YHA Adelaide Central
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

YHA Adelaide Central

135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Traveller (131)
Bright clean and spacious rooms
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 13 hostels in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Free Wifi • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, communal dinners, city walks, pub nights and more • YHA Adelaide Central is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, and shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts • stay in a co-living room or private room • cook in the kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine • the huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Vending machine
Game room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 5 more

Location

135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Adelaide Airport
418Reviews5Q+A32Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 196
  • 179
  • 33
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Gilbert Q wrote a review Aug 2022
Manila, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a 4-bedroom dorm and I felt the room was cozy! It wasn't too big or too small, and the hostel provided clean sheets and a comforter. The hostel also had free wifi and free pancakes (need to cook yourself) every morning. My stay was great also because I had the good fortune of having good roommates. All the staff have been nothing but helpful too! I also liked this hostel because it was close to many tourist sites and modes of transportation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zaphroit wrote a review Apr 2022
Half Moon Bay, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A good cheap hostel in a great location. The place good use some maintenance as both the mens and womens bathroom ld had leaky showers that were running nonstops. Otherwise the staff were friendly and the place was safe and secure with a good vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fjyhant wrote a review Feb 2021
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked a private room for one night which was very comfortable, clean and well presented! The hostel itself is spacious and modern and the bathrooms are well maintained. It’s a very quiet hostel which suited us as we are not a fan of ‘party hostels’.The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly, I cannot fault them!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ wrote a review Jan 2022
Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a private room (with shared bathroom) at the YHA in early January for 5 nights. It is in a fantastic location, very quiet and close to everything you need in the CBD and buses to and from the airport. My room was clean, with ample storage, a comfy bed with nice bedding and air conditioning. The staff were welcoming and friendly, providing suggestions on what to do and storing my luggage upon check in and check out. The reason I have given 3 stars is that the bathrooms are in serious need of upgrading. They are old, moudly and felt dirty - if I was to stay again, I would book an ensuite room. There were a few stains on the floor in my room and only one set of outlets (way across from the bed which was a pain when charging my phone at night). I think if they upgraded the bathrooms and made a few thoughtful changes to the rooms, it would be a 5 star spot to stay on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy M wrote a review July 2023
Perth, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a bottom bunk 2 weeks in advance explained my disability and that could not sleep in a top bunk.
When I arrived all the bottom bunks had been taken. I was made to sleep on a sofa in the TV room. I was not given a blanket or pillow. Nor a refund in the morning. I was offered a refund at 11.30pm to stay where.
When asked about my treatment I was informed it is not there problem
Would not recommend this establishment to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't stay here if you have a disability. Treated poorly by morning staff. Night staff tried to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adelaide Central, Other at YHA Adelaide Central
Responded 1 Aug 2023
Hi Cathy, Thank you for your review below and apologies for the delay in responding. As discussed with you personally during your stay with us, we try our very best to reserve a bottom bunk bed as and when it is available. However, in your case we didn't have any available bottom bunk beds unfortunately hence the inconvenience. We did assist you by letting you stay in our common area that night and early next day we offered a refund that you happily accepted. Please let us know if there is anything else we can be of assistance to you. Many Thanks, Fraser
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pixie6 wrote a review Feb 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner & I stayed here for a week & although the facilities were good - the atmosphere was far from it.
The reception staff where very friendly and helpful, can’t be faulted. However the long term guests, who also worked as kitchen staff, were the opposite. They gave the impression you were invading their space by being there. There was quite a close knight circle of long term guests, that certainly did not make you feel welcome or try to engage anyone at all. Social nights were advertised but never actually happened, & I feel this is due to the long term guests & not making enough effort. If you are looking for a social hostel, this is not the one for you. Other than that, bedrooms, toilets, communal area & kitchen were clean and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Adelaide Central
