We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunbird Motel

Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Laundry Service
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billabong sanctuary bruce highway air con pets stopover kettle noise
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Stayed here unexpectedly as the road south was flooded. Lovely and very cheery lady who showed me to the room. Very accommodating and full of great information. She was the best aspect of the stay. The room was for a family, standard queen bed and...More

1  Thank Annamarie D
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Great value, right on the highway, yet quiet with a homely feel. The owners are extremely helpful. I was initially staying one night but ended staying 3 nights, I had been at a festival for 5 days and was in desperate need of a comfortable...More

1  Thank suzkel
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed in one of the family rooms (2 adults and 2 adult children) and it was just what we needed. On the edge of town with pleasant surroundings the room was spacious and well kept. Noise from the Bruce Highway could occasionally be heard...More

1  Thank HardtoPlease85741
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This motel is situated close to the Bruce Highway so it is very easily accessed if you are driving. It is clean and tidy and very friendly and helpful staff made a stopover on our way to Airlie Beach a pleasant stay. If you wish...More

1  Thank Gwen J
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I looked up a pet friendly motel for a trip to see my friends in Townsville and found the sunbird motel but when i get there at 2am the woman that came to reception was extremely rude and turned me away as they apparently only...More

2  Thank The Kiwi M
Response from Sunbird M, Owner at Sunbird MotelResponded 18 May 2017

Hi, I am sorry you felt mistreated however in my defence you arrived at the motel at 2am in the morning with no prior warning and all lights including signage were switched off. We do have designated rooms with tile flooring for pets however on...More

View more reviews
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Price range
USD 64 - USD 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Price range
USD 64 - USD 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
Cluden Park Motor Inn
75 reviews
9.15 km away
Spanish Lace Motor Inn
26 reviews
11.25 km away
Cascade Motel In Townsville
220 reviews
11.30 km away
Billabong Lodge Motel
48 reviews
11.34 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 447 nearby restaurants
Alligator Creek Restaurant
7 reviews
5.02 km away
The Spirited Goat
68 reviews
10.26 km away
Prague Restaurant Bar and Grill
53 reviews
10.39 km away
Cuisine On Bowen
45 reviews
11.90 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 138 nearby attractions
Bowling Green Bay National Park
21 reviews
9.54 km away
Alligator Falls Track
9 reviews
9.21 km away
Billabong Sanctuary
858 reviews
7.50 km away
Mount Stuart
194 reviews
9.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunbird Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"I had room 6. Suitable for someone who is mobility challenged. Rooms 1-9 are all on level ground."
1 Mar. 2018
Read review
"Closer to office for better wifi"
6 Aug. 2017
Read review
"We stayed in Rooms 9 and 10, at the far end, as suggested in an earlier review, and were close to a large..."
20 Apr. 2017
Read review
"Caters to all no problem"
5 Oct. 2015
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing