Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Berkeley on the Beach

25 Northcliffe Terrace Corner Hamilton Av, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
Traveller (106)
SUPERIOR - 2nd Bedroom
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#28 of 124 apartments in Surfers Paradise
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Absolute beach front self contained, self catering apartments in boutique hi rise building. Only 2 apartments per floor ensures privacy. All apartments are 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom to accommodate up to 6 Guests comfortably. The best beach and ocean views on the Gold Coast from all apartments. FREE UNLIMITED Wi-Fi. FREE Secure parking for 1 vehicle. Family Holidays only. NO SPORTING OR OTHER GROUPS.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Beach
Tennis court
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
128Reviews3Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 25
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Adventure428623 wrote a review Oct 2020
Brassall, Australia60 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay, 4 nights in apartment 23 - spectacular views.
Room was pleasant, good air con and had all the amenities of home. Facilities are very good and well maintained.
Car parking is very tight, and wifi not the best but I wouldn’t let that stop your stay.
Management are very good and very welcoming
Thanks for a great stay - we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Yang, Owner at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear Adventure428623, Thank you for your feedbacks and we are glad that your stay was an enjoyable one. Our stunning absolute beachfront view never fails! Thank you once again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Kind regards Tom & Lucy Managers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RobSwindon69 wrote a review Mar 2020
Crewkerne, United Kingdom834 contributions322 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location with spectacular views of the beach. Apartment was massive and equipped with everything you could possibly want for a holiday stay. Nice pool and BBQ area, secure parking and really easy checking and checkout procedures. Perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Y, Manager at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear RobSwindon69, Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We shall see you again in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian Martin wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom326 contributions128 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a well- located tower of apartments just south of Surfer’s Paradise. The views of the beach are good and the facilities are adequate but dated. The place could use a freshen up but, that said, it was clean and comfortable and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cate P wrote a review Feb 2020
Wodonga, Australia9 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our apartment was on the 17th (top) floor which we chose for the view, a personal recommendation of the building but different apartment and location.
The furnishings were stained and dirty, dirty saucepans which were unsafe and no baking dishes. No toiletries and stained and threadbare carpet. The outdated curtains were also grubby. The managers were very helpful and tried to be as accommodating as they could within their decision making ability but the owner chose to reimburse us for the remainder of our stay. That was something I guess.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: don't book room 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tom Y, Manager at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear 622catep, Thank you for your comments and we apologise that the apartment you stayed did not meet your expectation. We will forward your review to the owner for their consideration. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet21464685842 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was beautiful and the view was amazing. You will have to bring your own toilet paper. The way it's set up with the keys is ridiculous.
The staff thou were absolutely rude and mean. They were greedy and selfish. Won't be recommending them until the staff has changed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jake W wrote a review Mar 2022
12 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights in a two bedroom apartment. The views are to die for but the apartment is very tired - cracked tiles, dirty walls, stained carpet and furnishings etc. It's comfortable enough to get you through but the managers are definitely relying on "the seaside view" a bit too much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiwiCat1234 wrote a review Apr 2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand315 contributions127 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This complex is right on the beach, open the windows and you can see the sea and hear the surf. Its 17 floors high and two apartments on each level, so the apartments are very spacious. They are individually owned, so the furnishings are not the same as pictured on the website, and it may be lucky dip to what you get. Its a 5-10 min walk to Cavill Mall and cafes and restaurants. Our kitchen was well equipped, however there were only 2 white wine glasses and the other three wine glasses were the kind you get at food festivals (small) but plenty of plates and cups.

Our disappointments were that our furnishings were a bit dated, including the bed and bedding which seemed to have seen better days. We struggled to find decent pillows, and when we took the pillow cases off (we swapped them with the decorative pillows) they were very stained and old, flat, and lumpy and hadn't seen a wash for a long time. We took the quilted bed cover off our bed and used a blanket instead, and took the blanket out of the cupboard it was stained and smelt bad. The apartment wasn't that clean - the floors sandy and not clean, the fridge shelves dirty, and the tables were not clean, the lounge chairs were filthy - I had to get out the vacuum cleaner and clean before I felt comfortable sitting on the chairs - sand, food, and strangely birdseed between the cushions on the seat.

