We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassadors Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassadors Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassadors Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 26 March 2014

During a business travel in Adelaide, CBD, I checked-in at this hotel. The staff is okay but this where the good news stops. The room was not cleaned, the bed was very uncomfortable, there was no curtain at the shower and the air conditioning system was quite loud and it barely managed to deliver cold air. I cannot recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Howard G
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is all about location and friendly service. All staff would go the extra mile to help you with all your logistic issues, for us it was an overnight parking and having breakfast at 5:30 in the morning. The building is old (with an atmosphere though!), rooms are dark and in a desperate need for renovation and refitting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LuTx
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I booked into this because the cbd location was convenient, but the inside is a dump. For $100/night, there are many better options in adelaide cbd, including most of the backpackers' places!! The corridors are a confusing warren, and there isn't lift access to all floors. The hallways themselves are narrow and dimly lit, with branches in many places. The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Andrew_Alin
vavuniya
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you want to stay quietly in city centre this is a prime location.If you like it old world atmosphere this is it. Horrible breakfast is laid out in an all purpose bar. Rooms are old fashioned and spartan as are the attached toilet.It is Aussie style service-friendly and unsophisticated: matey and unrefined.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruvinivavuniya
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed with my partner for three nights at this hotel in October for a Groupon deal. The first night we slept in one room and the other 2 nights we slept in a different one. The first night everything was ok. But the following ones were very disgusting. The second night my friend woke up with her skin red...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Aida F
Ambassadors, Manager at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to send through your review of our hotel. We did receive your email and responded it straight away to it so I am sorry to hear that you did not receive it? We had asked you some more questions also but the telephone number we had on file for you was...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had lunch here upstairs and whilst the food was a pass mark, (had better, had worse for the price my squid was over-cooked but reasonably priced) .... I had to endure stiffling heat on a 43 degree day in the upstairs "glass-house" (if you don't know the second story of this hotel is like an English green-house - all glass)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris M
Ambassadors, Manager at Ambassadors Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant. We are very sorry that you had to endure the heat for your luncheon, we were devastated to have our air-conditioning break down during such a hot spell and there was an engineer working on the roof whilst you were eating- we were hoping to have it fixed...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for a night prior to a training course. What a mistake. Overpriced, desperately needs upgrading, a total dive. Latch was broken on bathroom window, bathroom door didn't shut, room was dark and dingy, bed was uncomfortable, and room was very noisey. Guys were drinking at breakfast in the bar- it's that kind of place ;-) However, friendly staff....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin_qld
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Hotel is right in the heart of Adelaide CBD and although being so close to everything, it's a dump.No parking, you have to pay them for an all day ticket for the multi storey carpark behind the Hotel and you have to drive around the block to get there, Not Happy about that. The rooms are not very well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pogo1949
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a three night stay at the Ambassadors in October and was impressed with the staff as they were all so helpful. The hotel is on the main road through Adelaide so transport was not problem. The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable breakfast adequate but basic. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kusara
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I came across this bar on a stroll through Adelaide. It was a good find, quiet compared to other bars in the area, and it was a quirky place with comfy armchairs, tables, small bar, pokies room (of course). The food on offer seemed well priced and although I didn't eat there it looked excellent. Mixture of patrons and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyV2012

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
1.1 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.1 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.3 km away
Franklin Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quest on King William
Quest on King William
#19 of 58 in Adelaide
399 reviews
2.4 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.3 km away
Adelaide Paringa
Adelaide Paringa
#35 of 58 in Adelaide
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Ambassadors Hotel
Ambassadors Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Adelaide CBD, the Ambassadors offers comfortable, value for money accommodation in a character filled heritage building. A variety of room types are available and all feature en-suite, heating/cooling, TVs, bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and daily servicing. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily for all guests along with free wireless internet throughout the building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassadors Hotel

Address: 107 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassadors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Hotel Adelaide, South Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassadors Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not near the lift and not at the back. Get middle of the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles bobbie446, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid. There are plenty of better places in Adelaide.”
 of 5 bubbles petertaylor57, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No good choice i dont think. The room we had was small and dindgy.”
 of 5 bubbles Belletoby, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with an external window - I hadn't done so, but was able to swap ... claustrophobic me! Thanks, Leslie!”
 of 5 bubbles jansalm, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the third floor: No lift access.”
 of 5 bubbles justpostthedamnrevie, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5