We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Great clean and friendly hotel for a stay in the city CBD. hotel doesn't offer parking but has a good off street drop off and pick up point. The staff are friendly and very helpful. the rooms were clean and tidy and mine was particularly spacious. Tucked away on the laneway side of the hotel it was also very quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Reviewed 1 September 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend. Staying in a Spa room was lovely. It was clean, had everything we needed except maybe bubble bath for the Spa. Maybe time for an update, but we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annelee L
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I have to say I was a bit unsure when booking this hotel but decided the cost for a twin of $100 for the night was too good to pass. My thought was at least it will be close to the city. What a pleasant surprise I got - I checked in earlier than the designated tome and the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank warefamily
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I was please to read that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Was in town for a quick business trip, had the night here. Nice welcome reception area on arrival but no receptionist, didn't have to wait long. Room was neat and tidy and staying on the 5th floor meant I didn't get any street noise. Had a nice pleasant breakfast in the morning, would stay here again for work. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarsm
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated and we welcome your feedback.

Reviewed 25 August 2015

The last time we stayed here in May the stay was lovely. That is why on our latest trip we chose the hotel. Major disappointment. The rooms were still big and clean but everytime we left the room we couldn't get back in as the card would not work. Very annoying having to go back down to the desk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. We appreciate the comments we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

In town for business & booked in to this Hotel. Great rooms, service & location. Highly recommend for business or pleasure. Location is extremely convenient. Rooms are clean & very comfortable. Restaurant on site which has a good range of options & price ranges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package deal at the end of a trip on the Ghan train from Darwin. Our stay was uneventful and on the whole very pleasant. We were disappointed that we were not given the rooms that we had booked, next door to our travelling partners. We were advised that our booked room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
SalesAdelaide, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further should you wish. Please feel free to contact myself Ruth Jones on 8112 8888. Thank you again.

Glenelg, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Only stayed the one night while attending a conference at another venue. Booked a suite which was a good price and a very comfortable room with a lovely King size bed. Very good shower and good size bathroom. Room had lovely big windows as well, very Parisian feel. Overall a very good stay and no problem staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robbie0101
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Large comfortable rooms, great service and brilliant location. Would stay here again. One sort of complaint would be the issue to Parking. Parking is provided in the Wilson Carpark at Hindley street, however there is two car parks on the street which was bit confusing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Had a party in town so decided to stay here - was a good location; so central to everything, was quiet, comfortable and clean. Quick and easy book in and check out - just a really nice stay for a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (72)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen (28)
Viewed
Executive King (35)
Viewed
Executive King Spa Room (38)
Viewed
Executive One Bedroom Suite (33)
Viewed
Executive Twin (26)
Viewed
Pool and Jacuzzi (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.5 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
1,169 reviews
0.6 km away
Adelaide Rockford
Adelaide Rockford
#21 of 58 in Adelaide
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quest on King William
Quest on King William
#18 of 58 in Adelaide
411 reviews
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.1 km away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Housed in a nearly 100 year old Neo-Georgian style building, The Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie stands proud as a beacon of Adelaide’s culture and history. Located in the heart of the CBD, our guests have the pleasure of immersing themselves into the food and wine renaissance our vibrant city is experiencing. With a doorstep on the emerging cosmopolitan laneway that is Gilbert Place, a short walk from our 4 star hotel will take you to attractions like Adelaide Oval, Rundle Mall, The Festival Theatre, The Convention Centre, Adelaide Central Markets and Adelaide Casino. Our knowledgeable and dedicated front office team are available 24 hours a day to help you tailor your stay to suit your needs perfectly. The Hotel Grand Chancellor on Currie is committed to providing top quality guest services in a peaceful, homely setting, with all the conveniences of being located in a world class destination. With Leigh Street, Peel Street and Gilbert Place on our doorstep, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie sits at the focal point of Adelaide’s great food and wine renaissance. With an emerging sense of community and a focus on local produce, the city of Adelaide has become a smorgasbord of art and culture for even the most discerning guest. With South Australia recently being named in the top tourist spots of the world, the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie is in the prefect location to take advantage of everything this great state has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie

Address: 18 Currie St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: $110 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide On Currie South Australia
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
warsaw
3 months ago
Adelaide, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for what you need- they will guide you well.”
 of 5 bubbles 394theresac, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Apparently floor 5 is the better level.”
 of 5 bubbles PKSerl, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try another hotel.”
  • Not A Lot Of Room For Personal Effects
 of 5 bubbles DL390, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Coming back late ? There is a side door tucked away to the r/h side of the main doors which opens with your pass.”
 of 5 bubbles 702kevinj, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have a request don't feel you cant ask - very helpful staff”
 of 5 bubbles 320briat, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5