We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel

Save
Share
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good18%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible46%
7 Feb 2018
“Close to center but owner not amical”
3 Nov 2017
“A bit crowded.”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Kitchenette
Spa
Laundry Service
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
1
1
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
1
1
1
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We stayed more than one day cause no other place was available.ROOM:no window-no shelf-no bin, was dirty and smelling bad.No air.KITCHEN:always dirty and greasy,only two stinking fridges( been cleaned once a fortnight), few space for food.Sticky floor. Crockery and dishes insufficient.Old toaster.Broken can opener.Food remains...More

3  Thank Daphne S
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I'm stayed on this hostel for 1 weekend, all the place was in construction, beds was unmounted, owner really not cool and not amical, it's damage because this hostel have a big potentiel. Near to clubs and pubsMore

3  Thank Papaye37
Response from Travller007, Assisstant Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers HostelResponded 10 February 2018

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay Papaye37, we understand that the renovations were inconvinient and we're unfortuantely sorry about that, but we tried our best to complete them as fast as possible. They're all done now, and we look forward to having...More

Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Quite clean, located in the CBD, close to coles and chinatown, nice service / patient staff. I will stay here next time. The owner introduced hot points within and around the city, he even bollowed his bicycles to me and my friend, that was so...More

2  Thank WIng S
Response from Travller007, General Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers HostelResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your very nice review WIng, we're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time whilst visiting Adelaide. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future, and we wish to hte best of...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

AVOID!!!!! Really bad place, and rude owner. Owner is rude when you kindly give him some feedback on things that are really not done!! - There is only 1 Male and 1 Female (!!!) toilet for the whole 1st floor ( thats for 8 x...More

Thank Jack d
Response from Travller007, General Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers HostelResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your review Jack, and we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We're sad to hear that you found our staff rude, we will try to take care of this matter as best we can, so that future guests...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

I stayed here in March 2017. It was at the time that the dour scottish girl was cleaning the place. The place was clean enough but trying to find anyone at the desk to check you in was impossible.The place stunk of weed (It was...More

1  Thank JonathanT1812
Response from Travller007, Assisstant Manager at My Place & Adelaide Backpackers HostelResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review Jonathon. It's unfortuante that you didn't enjoy your stay here at My Place. We do apologise for someone not being around enough at the front desk, we have worked on fixing this issue. In regards to the smell of weed,...More

View more reviews
About
Description
With our recently fully refurbished hostel including new sauna, new mattresses, renovated stainless steel kitchen with filtered hot and cold water for beverages, a very nice balcony area with plants and ...More city views to relax on, and even off street parking (reservation needed in advance, subject to availability). Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
11
Price range
USD 19 - USD 44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
My Place & Kanga's Kottages Backpackers Hostel
Also Known As
My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel South Australia
Location
Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
11
Price range
USD 19 - USD 44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
My Place & Kanga's Kottages Backpackers Hostel
Also Known As
My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel South Australia
Location
Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Photos
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 56 hotels in Adelaide
BreakFree Adelaide
1,442 reviews
.31 km away
Adelaide Rockford
1,020 reviews
.46 km away
Adelaide Riviera Hotel
446 reviews
.46 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
730 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,837 restaurants in Adelaide
Buddha Raska Thai Restuarant
24 reviews
.39 km away
Peter Rabbit
137 reviews
.35 km away
Adelaide Pho
123 reviews
.20 km away
Sushi Planet
91 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 434 attractions in Adelaide
JamFactory
48 reviews
.51 km away
Light Square
12 reviews
.36 km away
Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art
9 reviews
.48 km away
The HandleBar Adelaide
310 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from My Place & Adelaide Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't go for a private room, they are really noisie and overpriced."
Read review
"Offers dorm rooms at a reasonable price."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing