We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budds in Surfers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Budds in Surfers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of Budds in Surfers
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is probably one of the more poorer hostels I've ever stayed in. We booked this hostel with our Base Jumping Pass which is for a 8-10 bed dorm, but upon check in we were told we needed to pay more money because they didn't have rooms of that size left and we were forced to 'upgrade'. We were not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LindyBopper
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the worse hostel I've stayed at in my life, don't go there. The staff is not friendly at all, they charged me on money, they don't do ANY refunds, its dirty, the kitchen is sooo tiny, the toilets smells really bad and the rooms are very small. Its not social either. Thats all for me :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220elinm
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

We do not refund due to rainy weather despite threats of negative review.

Traralgon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall budds was a friendly and fun place to stay with a brilliant vibe, only complaint would be the lack of air conditioning in the rooms! Had one fan that was attached to the wall that did nothing but circulate hot air, definitely made for an uncomfortable sleep!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imogen Q
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello Imogen Q, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately no, we do not have air conditioning but we are glad you enjoy the vibe and had a good time with us otherwise.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was generally clean, but we felt some itchiness when we slept on the sheets. The night could be quite noisy as the other youth travelers were lingering at the pool below, talking and laughing quite loudly till late. Hostel was within walking distance to Surfers Paradise, with restaurants and eateries, convenience stores nearby. Overall a considerable option for those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stlilo
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello Stlilo, Thank you for your review.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel for one night and thank god! I am not that fussy as I know hostels can be abit rustic but I am well traveled and stayed in a fair few in my time and I must admit this was my worst hostel I have ever stayed in!!! we was booked in a 4 bed dorm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hi Tara B, Thank you for the review, I hope you get a chance to break from the pack and find some cool spots around our beautiful east coast !

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice enough hostel, clean and alright atmosphere, but the staff are way too pushy and forceful for you to go out. They don't take no for an answer. We had flown for 28 hours and just arrived in oz and they wouldn't leave us alone despite us saying we were tired and didn't want to go out. They even followed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello Dan T, We are sorry you found our friendly staff a bit too much. They saw you were drinking at the hostel and just assumed you would like to come out with us! However we have spoken to them about their persistence with travelers so this won't happen again. Safe travels.

Central Russia, Russia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked this place. Courteous and kindly staff, nice atmosphere. Convenient location. 10 minutes walk from the main street with shops, clubs and cafes, prior to the ocean 15-20 minutes. For this price is very good quality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chereshnevat1
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello chereshnevat1, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the hostel before check in and they quite happily showed me about and let me store my bag there for the day. I stayed one night in a female 4 bed dorm. Very clean room, fresh bedding and shower/ toilet block also as clean as can be expected. Hostel is less than 5 mins from a tram stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello Zoe K, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

New Zealand
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I stayed here two days but this is not a good experience. I stayed in a 8 people dorm. It looks a mess when I entered the room. Other's belonging is everywhere on the floor. There should be a locker for each person in the room but I cannot find an available locker as the unoccupied lockers are full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlesTse
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hello CharlesTse, We are sorry you found the rooms too warm. Unfortunately in summer it does get quite hot outside and given that we don't have air conditioning it sometimes becomes difficult to move the hot air out of the rooms once it cools off. We apologize for the locker situation. Unfortunately not everyone respects the rule of 1 locker...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I liked the hostel. Nice rooms, nice atmosphere. Small kitchen, enough space in the showers. They could clean the toilets a little bit better. There is ever night a fun activity. The staff is very nice and there is free breakfast

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca L
BuddsManager, Manager at Budds in Surfers, responded to this review

Hi Bianca L, Thank You for your review, take care on the rest of your journey.

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 km away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#56 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
246 reviews
2.4 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#30 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
170 reviews
3.0 km away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#93 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#29 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
382 reviews
1.0 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#19 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
1.0 km away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#59 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE HI SPEED WIFI, FREE BREAKFAST. Budds in Surfers, backpackers resort is a new approach to backpacker accommodation for Gold Coast and Surfers Paradise. Located in Budds Beach, nestled between the river and the beaches of Surfers Paradise, Budds in Surfers is for the independent backpacking tourist who has a more discerning approach to their accommodation. We promise boutique accommodation at affordable rates in our clean and newly refurbished rooms, with a focus on great service aimed at helping you get the most from your stay in Australia and the Gold Coast. This month only we are offering FREE SURFBOARD HIRE FREE BODYBOARD HIRE. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budds in Surfers

Address: 6 Pine Ave | Budds Beach, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $31 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budds in Surfers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Budds in Surfers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budds In Surfers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Budds in Surfers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I my room you could only use 2 lockers of 4 because the other two were broken. Airco or more fences”
 of 5 bubbles 618biancal, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Depends on how many people you are travelling with, we had a double room with a fan and only used the room to sleep. Sleep was comfortable enough for us to have a good nights sleep. :-)”
 of 5 bubbles meleseken, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Air conditioner need to be installed ”
 of 5 bubbles gregsN8161CM, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Share room with 4 beds”
 of 5 bubbles salvatorem107, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Big room but TV would have been handy which was in the other Double Room below”
 of 5 bubbles W3127MJianc, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5