We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Show Prices
#9 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,422: English reviews
Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2015

The Old Woolstore is a great place to stay. Right in the centre of Hobart close to the CBD, and the rooms were just gorgeous. The staff were so friendly and the buffet breakfast was perfect for me. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DemiRae
Brisbane
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The Old Woolstore may not be 'boutique' but it gave that impression because of the good, personal, service provided. Our trip was conference driven, so there were some corporate events during our stay. These were well-catered for in terms of both food and service. We had a problem with their free WiFi, which was sorted by their technician who didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheGadflyBrisbane
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in a 2 bedroom apartment. Spacious, super clean apartment. Fully self contained. The mattress, very hard. Only thing negative. Quick check in and out. Had rm service the night of, which was amazing! Ordered breakky - hmmmm could definitely be improved. Would certainly come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K_LondonRose
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was nice for what it was, the basic hotel room. good location nice and close to the shopping centres and the he buffet breakfast was a great finish to the stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bronson K
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bronson K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving such kind words of our staff after your stay! Pleasing to hear you found the hotel room comfortable and thanks for the mention of our location, certainly handy for those who wish to explore on foot. Hope to see you again. Cheers, Sophie

Jaipur, India
Reviewed 11 October 2015

The best part was the washing machine and drier so that we could wash and dry all our cloths before proceeding for the next phase of our journey that we had used during previous nine days visit to other parts of Australia. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The accessories provided for the kitchenet were good. The location of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RajHuns
Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here many of times, and always receive wonderful service from all staff members. This specific reception was hands down the best i have ever received, elouise who checked me in went beyond all expectations, the room i was booked into wasnt ready so i was upgraded straight away, with no hassle even though they had to move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi S, Thanks for staying with us on your recent visit to Hobart, it's always lovely to hear from a return guest. Our reception team take pride in all work and it's so nice to read your expectations were exceeded on arrival when Eloise checked you in. I will be sure to pass these kind comments on to her! S,...

Hay, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A great find in Hobart, walking distance to everything we wanted. Spacious and well appointed rooms - also not too expensive. Reception staff were really friendly - good free parking also available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Deb C, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thanks for your lovely words on our accommodation and friendly staff. Hope to see you again! Cheers, Sophie

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Easy to find with ok parking. Rooms were fantastic (only complaint was the bar fridge was really loud and no microwave) Would recommend others to stay here especially if you can get the rooms cheap enough. Walking distance to other great food venues, attractions and Salamanca.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belinda S, Thanks for your wonderful 5 star review! We do call our location convenient with ease of access from the CBD, the airport and if coming from the North, great to hear you had no trouble finding us and enjoyed the free parking. Sounds like you were in a hotel room with standard mini bar, tea/ coffee and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Recently spent 4 nights here as part of a conference group. My experience was mixed: Pros - large room! With desk. - extremely comfortable bed! - quiet and good sleep - friendly and professional service - provided toiletries (shampoo etc) were very nice! - Hotel buffet breakfast was great, but expensive. Nice variations on the traditional Cons -Wifi was terrible,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darren W
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Darren, Thanks for choosing to stay with us during the conference you attended and we appreciate your honest feedback. Great to read you were impressed with the spacious rooms as well as the lovely bathroom amenities, they are very popular! Thanks for your comments on the breakfast, we feel the offering provides value for guests with the hot and...

Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We were in a studio apartment which was not only big and comfortable but also well-equipped with a hotplate, microwave oven, toaster, as well as a washing machine and dryer. The location is ideal, very near Salamanca Place. The best part is the free parking! The front desk people are very efficient and pleasant. I would particularly like to mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalpana2012

468 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (179)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Hotel Room (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (35)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
1,170 reviews
0.8 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 46 in Hobart
530 reviews
0.9 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Stockmans Restaurant
Stockmans Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $168 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Tea Gardens, New South Wales, Australia
over a year ago
Fullerton

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are amazingly quiet for being on a busy street”
 of 5 bubbles Lightech, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Reconfirm if it is two ensuites apartment or not.”
  • 2 Bedrooms apartment
  • 2 Bedrooms apartment
 of 5 bubbles 135dl2016, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a studio away from the traffic side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 360dianeh, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room at the rear if you're concerned about street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles shipshape2014, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we went for the studio with kitchenette. also has normal rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 144andreah, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5