Adelaide City Park Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Adelaide City Park Motel

471 Pulteney St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Traveller (7)
Classic Room
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#7 of 10 motels in Adelaide
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the City Park Motel Adelaide City Park Motel is a boutique style motel offering quality and detail. A Tranquil Retreat in the Heart of Adelaide! Featuring spacious rooms and lovely balconies overlooking the serene park lands. A tranquil retreat in the heart of Adelaide! Central Location The inner city location provides easy walking access to major venues, attractions, shopping, nightlife, restaurants, cafes and business district. Business or Pleasure Come and enjoy a memorable stay at Adelaide Adelaide City Park Motel. We are a family owned and run business and go out of our way to fulfill our guests expectations. With warm regards, Tony, Trish and Linda.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Currency exchange
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Polish

Location

471 Pulteney St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Adelaide Airport
63Reviews3Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 14
  • 11
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dan McLoughlin wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom318 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I was really satisfied with my stay at the motel, which is now known as ‘Adelaide Pulteney Motel’. It was a bit of a leap of faith as I couldn’t find out much about it given the recent name change but through a bit of searching I found out it’s under new management and also having a bit of a revamp (as at Feb 2020).

The reviews for the motel under its previous moniker weren’t great so I didn’t hold out huge hopes, but I have to say I had a great five night stay.

I’d never stayed in an Australian style motel before. If you haven’t and want all the amenities of a hotel, this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re an independent traveler I think it’s great.

It’s located on the south terrace, essentially the edge of the CBD by the park, and in easy walking distance to the tram/buses.

Arrival is self service - you get sent a text on the day of arrival with a code that enables you to enter the door and collect your room key from a lockbox.

The bed was big and comfy - possibly new. In addition to the fridge and kettle there was a microwave so perfect for travellers who want to prepare light meals. There was also a very large private balcony to enjoy drinks and meals on. Not sure if all rooms have a balcony but there is a large veranda for communal use that overlooks the park. There’s also a washing machine and honesty box for payment.

The refurb seemed to be half done - one half of the motel was still to be painted. They’re opting for a neutral fresh colour which brightens things up. Some of the furniture is a bit old but perfectly serviceable.

Hopefully they will hurry up with the rebrand on sites like this and on the building itself.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret B wrote a review May 2017
Queensland, Australia615 contributions213 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location opposite parkland on South Terrace and close to tram or walk into the city centre. A boutique style hotel undergoing renovation which should be completed in 2018. Our balcony room was newly renovated and overlooked the park. Very clean and comfortable with Queen bed and single bed, usual tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. WiFi was complimentary and fast. Although the bathroom was a one person only size it was modern, clean and good water pressure in shower. There is a parking fee of $20 per day which is very reasonable in a city environment. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdelaideCPM, Manager at Adelaide City Park Motel
Responded 14 May 2017
Dear Margaret B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and for recommending our Motel to other travelers. Your positive feedback is much appreciated, and we're glad you found our Motel so accommodating, in particular the good water pressure in the shower! It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we look forward to hosting you gain next time you're traveling through this beautiful city. Warm regards Trish and Tony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
menjazz wrote a review Dec 2019
Perth, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on the 24/11/19. The hotel is located in a good location,the room was clean and my brother's golden retriever was allowed to stay in the room. I paid a bond for the dog and was advised this would be refunded if there weren't any issues. I have been in contact with the Hotel staff and owners on 5 or more times in the past week and advised the money would be returned or an explanation provided. At this time I have not received any correspondence and my calls are being ended after one or two rings.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RocketRobin wrote a review Apr 2012
Melbourne7 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I expected a good standard of accommodation and presentation, given the good TripAdvisor ranking and favourable comments from other travellers. I was very disappointed.

I booked on their web site and paid good money for what I thought would be a nice room. When I arrived I realised that maybe it was not quite what it was advertised to be, the lobby was tired, shabby and the smell from the restaurant below the motel was very noticeable.

The first room they gave me seemed nice enough although hardly "boutique" in quality. The biggest problem though was the noise from the extractor fans for the restaurant which seemed to exhaust on the roof just outside the room - it was like living next to an airport, the whole place vibrated! I discussed this with the fellow at the front desk and he agreed that it was a problem with some of the rooms.

He moved me to a room at the front of the hotel. This did not vibrate but was small, the furniture and fittings were really quite shabby, the TV did not work (fixed after I complained), the safety lock on the door was broken, the AC did not work, the fridge smelt of old food. There was also a rather strong cooking smell from the adjoining restaurant. I got the clear impression that this was not the best room in the house.

I was there for two nights and, honestly, was glad to leave. Maybe I was just unlucky in the room(s) I was given but also I think the general standard and presentation was not very good.

It does show how misleading a ranking in TripAdvisor can be. This hotel was well up in the list of Adelaide hotels, ahead of others that I know to be better - obviously not an accurate indication.

My advice would be - if you can get a cheap rate and don't mind a bit of squalor, fine! If you really do want something nice at a fair price - don't go near it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check out the room before you pay!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
caroldavid01 wrote a review Nov 2011
Adelaide, Australia1 contribution6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for a week and during our stay we found the management and staff very helpful, they helped us with finding all the have to see places in Adelaide, which I must say is quite a few. I loved the good old fashion service and yes with a smile, We felt like we were not just a customer but a guest. Our room was very clean and of a high standard, the bed was extremely comfortable which is important to us for a great nights sleep. We had a daily service on our room which meant that it was cleaned up each day, not that we are messy but we got clean towels more soap, tea, coffee put into the room and our beds were made for us so we didnt have to do anything when we got back each day after sightseeing Adelaide. I would definately recommend staying there and I will definately be returning as it was great value for our money too. It was a hassle free stay. Many Thanks to the Management and Staff of this Motel. Thanks Guys.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
glengowan wrote a review Mar 2008
toronto11 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The classy website of Adelaide City Park Motel created great expectations. It was described as 'a boutique style motel offering quality and detail in both accomodation and service'. Perhaps we should have wondered whether they meant good quality or bad quality. As for 'boutique' (dictionary def: a small fashionable business) this place was anything but fashionable.

Above seedy storefront signs at the intersection of two major thoroughfares, the motel's reception was small, dingy and cluttered - unlike the well-lit website photos. The hall carpets were filthy. The website described 'magnificent balconies overlooking serene parklands' but our balcony couldn't have held three folding chairs and the park was across six lanes of noisy traffic. (So much for a tranquil retreat).

We had alread paid on-line ($140 with 100% cancellation fee), the room was at least clean with updated bathroom, and rooms in the city were scarce, so we reluctantly decided to stay. As we went out to explore the city, we saw the clerk frying a hunk of meat on a hotplate behind the counter. Its aroma persisted for hours.

As for City Park's website promise that we would 'enjoy a memorable stay', we agree it was memorable. (The day we left, there was a sandwich board on the sidewalk ouside that said 'Rooms from $29'. That's about what our stay was worth to us.)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie A wrote a review June 2013
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am sitting in my room right now where I have been awake since 1 am this morning. There is three guys in the room next to us and they have been partying since then. It's now 7.22. I paid 140 for the room for 2 nights. Supposedly the top of the range. Hate to see the bottom of the range. The walls are paper thin and I can hear every single thing from the busy street to the fiasco next door. Oh and if the constant smell of Indian food doesn't sit we'll with you...don't do it. The pictures on the website are very misleading as well. I will never stay here again and if friends ask me where not to stay in Adelaide this is first on my list.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not room 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nandy1989 wrote a review Dec 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand70 contributions116 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this accommodation last minute on my most recent trip to Adelaide.
Unfortunately my Visa Debit was playing up and staff were unable to pre charge the $110 for the property prior to arrival. Staff went and cancelled my reservation as i was on the way in the taxi to the property and were completely unsympathetic
I kept telling them i was only 15 mins away and would pay cash on arrival however they stated that 'they had left' the property.

Book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duncan B wrote a review Aug 2017
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All very good environment great staff in general all very good A++ would be happy to recommend to anybody on holiday or business it's location is superb and in great walking distance of the cbd and the wonderful festival centre
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: All rooms are good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdelaideCPM, Manager at Adelaide City Park Motel
Responded 7 Aug 2017
Dear Duncan, Thank you for leaving us such a warm and wonderful review! We appreciate your feedback and recommendations for other travelers. See you next time! Kind regards Trish and Tony
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigdaddy465 wrote a review Aug 2015
Gold Coast, Australia15 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel when booked gave the impression of a charming small personal motel with 14 rooms, great photos and marketing, when I arrived it was a sleazy set of room above a poky venue, Check in was a nightmare, the room was even worse, tiny, poorly light, white towels that were grey In color and paper thin, very well worn, the bed was a $99 special from an online seller, over all was feeling very unsafe there, so I booked another hotel and moved within 5 minutes of being in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't book here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdelaideCPM, Manager at Adelaide City Park Motel
Responded 13 Sept 2015
Dear bigdaddy465, It is regrettable to read your recent review of our establishment, and I can assure you we have taken your comments on board and will endeavour to improve based on your feedback. Having discussed some issues with you over the phone a couple of days after your booking I understand you were not impressed by having to provide us identification information upon checking into our motel. We do stick by this policy from a security perspective, and believe this to be an industry norm. However, as a business who is very willing to respond to the feedback from our guests, we will be looking into alternative identification procedures that may better suit your requirements in the future. Also, as you have noted, you left within 5 minutes of checking in. We have a variety of different rooms, and we would have preferred the opportunity to try and accommodate you in a room that was more to your liking, rather than have you leave with a poor impression of our business. Nevertheless, as mentioned earlier, your feedback both in our telephone conversation and on this forum, has been taken seriously, and should you wish to discuss further any aspect of your experience we would be more than happy to hear from you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dominic O asked a question Dec 2016
Hong Kong, China1,583 contribution117 helpful votes
I would like to know car park is available for hotel guest? Any additional charges for parking?
Answer from Adelaide City P
Adelaide, Australia
Hi Dominic. Yes we have car parking available, it is limited so there is a charge of $20,00 per night booked. If you would like to reserve one please call the motel on 0882231444. Regards, Jeff.
russell pearce wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't book early because they will cancel your booking on you"
Read full review
Duncan B wrote a tip Aug 2017
1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are good"
Read full review
bigdaddy465 wrote a tip Aug 2015
Gold Coast, Australia15 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book here"
Read full review
t s wrote a tip Aug 2015
Adelaide Hills, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"get room near south terrace side less noisey"
Read full review
Kevin T wrote a tip Jan 2015
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a double room with a balcony"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelaide area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$88 - AU$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adelaide city park hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADELAIDE CITY PARK MOTEL (AU$88): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Adelaide City Park Motel
What are some of the property amenities at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
Does Adelaide City Park Motel have airport transportation?
Yes, Adelaide City Park Motel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Adelaide City Park Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Adelaide City Park Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
All Adelaide HotelsAdelaide Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AdelaideHotels near Adelaide City Park Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars