We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Majestic Old Lion Apartments

9 Jerningham St, Adelaide, South Australia 5006 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 69 hotels in Adelaide
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The beautifully landscaped Majestic Old Lion Apartments are located in cosmopolitan North Adelaide amongst a vast array of cafes, restaurants and shopping. Refurbished in late 2019 this four (4) star accommodation offers a choice of one, two and three bedroom apartments making it the ideal choice for group and family accommodation. Location is a key feature of these North Adelaide apartments situated just 2km from Adelaide’s city centre and walking distance to the Adelaide Zoo, Adelaide Oval and other attractions. Each of the 66 self-contained apartments are modern, spacious and functional and include private kitchen and laundry facilities, free and unlimited WiFi, reverse cycle A/C, opening windows, in-room broadband, LCD HDTVs, electronic safe, direct dial phones, secure on-site undercover parking plus more. Select apartments also cater for the movement impaired.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Babysitting
Baggage storage
Concierge
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
1372Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 699
  • 543
  • 98
  • 20
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rosie Joan wrote a review 18 Feb
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
A group of young men, a sports group or similar all wearing polo shirts with sponsors names on their backs, massed at the front entrance blocking access, I got around them and was then catcalled and had sexually harassing insults yelled at me while the two older chaperones looked on. It was distressing and frightening (and would have been on the CCTV there). I complained to the office the next morning and asked what club they were with, and could the management contact their club to complain on my behalf. The response was lacklustre to say the least. The chaperone gave an apology to the reception staff who called their room but there was no sense the young men were at apologetic and the manager declined to take it any further. It was nerve wracking for the few days left for me, wondering would I bump into these men when I left my apartment. It seemed the safety of a woman guest was not as important as the income from a group of sportsmen. So if you value being treated decently, find another location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for reporting the issue to our reception team, we value all our guest safety here at Majestic and after following up on the incident there was no further complications. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Kind Regards, Alannah Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
321Mary321 wrote a review Dec 2023
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
We enjoyed our stay in Adelaide at the Majestic Old Lion apartments in North Adelaide. Very quiet even though we faced the street. Nice view of street, trees etc. Good neighbourhood. Shops nearby including small supermarket. Stayed for 3 nights with partner and adult son so needed 2 bedrooms. Upgraded to 3 bedrooms - 3rd room had bunk beds - good for keeping my luggage separate. Good sized kitchen. Loved the high ceiling, plenty of room in lounge and general atmosphere. Free bus came past regularly to get to town about 2km away. Helpful staff. We thought it was value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anthony Samaranayake, Other at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort, amenities &location of our property. Markets and cafes are walking distance. Our main bedroom is a King bed, 2nd bedroom has an option of another king bed or 2 single beds and third bedroom is bunk bed. I am glad you liked our bedroom configuration. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards Ace Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katrina C wrote a review Oct 2023
Launceston, Australia41 contributions12 helpful votes
A great location with cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance, and the free city bus at the doorstep. Our 2 bdr apartment was reasonably sized for the 5 of us, and was clean though starting to look a bit shabby. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the undercover parking was secure. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, but it's worth noting that many are only accessible by stairs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear Katrina, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort, location & value for money of our property. I am happy to hear that the staff were very helpful and I will pass on the feedback to the team. I am glad our 2 bedroom apartment was just the right size and the parking was secure. I thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards Ace Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megsy13 wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia229 contributions54 helpful votes
Great location in North Adelaide with the free city circle bus right out the front. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the gardens were pleasant. Our room had a little seating terrace out the back, which was somewhat unloved but nice to sit in once we had cleaned the table and chairs (garden needs work though!). The only drawback for me was the noise from the upstairs guests - just normal noise of cupboards closing and…er…..toileting, but very clearly heard while I was trying to go to sleep. Otherwise the place was very well appointed with a good kitchen plus laundry facilities in the 3br apartment. Would stay here again - maybe upstairs next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Upstairs might be quieter but there are no lifts - only stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Dear Megsy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am glad the free city circle bus right out the front was to your liking. I am also happy to hear the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the gardens were pleasant. I am sorry to hear about the noise from upstairs. You can always call the reception tam if something like this happens next time. I thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards Ace Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dermot O wrote a review Sept 2023
Greater Adelaide, Australia12 contributions3 helpful votes
The Majestic Old Lion Apartments provided a convenient location to explore North Adelaide with suitable facilities, pleasant decor and very large bed. We were expecting a bath, but that may have been our mistake. Considering the location next to a pub, it was quiet. The area is full of cafes and options for eating out as well as entertainment either along Melbourne or O'Connell Streets. The room itself was lovely, the decor included quaint little features, making it an enjoyable place to relax, only spoiled by some stains on one of the curtains. There is also a lovely courtyard with trees and shrubbery and benches to sit and enjoy the sun. Thoroughly recommend a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is at a cost, but you can usually park for free nearby on the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Keany, Other at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Dear Dermot , Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort, location & value for money of our property. I am very glad that you like the surrounding restaurants and entertainment. Thank you for your compliments regarding the décor included quaint little features and the courtyard. I thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards Ace Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Big G wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Nice apartments in a great location in North Adelaide. rooms are spacious and comfortable. Good value for money. Close to Adelaide Oval and the hospital. There is paid parking available but plenty of free parking nearby if you are staying over the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Keany, Other at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Hi There! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Amy- Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bazali-On-The-Road wrote a review July 2023
Port Augusta, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here with my elderly mother whilst I was in hospital at The Memorial Hospital. Hotel is walking distance to the hospital and has restaurants and cafes nearby. Closest supermarket is on O’Connell St so you need to drive there. There is a small market on Melbourne St but it is limited and expensive. Was able to book a 2 bedroom ground floor accessible room. Some other rooms have the shower over the bath and there are no lifts to the second level. Grounds are beautiful and very quiet. Mum felt quite safe by herself whilst I was in hospital for the night. Internet is free but it was not strong enough to run Netflix on the TV. Rooms are very comfortable with full cooking facilities and a washer and dryer. Plenty of extra towels, blankets and pillows. The curtains were ripped in 2 rooms and looks to have makeup spilled on them in one room. Other than that we were satisfied at the cleanliness of the place. If we were in the cleaners would knock on the door before they finished for the day to ask if we would like the room serviced or if we needed anything replaced which was nice. The staff in general were very friendly and treated you as you passed them. Car parking is below the building with a 2.4m height so if you have a larger car you can access their parking. Parking is secure and accessed with a fob. There are no lifts so you do have one staircase to get up to the room levels do you may be better parking I front if the reception when checking in and unloading before heading to the car park. It’s not cheap but for the size of the room and the location it is worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If booking last minute as I was able to access a better price by ringing.Car parking has 2.4m...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 6 July 2023
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Amy- Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bronwen S wrote a review Apr 2023
Perth, Australia66 contributions12 helpful votes
Great location in beautiful streets, loads of places to eat and lots of choice. Apartments are really clean and comfortable, on-site parking available for an additional fee. Biggest drawback is stairs access to apartments with no lift access and it was a bit painful lugging belongings up the multiple stair cases from the car park.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No lift access to apartments so be prepared to carry luggage up multiple flights of stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly the comfort of the room! I hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Amy- Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wolin wrote a review Mar 2023
Sydney295 contributions183 helpful votes
We stayed 5 nights for WOMADelaide. The location is a 20-minute walk or a few stops on the free city bus to WOMADelaide. A few extra stops and you arrive in the city centre. Our room was a one bedroom apartment. It was well equipped with kitchen and laundry with laundry powder supplied. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was clean. The windows open for fresh air. Staff were very friendly. The entire experience was of a well run establishment that cares about the customer experience. Restaurants and food shopping is a short walk away. It is a $30 cab ride to the airport. We really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellie Keany, Other at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 16 Mar 2023
Hi Colin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Amy- Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joshua A wrote a review Feb 2023
Melbourne, Australia205 contributions62 helpful votes
Nice comfortable rooms and beds well equipped. My only complaint would have to be that we stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and ours looked different to the photos. The major issue being that we had 6 people sharing this apartment with a very small lounge room and 1 bathroom to facilitate us all. I had seen the 2 bedroom apartments and they were much bigger and better laid out with bigger lounges and kitchens. I would return and stay here again however I wouldn’t stay in a 3 bedroom apartment if they were all like that one.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Majestic Properties, Guest Services / Front Office at Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Responded 9 Feb 2023
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you found the rooms comfortable. Due to the nature of the property the apartments can be laid out slightly different however all the facilities are the same. I am sorry to hear this particular room did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again to improve upon your stay! Warm regards, Amy- Duty Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelaide area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$177 - AU$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAJESTIC OLD LION APARTMENTS (AU$177): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Adelaide) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Majestic Old Lion Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Nearby attractions include The David Roche Foundation House Museum (0.2 km), The Lion Hotel (0.1 km), and Frida's Sip N' Paint (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include UR Caffe, The Himalayan Kitchen, and Yakitori Takumi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Majestic Old Lion Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Adelaide Oval (1.2 km), General Post Office (2.1 km), and Z Ward (4.6 km).
Is Majestic Old Lion Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.