There are some cleaning products provided one small sachet of dishwash, one for the dishwasher, and two laundry, plus soap in the bathroom (no shampoos etc) and tea, coffee and sugar sachets and long life milk tubs, and you need to provide your own toilet paper. After 7 night's stay the apartments are serviced, so we washed and dried the towels ourselves. There are additional cleaning products available for purchase at reception.

We were requested to clean up before we departed, which we felt was a bit unfair considering we were paying over $300 a night! We were asked to empty the bins (take rubbish out to the basement), do the dishes (wash, dry and put away) and leave the bedrooms and living areas clean and tidy. In all my apartment stays I haven't come across this, and for nearly $2K in rent I wouldn't expect to! We cleaned up and vacuumed, and felt that we left the apartment cleaner than when we arrived.

We were woken up early three out of the six mornings we stayed there - skip bin being emptied, the tram horn, window washers at 7am, and a bench repair man who mistakenly turned up to fix the bench and let himself in at 6.45am (which management apologised for, and so did the bench company)

We wouldn't stay here again. The views are fantastic, the location is handy, and the managers are very helpful and friendly - but not good value for unserviced apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harold W, Owner at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 8 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review and belatedly bringing these issues to our attention, however, we are a bit disappointed that you did not bother to report anything to us at the time of your stay. Most of these issues would have been addressed immediately to your satisfaction if reported. The only interaction that we remember was when assisting you with additional Wi-Fi usage which you appreciated. Most of our apartments are requested and booked by repeat Guests 12 months in advance for the busy Easter/School holiday period. It is not a "lucky dip" as you suggest but what is available at the time you book, especially for later booking. We only offer self catering and not serviced apartments as clearly shown on the Wotif website you booked though. We issue all Guests with a Departure Notice the day prior as a matter of courtesy and request that dishes are washed and put away and that rubbish is removed to the bin, which is quite normal. Who would leave their dirty dishes and rubbish for someone else? Our notice does not request that any other cleaning be done or to "leave bedrooms and living areas clean and tidy" as you state to exaggerate your point. Our notice also requests Guests to advise any maintenance issues prior to departure, and nothing was reported by you. You booked 7 nights during the Easter/School holiday high season and paid a total for accommodation of $1,917 to Wotif (not sure what other charges they made) of which we received $1,686. This is not "over $300 a night!", again an exaggerated claim. You were on the top floor of our hi rise building, and claimed to be disturbed by the garbage truck, and the tram which cannot be heard from our building as it is a block away and does not have a "horn"! No one has ever reported an issue with the garbage truck we have only had good feedback about the convenience of the tram (see other reports). The bench company took full responsibility for their Contractors error, who wrongly took a key marked for someone else, after we had cancelled this job. This has never happened here before, and we have now put new processes in place so that this can never happen again. The bench company representative attended and brought you a gift and apologised personally after we addressed this with them. Window cleaning is done every 3 months and all Guests were notified the day prior with no complaints, except yours. We could not have been all that helpful either, as you report, as you did not give us any opportunity to address any of your issues while you were here, or on your departure. There is not much more we can say, other than to refer travellers to the vast majority of reviews that clearly do not share your views, and to suggest that if something is not right with your accommodation, to be courteous enough to raise it with the Managers at the time and allow them an opportunity to take some corrective action prior to reporting on social media. This, and exaggerated claims do not assist other travellers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bananacaramel wrote a review Aug 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia39 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I first booked the apartment online back home, I was a bit worried that the apartment wouldn't look the same as the photos that they displayed on the website, so I didn't expect too much. However, when we arrived there, we almost fainted seeing how fantastic the apartment was! It was like something that you usually only see in design magazines! It was a huge, clean, modern-designed apartment, with a balcony facing the sea. We even spare a day to just stay in the apartment and enjoy it!
We were also impressed on how clean the place was and how complete the provided amenities were. It had everything that we needed! We didn't have to buy anything for our daily needs because they just provided everything. Check-in and check-out were smooth and the people at the front office were very friendly and helpful. Location is good, very close to the Skypoint and to the tourist centre, which can be reached on foot. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Gold Coast. Thank you Berkeley on the Beach for making our holiday so memorable!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the apartment with a balcony facing the sea.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hazza52, Owner at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 28 Sept 2014
Thank you Bananacaramel for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit soon. Harold & Joan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bljs wrote a review Nov 2018
penrith5 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY.... the room was never cleaned from the last 3 guest. