We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 636: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We found this Hotel to be very convenient with location. Room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.The only thing I can complain about was that when I ordered the Vegetable Tart for dinner their was hardly any vegetables in the tart it was mostly potato, but apart from that everything else was good.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Nancy F, Thank you for those kind words. Our housekeeping team does a great job and I am glad this is being recognised by our guests. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed at BEST WESTERN Hobart for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute whilst at the hotel. We had breakfast included in our price and were greeted with a great buffet breakfast every morning. Obviously management are improving the property from what it was as confirmed speaking to staff. The restaurant and bar areas are in excellent condition due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy0970
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Sandy0970, Thank you for the glowing review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a family room. Most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on at a motel!! Highly recommend! Breakfast & dinner Excellent. Staff friendly & helpful. Also was able to check in early at 11am.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJO24
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear NJO24, Thank you for the compliments; we always try to allow guests a complimentary early check in if we can and I am pleased we were able to do this for you. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Booked here for an overnight stay as had stayed here many years before and like it. This time was the same. The front desk are professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and fresh.The only issue i had this time was being in a room close to the street corner and on first level i heard the pedestrian lights every...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Julie H, I am glad we were able to welcome you back and that you had a nice meal in our refurbished restaurant. Come back soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Lavington, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We spent one night at the Best Western Hobart and we were very impressed by the location, cleanliness and value for money. We had booked a standard room but upon arriving we were offered an upgrade to an executive room to include breakfast, car parking and 2 complimentary drinks from the bar for just $45 which we considered to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Alan B, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our popular upgrade package, which we think is great value. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 9 September 2014 via mobile

Was booked in here by the defence force for an interview and was very impressed, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and modern, there was some traffic noise but thats to be expected so close to the city. Also ate in the restaurant the food was delicious and service was reasonably fast, thanks for an enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellbell19
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Shellbell19, Thanks for those kind words; I hope you passed the interview and got the job. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced and our package included a hot buffet breakfast. Beds were very comfortable and clean. Reception Staff excellent and very friendly. Parking reasonably priced at just $10 overnight. Happy with our stay. Short walk to shops and harbour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mixedtraveller
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mixedtraveller, I am glad we ticked all the boxes for you; hoping to see you again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night with my husband we had dinner at the Restaurant. Ordered 2 meals. After a 45 minute wait we finally got our meals. I ordered a Risotto with chicken and bacon and my husband had the Pot pie which was pulled pork. The risotto was a serving of STEAMED or BOILED rice, not a risotto. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TripStar1969
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear TripStar1969, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant and I will be discussing your feedback in detail with our head chef. The restaurant manager did the right thing in removing the risotto from the bill; we will never charge if a guest is unhappy with what we have presented. Our breakfast is very...

Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Few issues on check in.. allocated a room with no beds. ... quickly rectified by front office staff. Also tried to charge us for 3 nights when reservation only for 1 night. good location just a couple of blocks from the city centre. On main road so significant noise in our room. Rooms very clean. Bathrooms/balconies dated but clean. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian G
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Sian G, Thank you for your comments which we have taken on board. Parking is always at a premium in a central CBD location such as ours and we continue to work at making it as convenient as possible for our guests. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We came to the hotel for a conference and had intended to tour around Tasmania after the conference but enjoyed our stay so much we extended our stay for another 5 nights. All the staff are friendly & helpful and nothing is too much. New beds are fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Dave S, I think it’s great that we caused you to extend your stay in Hobart; it’s a great place for an extended visit. Come back and see us all again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
2.4 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $137 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on the south west end (Barrack St) for quieter rooms, as Harrington St (north east) has much more traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kepsimax, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for something that has had an upgrade done”
 of 5 bubbles 81darryla, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cracked basin should be fixed”
 of 5 bubbles barbarahO9501IY, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“shop around and pre book”
 of 5 bubbles workboots, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not on the street, if possible”
 of 5 bubbles jtbeknott, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5