We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Townsville

166 Woolcock St, Townsville, Queensland 4812 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (281)
Room & Suite (79)
Pool & Beach (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 41 hotels in Townsville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
1264Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 364
  • 538
  • 244
  • 76
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Linda K wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
Food abysmal chef and I use this term lightly, should be ashamed. My Thai beef salad was made using a bit of deli sliced roast beef with copious amounts of fat! Could not eat this and removed the ‘meat’. See pic below of the ‘meat’ ie fat used. For a big chain hotel they should be employing some decent/real chefs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Dont go eat elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Linda, Thankyou for your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us. Apologies that the meal did not meet your expectations. The Thai Beef Salad is one of our most popular dishes and we receive a lot of positive feedback about it. I do understand that it may not to be to everyone's liking. We are constantly changing our menu and will look at alternative options when we next review our menu. Again thankyou for your feedback. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt W wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
We had a mixed experience here. The pool is lovely and our accommodation was basically fine. As others have noted, though, the hotel restaurant is terrible -- awful food, and the staff are just plain unfriendly. After one visit there, we didn't go back, because who wants to be treated like that on vacation? That meant we had to go off site for every meal, which is not what we had in mind when we booked here. Coffee drinkers note: they only provide instant coffee. That seems low class for such a pricey place. I got the scare of my life in the middle of the night. It was 3:30 am and I couldn't sleep, so I was sitting on the sofa in our darkened unit. All of a sudden, a man in dark clothes comes up onto our porch and tries to open the door to our unit! Luckily, it's locked, so he moves on. I called the front desk to report it, and they said it was just security making sure doors were locked. WTF??? At least tell people this might happen. I thought someone was trying to get into our unit. In 2 different conversations with the front desk, they were very dismissive of my concerns. Between the poor treatment at the restaurant and the poor treatment by the front desk staff, I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book elsewhere if you are looking for a hotel where you can also get a meal. Bad food and bad...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Matthew, Thankyou for your review of Mercure Townsville. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. At Mercure we strive to ensure guest service and satisfaction is met but we appear to have failed on this occasion. With regards to your comments on someone trying to access your door, we do have security on at night and they will perform regular checks of the property. If they see are door is ajar or not closed properly, they will close it to ensure the safety of our guests. We have barista style coffee that can be purchased at the restaurant and an automatic coffee which is available during breakfast in the restaurant as well. There is instant coffee supplied in all of our rooms. Matthew we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again and would appreciate if you contacted me directly when you next decide to visit, and I will ensure your stay is a much more pleasurable experience. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jodie B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
I was recommended to stay here. Originally booked for 3 nights we only stayed 1 and ended up going elsewhere. The rooms while it was a decent size, the smell when you walked in was horrible. Musty, damp and enough that 1 night in this room made me and my elderly mother feel sick. Hotel staff brushed it off and all we got was its because of the humidity. Couldn't offer us another room as the place was booked. Nothing done to make up for it. When we checked out the staff just had a oh well attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jodie, Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Sad to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The hotel has just been through a cyclone and a couple of the rooms did receive some minor water damage which may have resulted in the musty smell. These rooms have been cleaned thoroughly, however evident by your review that more work needs to be done. The hotel staff are well trained so apologies if you feel they brushed it off. We were fully booked over this period which is why there were no other rooms available. With many people in Townsville losing power, we were inundated with bookings. Jodie if you ever have the opportunity to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly so I can ensure your stay is a much more pleasurable experience. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LucysMumNz wrote a review Dec 2023
Rotorua, New Zealand185 contributions80 helpful votes
Fantastic pool, overlooked by a very nice restaurant. Accommodation wise, as gold ALL members we were a little disappointed to find ourselves on the furtherest outpost of the campus. The rooms, while clean, smelt musty. I suspect this was because we were only staying one night.It was clearly not the ideal spot for an elderly family member.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikola Murphy, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Townsville
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear LucysMumNz, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive but also constructive feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nikola Murphy Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tapped Out Travellers wrote a review Nov 2023
Townsville, Australia30 contributions2 helpful votes
Great stay. Staff very very helpful and friendly. Room service was good with some options available. Location is nice and close to Castletown and the airport. Rooms were a good size. Clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed. Great afternoon spent having a drink over looking the pool. Would stay again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear 655diannen, Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. Always nice to read that our guests would return, as it is great indication that we are providing quality service. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Compass61285334489 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
The family bungalows are beautiful and clean beds comfy. Pool area large could do with some more lounges only 6 lounges for such a large space . Front reception staff nice and helpful. Cleaners don't say hi , when walking past 🙃. On the other hand Restaurant staff the absolute worst hospitality I have ever come across , rude and sour even if your being nice they don't seem to work together to try and make any patrons welcome and comfortable when spending alot of money to dine in . Would not return specifically when it's nice to dine in and have drinks at a resort but they definitely ruined that experience with new friends for me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear Compass61285334489, Thankyou for your review of Mercure Townsville. My apologies that the service standards did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is well renowned for its quality of service however it appears we have not met the standards we aspire to on this occasion. Please be assured that this will be addressed with the team. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Haydn0342 wrote a review Sept 2023
Rye, Australia45 contributions54 helpful votes
It was actually my partner who stayed 2 nights here late July & found it be so good we have booked another 8 days for Early December. They have their own Restaurant serving a buffet breakfast along with lunch & dinner. The location is excellent being a short taxi ride to the airport plus a 5 minute walk to the large Castletown Shopping Plaza as well as plenty of fast food shops at the rear of the Motel
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 9 Sept 2023
Dear Haydn0342, Thankyou for a lovely review. I think most would agree the location is fantastic and in close proximity to the shopping centre and only 5kms from the strand and the CBD. We look forward to seeing you in December. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynda M wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Very Disappointed with our recent stay. Due to an unexpected 5 hour delay in our flight from Brisbane to Townsville arriving at 2:00 am we were extremely tired. We booked the night at the Inn rather than drive back home to Ingham at that hour. Unfortunately, we were unable to shower as there was no hot water. I couldn't call through to reception as there was no connection from the phone provided. We left the next morning and paid $269.00 for our limited sleep over. I did tell the reception about the No Hot Water situation. Perhaps a discount should have been offered!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Dear LyndamQ7981CR, Thankyou for your review of Mercure Townsville. Firstly, my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. The feedback you have provided is concerning and not to the standards we set. I do understand that one of the isolators malfunctioned that caused the entire block to be without water for a few hours, however this was rectified within a couple of hours once discovered. With regard to the phone, all of our rooms have phones and the team have inspected and have found that the cable that plugs into the port was faulty and needed to be replaced. This should have been picked up during whilst housekeeping were cleaning and again my apologies. We hope these isolated incidents do not detract from staying with us in the future and we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Please contact me directly when you next decide to visit, so I can ensure your stay is a much more pleasurable experience. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzette W wrote a review Aug 2023
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Always love the mecure, comfortable rooms and lush surrounds. Check in very good 👍 room service has struggled the last few times I've been there, one hour waits restaurant stressed etc, however the good is always excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Dear Suzette, Thankyou for your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us. Apologies for the delay with room service we have been struggling to find staff the past few months, however the team are doing a wonderful job to service our guests as best as possible. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JenCSyd wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia39 contributions30 helpful votes
We recently spent 6 nights at Mercure Townsville and would like to say how comfortable and relaxing it was! The bar/restaurant was well set up with tables and bar tables/stools so very relaxing for casual drinks and food. We found all the team to be friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms were basically appointed, but clean and we even had our room serviced daily! The bed was so comfortable! We were in walking distance to fast food restaurants, a shopping centre and the Supercars track (our main reason for visiting Townsville) so everything was close and easy to get to. We booked taxis for rides into the Town Centre which was simple and easy. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Rignall, General Manager at Mercure Townsville
Responded 23 July 2023
Dera JenCSyd, Thankyou for a lovely review. I like the title as many of our guests especially our long time return guests feel the same way. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again one day soon. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Townsville area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$136 - AU$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure townsville hotel townsville, mercure hotel townsville, accor hotel townsville
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandTownsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE TOWNSVILLE (AU$136): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Townsville
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Townsville?
Nearby attractions include Townsville Museum and Historical Society (1.0 km), Centenary Hotel (1.0 km), and CastleTown Shoppingworld (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Townsville?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Townsville?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Townsville?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Townsville?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Townsville?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grind Co, Celsius Restaurant and Bar, and Billy Beau's on French.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Townsville?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Townsville?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Townsville offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Townsville?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kissing Point Fort (4.0 km) and National Trust Heritage Centre (1.7 km).
Does Mercure Townsville have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.