We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Backpack OZ

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Backpack OZ
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Backpack OZ
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five days in Adelaide. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay here. The hostel was functional, in a well located place; just five minutes walk to the main high streets of Adelaide. The kitchen was well maintained and well stocked, if a little small. Breakfast was good too and Is free. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieLWinstanley
BackpackOz, Manager at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Backpack OZ. We understand your concerns about the bathrooms. Yes they are cleaned to an inch of their life each and every single day, but they are slightly dated and we are looking at some renovations in the not too distant future. Worst you've seen...

Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Nice backpackers. Very clean and affordable. I enjoyed my stay. The only issue I had was with other some of the backpackers who were intoxicated and the extremely rude staff members. Not all of the staff were rude but some were. In the real world of hospitality you would never behave the way Sam the manager did. I felt bullied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MK-5487313
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We are sorry you had a negative experience with Sam the manager. Please email us directly so we can discuss what situaution you had. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Reviewed 20 September 2016

So, I booked 3 nights at this hostel after reading the mostly positive reviews. While the hostel is clean and has decent facilities, the deal breaker for me was the loud music that kept pounding away till midnight. Having just landed in Adelaide, all I wanted to do was sleep at a reasonable hour. While I don't mind some amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjana100
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Sounds like you experienced hostel life on a Saturday night. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Dublin
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Nice place very clean. Staff nice and friendly. Place is really easy going vibe which is always nice when travelling. Free breakfast of toast and cereal. Tea and coffee available throughout the day. There is a little bar which is nice and free pool table. Movies free to rent and watch in the hang out area. We arrived maybe 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bananajen
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Backpack Oz is an easy walk from the bus station, and a good location for exploring the sites of the city. Shared toilet/showers are kept well cleaned and are usually available when needed. My room was quiet (a rarity in hostels), although a bit chilly. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the common room is a comfortable place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetreatForward
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming and friendly. The staff were happy to book tours and go through a map with me so I could take in some of the highlights of the quaint city during my short stay. Important Note: There is a AU$20 deposit for the room key, which is given back on return of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandervos
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review Hi and thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. Happy travels Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I originally stayed at Backpack Oz many moons ago when the owner Judy was running it. Her son Sam is now at the helm and is doing just as good a job. The staff are always friendly and informative and the place is clean and homely. Definately worth staying at when you head over to Radelaide.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MamaMarnieMoo
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Jude has not been here for at least 15 years but its good know her son Sam is keeping up the high standards. Kind regards Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Savona, Italy
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Excellent staff and real a good hostel & Guesthouse with a lot of free service as bike, BBQ , good breakfast and cleaned rooms. Located in good position , close to amazing city area, this quiete hostel is fully recommendable for long stay also!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucianoferro61
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Safe and happy travels! Kind regards Backpack OZ and the Guest House

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I wanted to love it, but...I stayed 2 nights in the main hostel and a separate night in The Guesthouse. Overall everything on the ground floor of the main hostel was pretty great. There's a nice open common area, the bar has cheap (and very drinkable) beer and wine, and the kitchen was clean and in pretty good shape, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlATC
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback. Happy and safe travels Kind regards Backpack OZ and the Guest House

Narrogin, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Nice hostel not too far from the main attractions of Adelaide. Clean and with breakfast included. Hot shower were really nice. They offer as well free bike rental. Staff a bit unfriendly with no long term people. Quiet hostel, not a party one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miky444
BackpackOz, Owner at Backpack OZ, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you thought the staff where unfriendly. Next time please mention this to the manager so we can sort out any problems. Kind regards Backpack OZ and the Guest House

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Adelaide
996 reviews
0.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
1,169 reviews
0.8 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
802 reviews
0.4 km away
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
#17 of 55 in Adelaide
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be smart and don't just got for a hostel with the lowest rate - you get what you pay for! Are you looking for a hostel where you feel welcome to relax and just hang out if you want a break? Where there are activities so you can meet people and make new friends? Where you don't feel as though you are putting your hand in your pocket every 5 minutes? Where the staff are happy to give you free advice about what to do in Adelaide (not just sell you an expensive tour)? Backpack Oz is a family owned and operated business that enjoys a great reputation - and not just because of the free Tuesday night BBQ dinner and daily Happy Hour ($3.50 beers)! All rooms and common areas have A/C, and kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned daily (and we mean really clean - check the ratings)! We have a fantastic city location - walk to cafe/pub districts, Central Market and CBD! Our free WiFi is super fast and we have a light & bright dining & common room with big screen TV. Free pick ups and drop offs to bus and train stations are available (not airport and conditions apply). Our staff are super well trained and really want you to enjoy your stay and make the most of Adelaide! We hope you choose to stay with us and leave with fond memories of both Adelaide and Backpack Oz. Cheers! Sam, Penny & Tom Twelftree *Reception is open from 6.00am till 10.00pm. You must check in prior to 10.00pm or we can not accept your booking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpack OZ

Address: 144 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: $25 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpack OZ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Backpack OZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpack OZ Adelaide, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpack OZ staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Backpack OZ staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for rooms away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Sanjana100, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“High floors!!”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Every room is nice, and has its own cooler (Aircon)”
 of 5 bubbles Wizo2014, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“most rooms are overlooking the road as it is situated on a corner”
 of 5 bubbles ianvillaboy, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“"The cave" has 12 beds, all other rooms 3-6 and it's super clean and relaxed everywhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Philipp791, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5