priced, and basic but comfortable room. Pillows were pretty shocking in our room tho- hard and flat. Our shower leaked, but we told the staff on the way out, so hopefully it will be fixed- sad to waste a precious resource. Staff are great- nothing is too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzsunriseQld
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel location is excellent and the rooms are old but still reasonably well kept. The biggest issue for us was that the hotel rooms are directly over the restaurant and bar and have very little sound proofing. If you want to enjoy a loud cover band from the comfort of your room, you will be pleased, but if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt l
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed in the Kelly Suite over Thursday/Good Friday. Excellent value for location: only gripe is the poor water pressure in the shower. Generous continental breakfast: toast/fruit salad/condiments. Prime parking. Close proximity to Salamanca markets/Pollen tea room/Jackman&McRoss bakery. Room away from pub so fairly peaceful except for party from a residential house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwim0z
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KiwimOz, Thank you for taking the time for review us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Megan Childress Licensee

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#34 of 46 in Hobart
83 reviews
1.6 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
121 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
327 reviews
1.5 km away
The Marquis Hotel Motel
The Marquis Hotel Motel
#30 of 46 in Hobart
50 reviews
0.6 km away
Blue Hills Motel
Blue Hills Motel
#44 of 46 in Hobart
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hobart's historic Battery Point, The Prince of Wales Hotel has twelve 3 star en-suite rooms, an 80 seat restaurant and a modern popular bar. Suitable for all travelers wanting a central location within easy walking distance of Hobart's main attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: 55 Hampden Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $82 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hobart
Prince Of Wales Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The east facing rooms have access to balconies.”
kane42, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 21 and its cool at night if you open the window, but it may be noisy since there are tables outside downstairs”
216shuyiw, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any room not facing the street outside the pub unless you don't mind noise.”
meghnag2014, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room or the bar noise will intrude on the weekends.”
BL1947, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Farthest from the bar might reduce noise from bar and cars a little.”
MOUMAR09, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5