We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel

30 Blyth Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (234)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#20 of 69 hotels in Adelaide
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The new Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre is situated in the vibrant north-west quarter of Adelaide's central business district. The great location provides easy accessibility to Adelaide Oval, Adelaide Convention Centre, the new Royal Adelaide Hospital, the SA Health and Medical Research Institute, University of South Australia, Adelaide Casino and Rundle Mall shopping.   Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travellers, delivering a fresh and hassle free stay every time.   The hotel features 245 well-designed rooms equipped with for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab & Go option, stay connected with free Wi-Fi, after a long day recharge with our high quality bedding and have a restful night's sleep with a choice of soft and firm pillows.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

30 Blyth Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000 Australia
Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel
451Reviews8Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 158
  • 36
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Baylee T wrote a review 13 Feb
9 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights at this hotel. Overall very happy for the price paid offered great value. Modern, comfortable rooms. Reception staff very helpful and acknowledged loyalty through the IHG program. As some other reviewers mentioned, can be a little noisy on a Saturday night and this is true however it didn’t impact on my sleep and seems to be common for all hotels in the area. Highly recommended this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
STtravel1 wrote a review June 2023
Sydney, Australia60 contributions69 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great! Excellent location, very clean and comfortable. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast and laundry machines available for $2. Best value around. I’d definitely stay here again. Very close to the free tram down to Royal Adelaide Hospital. I booked this hotel on a whim and it was such a find!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stanley107 wrote a review Jan 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom241 contributions87 helpful votes
Small rooms with the issue of bathroom being part of the bedroom. But clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet and was fine, exactly what you would expect. Location, was fine close to the station and Avis car hire, also close to a lot of massage parlours and gentlemen’s clubs. They have a small laundrette which is great value and a bonus. Good value.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Laundrette great value
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
chris s wrote a review Dec 2023
10 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a decent well-situated hotel. Comfortable: only one criticism, that the bathroom is not separate, and is glass-walled, which makes it very open. There are times one needs privacy in the bathroom! This made it awkward. Otherwise everything was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Useful location in that the AVIS car rental is very close and so are many eating places in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Victoria37 wrote a review Dec 2023
Epsom, UK88 contributions88 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights – Friday – Monday in early November 2023. Reception is on the first floor and you have to take the lift from street level to it. A notice to this effect would be helpful to new arrivals. We enjoyed a pleasant welcome at check in, asked for a room on a high floor which we were given – Room 929, which was at the back of the building. This looked out over rooftops and what appeared to be heating and exhaust outlets. The room was clean and pleasant. The beds were comfortable, and there was no noise on the Friday night. The included breakfast the following morning was very good, with plenty of seating available. On returning the following evening (Saturday) we were immediately aware of music noise. At that stage around 11pm it was noticeable but not too loud. We went to bed, but were woken around 1am by noise which rose to a crescendo, the base so loud that the windows of the room were vibrating. It was horrendous, and we were on the 9th floor!! People in rooms below us must have been even worse off. This noise continued until 4.15am in the morning! That volume of noise, even on a Saturday night is totally unacceptable, especially going on until 4.15am. My husband complained the following day. He was told that the hotel was aware of the problem – that it was from a bar/nightclub, and that it only happened on a Saturday night. They had complained about it but there was nothing they could do (really – how about triple glazing the windows for a start?). We were given a couple of drinks vouchers in recompense! I’m pleased to say that Sunday night was as quiet as Friday night had been. Having written this review, I have now looked back at some earlier ones and I now see that this is not a recent problem. This problem should be indicated on the hotel web site. At least then visitors would know what to expect if they still chose to stay at a weekend. This hotel is centrally located, with lots of eating and drinking places in the streets nearby. One might expect some noise on a Saturday night perhaps, but this was really bad. It has a lot going for it being close to the Railway Station, Convention Centre, Torrens River and recreation area as well as shopping malls and Restaurants. However, we cannot recommend it for a stay over the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Extreme noise on a Saturday night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
inthe831 wrote a review Oct 2023
California103 contributions97 helpful votes
+1
The Holiday Inn Express Adelaide was an ideal base for exploring the area. The main tram lines on North Terrace and King William Streets are 1-2 blocks away making it easy to get to the museums, botanic gardens, Glenelg beach, etc. I am not a wheelchair user, but have neurological problems and a knee injury and really appreciated being able to book a handicapped accessible room on the website and read about the accessibility features and see photos of the shower configuration. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed at normal height and with a mattress that was neither too soft or too hard. The small refrigerator and Nespresso coffee machine were nice to have. Breakfast was good, well-rounded with bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit, breads, pastries, juices, and a coffee machine. The buffet staff did a great job keeping the food items stocked and the areas/tables clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The hotel has (pay) laundry machines and provides free detergent. Register for a free Adelaide...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
104countriesdonesofar wrote a review Sept 2023
Stockholm, Sweden373 contributions134 helpful votes
Walls too thin, breakfast poor/ not a sign of any vegetables bacon cheese, promised laundry service on Saturdays does not exist.. Ah, this is a cheap and bad HEX hotel and should be avoided. Staff is friendly but rooms are old, not at all like the renovated entrance or lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Sept 2023
Hello 101donesofar, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear from our most valued guest. Thanks for your loyalty and thanks for staying with our Holiday Inn Express. We always ensure the best hospitality in town. I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with hotel management for review. We hope to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. eMedia Coordinator IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anya77 wrote a review June 2023
Singapore, Singapore226 contributions165 helpful votes
I was attending a conference at the Adelaide Convention Centre. As the first 2 nights were over a weekend, I was concerned about the noise reported in other reviews. However the hotel assured me that my room, 311, was going to be fine which it was. For a hotel so close to the city centre, it was in fact incredibly quiet. The blackout blinds were the best I’ve seen in any hotel. The room was not luxurious but definitely very comfortable. No bathtub but good shower. Breakfast was fairly basic but adequate. Short walk to Rundle Mall, the Convention Centre and the Oval. Excellent value for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PETER C wrote a review June 2023
Diani Beach, Kenya23 contributions4 helpful votes
Comfortable and clean property. Glass doors on bathroom closes off when showering. Easy to find off main street to Rundle Mall. Fast and efficient check-in. Free breakfast with scrambled eggs and hash browns or sausages, toast, juice, cereals. Good wifi
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lisa wrote a review June 2023
Alice Springs, Australia2 contributions
I have stayed here a dozen or more times and always had a great stay however a club seems to have moved in nearby and you can expect no sleep on a weekend now. When I rang reception to inquire about the thudding base they told me to expect it till 3am - I have to be up at 4am for my flight! They said they could move me however the noise is only minimally reduced in the moved room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t stay here on the weekend
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 June 2023
Hello Roam19471730601, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. The team learned about your review. The team will make the needed improvements to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Adelaide area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$177 - AU$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaGreater AdelaideAdelaide
NUMBER OF ROOMS
245
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ADELAIDE CITY CENTRE, AN IHG HOTEL (AU$177): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms Adelaide (0.4 km), Unique Opal Mine Pty Ltd (0.3 km), and The Rundle Mall Pigs (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haigh's, Georges, and Peel Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Adelaide.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Adelaide City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, and Malay.