We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Save
Share
120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
USD 186
View deal
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (678)
Room & Suite (324)
Dining (112)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 70 hotels in Adelaide
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to Rundle Mall, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide Central Markets, Adelaide Convention Centre and the central business district. Our most recent accolades include 2017 ‘Best Deluxe Accommodation’ at the Australian Hotels Association SA Awards, 2017 ‘Best Restaurant in a Hotel’ at the SA Restaurant and Catering Awards, 2017 ‘Best Luxury Accommodation’ at the South Australian Tourism Awards plus many more.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
2825Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,771
  • 759
  • 209
  • 48
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mulgawarra wrote a review June 2022
1 contribution
Every member of the Playford Hotel team was friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcome on arrival and the personal attention was appreciated after a long drive. The food was exceptional and the room clean and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Peter C wrote a review June 2022
Renmark, Australia117 contributions55 helpful votes
We decided on the Playford mainly for position. What a great surprise, Great old fashioned service from the moment you step in the door. Reception managers actually provided one on one service and made sure all questions were answered and that we were totally comfortable! Bags whisked up to our room before we even left reception. Rooms were clean and tidy and beds comfortable. Level one for the Courtyard for the best service and the best meal. Lounges heaters , gin selections. Will we be going here next time we travel to Adelaide absolutely!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking very close across the road. Parking clean and tidy and well lighted.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 222PeterC, Thank you for staying at the Playford Hotel and for the great review. The Playford is a bit different than most other hotels and therefor we love working here. I will share you feedback with the team and we hope to see you back next tiem. Warm regards, Maurits
Read more
Sarah C wrote a review June 2022
Ohakune, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for an anniversary weekend & the football. The room was beautiful & the location was perfect. The staff & service was exceptional, in particular Ricky who made our stay perfect. Although the restaurant was closed, room service was prompt & efficient. I can highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sarah C, Thank you so much for the great review and being our guest at the Playford Hotel. I have shared the feedback with the team and you made Ricky very happy with the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back next time with a fully refurbished hotel. Kind regards Maurits
Read more
rsbaynes wrote a review May 2022
Darwin, Australia1 contribution
I have stayed at the Playford three times in recent weeks. Without exception the staff are always very accomodating, friendly and professional. All this while the hotel is undergoing renovations. Highly recommended.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear rsbaynes, First of all thank you for staying at the Playford hotel and showing your support during our renovation period. I have shared the great feedback with the team and hope that the cold temperatures and wet weather does not stop you for visiting us again soon. Warm regards Maurits
Read more
The_Jhays wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The staff were great, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is under renovation so a bit noisy in the morning on weekdays. Apart from that, the staff made sure that we have a pleasant stay and the food was great . Looking forward to our next stay at Playford.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Dear The_Jhays, First off all thank you for staying at the Playford Hotel and your amazing review regarding the staff. The main asset of a hotel is always the team and therefore love your recognition of this. We do hope to see you back when the hotel is back to its full glory and I am sure we can welcome you in the same way. I have shared your review with the team. Warm regards Maurits
Read more
WendyRadel8 wrote a review Apr 2022
Adelaide, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely room, great position for the Adelaide Oval. Very happy with our stay. Just disappointed we didn’t have a restaurant. Fantastic welcome pack. The service was the best I have experienced for a long time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear WendyRadel8, Thank you so much for the staying at the Playford Hotel Adelaide. It was great having you as one of our guests and I will share the positive note regarding the service with the team. We do hope to see you back once the public areas are open again to showcase our completely new redeveloped restaurant. Kind regards Maurits
Read more
Yasmine P wrote a review Mar 2022
Mosman, Australia93 contributions51 helpful votes
We have been overwhelmed by the efficiency and charm of every staff member we have interacted with . They are beyond helpful and have made our stay delightful . During renovations they have been beyond innovative and set up a courtyard bar ! It is like being in Europe . The leadership from the top shows all the way down . Will definitely be back .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Dear YasmineP827, Thank you so much for the great feedback and cannot tell you how much this means for the team. We are very happy to welcome guests back again but although still with a few challenges. We hope to see you back later this year and showcase the "new" Playford Hotel. Regards Maurits
Read more
Gavin wrote a review Dec 2021
Perth, Australia2 contributions
I would like to commend Maurits (Hotel GM) and his team for doing everything to make the 14 day quarantine as bearable as possible. Having quarantined a few times in WA hotels before, I must say that the South Australian hospitality at The Playford is by far the best! Keep up the good work and thank you again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 9 Dec 2021
Dear Road54126167529, Thank you so much for the great review and I have shared it with the team. Not an easy period for all of us and therefore we need to make sure we take care of each other the best we can. I did my 14 days as well and it is not easy but doable. Hopefully this was your last time and we do hope to see you back once we reopen. Warm regards Maurits
Read more
Stephanie B wrote a review June 2021
22 contributions5 helpful votes
I have been meaning to write this review for a while now. I was lucky enough to be transferred to this hotel to finish my hotel quarantine after the first hotel provided me with two rooms which were filthy and unhygienic. I was a bit wary about how staff would react when I was transferred as I was well aware from the attitude of staff at the other hotel that I had been labelled as a ‘trouble maker’ due to my complaints about my uncleaned rooms and sleeping on the same sheets as the person before me. When I arrived I was greeted by a Manager Reece and could feel that he was very apprehensive to have me there, by his body language and tone of voice, which I felt was due to what staff had told him about me from the Stamford Plaza. Maybe I was being over sensitive but I had been through a rough few months and then a rough couple of days at the other hotel. I felt he could have been more compassionate to what had occurred at the other hotel, rather than taking what he was told at face value (assuming this is why he acted in this way toward me). I was very lucky to be given a beautiful room which was very clean. The reception staff were wonderful and kind, as were the nurses and SAPOL. I really enjoyed interacting with the other guests through the Facebook group and enjoyed participating in the quiz. It is evident that higher management run this hotel to an impeccable standard and I found all of the staff except for one to be wonderfully kind. I didn’t eat the food as I am particular in my diet and I wanted to avoid opening the door as much as possible. I did however ask to have the going away cake the day before I left. It was some of the best cake I have ever had. I look forward to going back for dinner in the restaurant when the hotel reopens. I am very appreciative to the Playford for taking me in and allowing me to finish my quarantine there after my horrible experience elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 15 July 2021
Dear F1478NUstephanie, Thank you so much for your great review and very happy to read that you have enjoyed the second part of your quarantine here at the Playford Hotel. We are trying to do our best to create the best experience as possible as for a lot of guests it is very challenging period. I have noticed you comments regarding the welcome and do apologize for that but wanted to confirm we do not talk to the hotels about guests, we focus on our own hotel and to keep everyone safe. We would love to have you back once we reopen and I must say we cannot wait to go back to normal. Again thank you for the great review and have shared it with the team. Kind regards Maurits
Read more
Sam A wrote a review Apr 2021
Geylang, Singapore11 contributions14 helpful votes
Sometimes you get lucky and you don't even know it. Being allocated to the Playford Hotel as part of quarantine was the best thing that could have happened to me. 1. There was large opening window/balcony facing the street - is a must for quarantine 2. The effort the staff go to make you feel welcome and tend to your needs is amazing. They really put themselves in your shoes and are dedicated and attentive. 3. The food was excellent and and tailored to dietary requirements. Any changes or special requests were no problem. 4. When General manager get on the bus before you enter the hotel and welcomes you, you know there is a real care factor. (Apparently he does this for every bus load. In summary when I do come back to Adelaide and things are back to normal, this will be my Hotel of choice based on how I was treated over the past 12 days (3 to go) Thanks team. Sebastiano (Sam)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maurits de Graeff, General Manager at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Responded 2 May 2021
Dear Sam, Thank you for the amazing review and we hope to see you in Adelaide again once we go back to some kind of normal. Hope you had a safe trip home. From the Playford team, Maurits
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 190 - USD 241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sebel playford adelaide hotel adelaide, sebel playford adelaide, sebel playford hotel adelaide
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Which popular attractions are close to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Nearby attractions include Unique Opal Mine Pty Ltd (0.4 km), The Rundle Mall Pigs (0.4 km), and North Terrace (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haigh's, Georges, and Peel Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Adelaide.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.