We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Desert Cave Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Desert Cave Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of Desert Cave Hotel
 Click to rate
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Billed as 'best place to go in Coober Pedy' we booked a table at the Desert Cave Hotel Restaurant for a 'special' dinner during our trip to the Australian outback. After a very long wait (not sure why as they were not at all busy) we were presented with food on cold plates with tepid contents. It was quite expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve M
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Sorry it didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Our chefs and service team usually receive high praise for the work they do. We'll discuss what went wrong on this occasion as a team and continue to improve where we can. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for the staying underground experience - which was good and I imagine in the height of summer would be very cool! We found staying underground a bit stuffy - all we wanted to do was open a window (and of course you cant!) Staff were friendly enough however the poor woman at reception had trouble understanding and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LHPhot
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LHPhot, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Sorry to read the room felt stuffy. Glad to hear the staff were friendly. We are training a delightful young girl in reception who has come a long way with her English. Sorry you had some communication issues with her levels of understanding. We're working through...

Dubai
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

stay 2 nights at desert cave hotel, room lovely and clean friendly staff and very helpful. had evening meal there what was fantastic very nice waiter who was very attentive. This was luxury as we had been camping for about 8 weeks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank margeretd2015
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear margeretd2015, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Always nice to take a break from camping, especially after 8 weeks. Will pass on your comments to the team. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Sanctuary Point, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Clean rooms very large. The do have underground rooms but i like a balcony. The underground caves home to a bar. Pool room.opal shops Restaurant upstairs and a swimming pool to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brock P
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brock P, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us. Glad to read you enjoyed the above ground rooms and got to experience our other facilities. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Kadina, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Like Long John silver & "Treasure Island we are forever returning hoping to find a "GEM QUALITY OPAL" by 'noodling' on the dumps of old mines. To sleep in an underground mine transformed in-to a modern hotel is a very special experience, imagine your sleep completely un-disturbed in your room deep below the ground where the constant temperature remain the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fhjensen2016
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fhjensen2016, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you enjoyed the underground room experience. Sounds like you've ticked a few boxes on experiences in the town as well. Best of luck with the Opal search in the noodling pits! They have been found before.... Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

An experience to sleep in a room carved in rock. Most of the hotel rooms don't need AC as it is naturally cool enough although outside temperatures reach plus 40 C. The swimming pool is a very pleasant addition and the restaurant is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verberckt D
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Verberckt D, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is quite a unique experience sleeping underground. Glad to read you enjoyed the pool and our restaurant Umberto's. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Melbourne
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

On first appearance it looks very impressive and does seem to be one of the nicest places in town however ...... our underground room felt damp the bed sheets also felt damp , they were old pink and green stripes and felt rough like they were pilling . Our room opens to the outside and was hot with only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellya_84
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kellya_84, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry we seemed to have missed the mark on this occasion. We have however, discussed your review at length with the team and have made some positive changes since. Glad to read you enjoyed the Cafe. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

More comfortable than the sister hotel Opal, underground rooms are huge with huge bathrooms and excellent amenities. Watch out if you are claustrophobic as it us truly underground - no windows so it is dark at night with lights out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasa G
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasa G, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Happy to read you enjoyed the underground room experience. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

I could not stay in Coober long ; hotel very comfortable ; staff very friendly ; there is a nice pool though surrounds could be a bit tidier and some lounges would be good; big disappointment was arriving after 9pm and all restaurants were closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette O
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernadette O, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Happy to read the hotel was comfortable and staff very friendly. Unfortunately during the summer months most restaurants in town would struggle with costs of staying open after 9pm when there's not many travelers about. If you're ever passing through this way again late, give us...

Victoria
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The room was comfy and spacious. The room was lovely and cool but we did use the fan for air flow. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly. The room next to us were pretty noisy and it almost felt like the walls were too thin. The tv was great and phone signal down in the room was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelesY8776YC
DCH_Management, Manager at Desert Cave Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michelesY8776YC, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great a review on your stay with us. Always happy to read comments like clean, staff friendly, shower pressure good and fair price. All things we strive to achieve. Sorry about the noisy neighbors. Glad you enjoyed breakfast in our Cafe as well. Happy travels! Matt Coxon

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.0 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
176 reviews
1.0 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
239 reviews
0.5 km away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
113 reviews
2.0 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: $161 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy
Desert Cave Hotel Coober Pedy, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Desert Cave Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Desert Cave Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet as the grave underground, "MUST TRY"”
fhjensen2016, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't expect anything but strange”
337millicentr, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It was a bit of a gimmick to stay in the underground room but for an extra $10 now I have been there and done that :)”
brucelogan79, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the underground rooms are comfy all year around. Above ground is air conditioned”
W295MHpatricias, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an underground room.”
senakew2016, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5