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Hi Pixie - this is disappointing to hear as our team hopes every guest has a great time staying with us. Hostels are communal places so it is much better when people are open to meeting lots of new friends from around the world. We are reviewing our activities program to make sure they are happening as that's one of our favourite things at Adelaide Central. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MickG wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights in the Central YHA with two young kids and everyone had a really nice stay. It's an excellent example of how a youth hostel should be run. Comfortable rooms, plenty of kitchen facilities, TV rooms, book exchange, pool, ping-pong, foosball. Overall there was a good atmosphere of backpackers and travelers talking and hanging out. Thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be facing the street but it was quiet especially over night.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drex_ZW wrote a review Mar 2020
Doha, Qatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Large hostel, free pancakes for breakfast was good. Staff were friendly. Bit of a hike to get there from the airport if arriving late at night (but still only a bus ride and a walk). Comfy beds, nice showers.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pamela fritis wrote a review June 2023
Coquimbo, Chile
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All Okey best clean. it was a very good stay. the shared places are spacious and they are respectful of quiet hours.
spacious room. spacious kitchen with great storage space. They have luggage storage before check in
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler29958 wrote a review May 2004
New York, NY
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Adelaide Central YHA in March 2004. I chose a twin room for sole occupancy. Apart from a generally excellent presentation and keen staff, my room even had private facilities which I have never experienced in a backpacker hostel. Excellent value for money.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Tom W
Cairns, Australia44 contributions5 helpful votes
$4fir the wash $3 for the dry
Answer from Tanya S
14 contributions
Hi Katie Love the in depth inclusion of the Backpacker Industry to the tourism modules! Your questions are very broad so I can suggest the following resources: • Backpacker Fact Sheet produced by Tourism Research Australia and the latest IVS results at tourism.sa.gov.au • Interview backpackers • Australian and South Australian guide books and online blogs and reviews to see more about what backpackers are doing. You are also welcome to visit us to show you around and have a chat. Thanks! YHA
Answer from YHA_Backpacker
Sydney, Australia158 contributions
Hi - most of the larger hostels have lockers in all the multi share rooms - you just need to bring your own padlock. But you can also ask at reception for them to store any valuables in the hostel safe for you.
PEPITO B asked a question Sept 2018
Florence, Italy128 contributions61 helpful votes
La reception è aperta 24 ore su 24?
Cathy M wrote a tip July 2023
Perth, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here if you have a disability. Treated poorly by morning staff. Night staff tried to accommodate my needs. "
Read full review
MickG wrote a tip Apr 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms appeared to be facing the street but it was quiet especially over night."
Read full review
heather w wrote a tip June 2018
Brunswick Heads, Australia36 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms at the back overlook the car park very quiet maybe the front rooms could be a little noise looking onto the main road, not sure."
Read full review
Jonathan T wrote a tip Dec 2017
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom25 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms were excellent"
Read full review
Lech B.Kowalski, LLM wrote a tip May 2017
Warsaw, Poland324 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the Waymouth Street and the park seems to be better."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelaide area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$84 - AU$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adelaide central yha hotel adelaide
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
235
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YHA Adelaide Central (AU$84) - Hostel

Frequently Asked Questions about YHA Adelaide Central
Which popular attractions are close to YHA Adelaide Central?
Nearby attractions include The HandleBar Adelaide (0.4 km), Adelaide Central Market (0.5 km), and JamFactory (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at YHA Adelaide Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include laundry service, free internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at YHA Adelaide Central?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at YHA Adelaide Central?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at YHA Adelaide Central?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to YHA Adelaide Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georges, Peel Street, and Luigi Delicatessen.
Is YHA Adelaide Central located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Adelaide.
Are any cleaning services offered at YHA Adelaide Central?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at YHA Adelaide Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to YHA Adelaide Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Adelaide Oval (1.2 km), Carrick Hill (6.8 km), and General Post Office (0.4 km).
Is YHA Adelaide Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Adelaide HotelsAdelaide Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AdelaideHotels near YHA Adelaide Central
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars