Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Alba Adelaide

Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (31)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
AU$225
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#48 of 69 hotels in Adelaide
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The epitome of understated urban charm, this is the metropolitan moment you’ve been waiting for. Whether you’re checking in for a restful retreat or adventure awaits. A night in, or out on the town. All at once, you’re awash with bliss. That’s Hotel Alba Adelaide for you. It’s that hidden gem you can’t believe you were lucky enough to stumble upon. That feeling that this very moment is just how it should be. Everything is right in the world. Or at least this little corner of it.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:20% Off Hotel Alba Sale Now On. Book Direct & Save.
24Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Franci G wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 11 nights on a trip to Adelaide while husband was in hospital, I was so impressed with every aspect of this Hotel. The staff at reception were all lovely and so friendly and helpful, the room service staff were also very friendly and always serviced my room to a high standard.
I booked a park view room which had a balcony and although the hotel is on a main road it was very quiet of a night time. Parking is convenient at the rear of the Hotel, although not secured it is a quiet area of the city. The bed and pillows were super comfy and there is a nice modern compact bathroom. Tv with Youtube and Netflix which was great to have, coffee machine was an added bonus.
I checked out early and went to another place to be closer to my husband but that accommodation was so bad I re-booked back at the Alba, highly recommend this Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I liked the park view room, I found it to be very private and had a nice garden view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Thankyou for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Alba. Im so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us despite it being due to your husband being in hospital. I do hope he is recovering well. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you're in Adelaide (hopefully for leisure next time). Our restaurant, bar and pool area will be completed end of July. Samantha Farrington
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgie C wrote a review Jan 2023
Sydney, Australia71 contributions24 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for three nights at Hotel Alba while on a work trip and was very impressed. It's a new hotel, so while the restaurant and pool were still under renovation, the rooms were extremely modern and very well-equipped. My room was large, with a balcony overlooking the park, and a very comfortable bed. The staff were always very friendly when I was walking through the lobby, and I felt very welcome. It's a five min walk to the tram or about a twenty-minute walk to the main part of the city. Very quick trip to the airport, too! Lots of lovely cafes nearby, so even though you're not right in the middle of the CBD, you're not missing out on anything. I definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 19 Feb 2023
HI Georgie, Thankyou for your review, im so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so thrilled to bring Hotel Alba to the Adelaide market and look forward to opening our new restaurant and pool area mid year. Ill be sure to share your feedback with the team. We hope to see you again soon! Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HELEN OF NHILL wrote a review Feb 2024
Nhill, Australia277 contributions153 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation & location is excellent but the bathroom very tiny and the glass panel in the shower not extended enough as water tends to go all over the bathroom floor and seeps into the carpet of the room. Brought to the notice of delightful Maintenance man and he agreed the shower glass panel was far too small so moved me to another room on same floor opposite. Lovely rooms but bad design in bathrooms. There are no folders with info inside them which I like to read so I can venture out into this wonderful city of Adelaide. The Restaurant is another story and hideous menu especially for families who love the pool but there's nothing kiddy friendly on the menu nor is it an ideal menu for we adults. Ridiculous! We just don't eat there if we can help it. Too difficult to understand. We Aussies want plain good food but this is all in another one of those Chef's lingos. The property is a family Hotel and ideal but I spoke to one mother by the pool and she said they wouldn't stay again because other than the pool they have nothing else to offer her. She had to feed her kids at Fasta Pasta up on the corner or order in Uber. Now that is not good. I went in for breakfast and it's all on the menu for goodness sake. Guests have to walk up to the Terrace Hotel to have a Continental B'fast. I like to just walk down stairs and there's the breakfast. Sorry Chef, how about some improvement on the menu especially dinner at night as that was difficult enough to pick out what you wanted and you have ruined it for us to stay. One stage we walked out of restaurant as having stayed and worked at 5 Star Hotels this was very disappointing. -Helen of Nhill
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool is fabulous but the Menu at the Restaurant(s) weren't family friendly. Very disappointed...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Helen Thankyou for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your guest room and the hotel location. I note you have stayed with us on multiple occasions and have made your feelings regarding the menu known to our team. You have been quite expressive is your distaste for the offering making comments that the menu is "too Mediterranean" and you would prefer more simple options. You also expressed this to the Executive Chef on your last visit. The restaurant has been designed as a Mediterranean inspired dining concept, hence the Mediterranean style menu. We won't be changing this direction and have received high praise from other guests and the local community on the offering. Your comments regarding your inability to understand the menu are surprising as I have been informed that the team have gone through the menu in detail with you to explain it. The hotel offers a small children's menu which has been well received by other guests. For guests who wish to have alternative breakfast options we do offer The Terrace Hotel which provides a traditional buffet style option. I'm sorry to hear that because of your personal preference for dining options your stay was "ruined". Having worked in hotels as you like to point out you would know that you can't please 100% of people 100% of the time. There is a great pub around the corner which offers a more simple menu and traditional pub fare which you may prefer. I'm sorry we won't have the opportunity to welcome you back Helen but it sounds like we arent the hotel for you based on your review. Regards Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve Stefanopoulos wrote a review Apr 2023
Melbourne, Australia122 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The renovation of wonderful. The rooms are spacious with beautiful furniture and the bathroom is excellent. The hotel foyer was a pleasant welcome and the circular drive out front makes for a pleasant welcoming entrance for vehicles. The only down-side is that the walls are paper thin. You can clearly hear low level conversations between the rooms. Better acoustic treatment is needed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The pool and restaurant are yet to open (as of April 2023) Ask for a view over the parklands (south)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 19 May 2023
Hi Steve, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Im so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback on the rooms. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison W wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely, modern hotel. Everything is brand new. Lovely comfortable beds, rainfall showers, new smart TVs, hair dryers, irons and Nespresso coffee machines. The room was lovely. Private parking ant the rear of the venue is available for a reasonable fee.

Only (small) cons are that the balcony does not include furniture. It would be nice to have a small table and chair outside for guests.
The water from the shower sprays into the bathroom and hits the door/carpet in the hallway as there is only a half screen. Does not affect the guest screen experience (the shower was wonderful and clean) but may lead to water damage over time.

Dining:
Included breakfast includes a chose of 1 dish per person off the menu (barista made coffee and/or cold pressed juices included). Breakfast options were delicious with a lot to choose from.

Facilities:
Didn’t use the pool or gym room although both looked clean and inviting.

Hotel is in walking distance of everything in central Adelaide. Can highly recommend and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Hi Alison, Thankyou for sharing your experience with us. Im so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your feedback on some areas we can look into to enhance the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Adelaide's new urban retreat! Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crmpicco wrote a review Jan 2024
Rockingham, Australia59 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel. Food and rooms are great and the barmaid/waitress was friendly. The pool was ace and the facilities in general were hard to beat. The food and drink were really nice too. The staff came to take your order poolside and brought it to you. The location was ideal too - very close to the South Terrace tram stop which is in the free transit zone. Hard to fault it really, other than a bit of a lack of sun loungers. I’d argue they could have another column of loungers if the bunched them up a little. Also, the balconys don’t lock for some reason and the receptionist said they only had a skeleton key so it was either locked by maintenance or open. Seems like having a key in the door would solve this problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There aren’t many sun loungers at the pool. Getting down early is a good idea.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Hi Crmpicco, Thankyou for your review and for choosing to stay with Alba. Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and ill be sure to share your feedback with the team. We are looking at adding some additional sun lounges as they are hugely popular! Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveTravel821266 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have accidentally booked stay in January instead of February - my mistake. But hotel promptly charged me $190 for no show in January and refused to apply it to my stay in February. Then they stopped responding to me entirely. Yes, I've made a mistake - I was confused by the app interface which silently reverted from next month to the current month. But it is no reason for the hotel staff to put me into 'ignore' basket. Now I believe this experience allowed me to avoid their bad service. May be their rooms and location are OK but clearly you cannot expect them to help you if anything will go wrong. So err on side of caution and avoid Hotel Alba.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid - no customer service here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Found the hotel to be the perfect place to base ourselves for a few days while visiting family.
Positioned on South Terrace near the parklands was great for the kids with a playground across the road. Also nice and quiet but still in a convenient location.
Pool was amazing, reception staff were friendly and welcoming.
Restaurant staff were mostly as well but seemed to be a bit stretched at times when busy.
The food itself was great. Quite the variety of options that seemed heavy on the european influence - it matched in well with the theme of the hotel. Overall just good, simple, quality food done well, which was a nice change from the usual pub fare you get at most hotels. But if that's what you're after, there are plenty of pubs within walking distance.
The restaurant had a small kids menu available at dinner which was a great touch - just the standard items as you'd expect. Kids loved the pasta & beef burger the most. It was great that we were still able to enjoy a nice restaurant meal and still find something suitable for them to eat.
The room itself was very comfortable and spacious with a nice view of the city.
Overall it was a great first experience that we have already recommended to many. We will definitely be back when in town next. Thanks Hotel Alba! 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go down early for breakfast. We found it to be really busy later in the mornings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for choosing to stay with Hotel Alba! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us and you are already recommending us to others! We are really proud of the offering which has only recently opened and it's been wonderful seeing people enjoy the space especially over summer! Our restaurant concept was designed in mind to be different from more traditional hotel offerings. It'd wonderful reading that you appreciated this! Thankyou again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katia N wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully renovated rooms, very comfortable bed and thoughtful furnishings. The hotel was lovely but would be improved by a dedicated restaurant - everything in Adelaide closes quite early, even on weekends. We found that a little inconvenient on a work trip where we were putting in long hours. The carpark is also not secure, which could be a concern if arriving at night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a better view of the park.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 19 Feb 2023
Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very excited to bring Hotel Alba to the Adelaide market. Currently our new signature restaurant and bar along with pool is under renovation and will be completed mid year. Since your stay we have also rolled out our new lobby menu which offers guests a small menu in which to choose from. Alternatively our Terrace Bar & Kitchen which is located 150m walk at our sister property is open and guests have the option to charge back to their room at Hotel Alba. Thankyou again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra M wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Made a last minute reservation. Was able to check in early as had arrived from interstate earlier than planned. Room very clean and comfortable. Service in the bar/restaurant exceptional. Breakfast included was ordered off the menu, one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time. Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Farrington, Owner at Hotel Alba Adelaide
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Hi Sandra, Thankyou for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are very excited to bring our urban retreat concept to the Adelaide market. Ill be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon! Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go down early for breakfast. We found it to be really busy later in the mornings"
Read full review
HELEN OF NHILL wrote a tip Feb 2024
Nhill, Australia277 contributions153 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is fabulous but the Menu at the Restaurant(s) weren't family friendly. Very disappointed including us."
Read full review
Stuart M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Tugun16 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top class hotel and a nice handy location "
Read full review
LoveTravel821266 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid - no customer service here"
Read full review
crmpicco wrote a tip Jan 2024
Rockingham, Australia59 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There aren’t many sun loungers at the pool. Getting down early is a good idea."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelaide area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$179 - AU$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chifley on south terrace hotel adelaide
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chifley on South Terrace
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ALBA ADELAIDE (AU$179): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alba Adelaide
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Nearby attractions include Himeji Garden (0.4 km), Gilles Street Market (0.2 km), and Rob Roy Hotel (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herringbone, The Greek On Halifax, and The Original Coopers Alehouse at the Earl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Alba Adelaide located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Adelaide.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Alba Adelaide offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Alba Adelaide?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Adelaide Oval (2.2 km), Carrick Hill (5.4 km), and General Post Office (1.1 km).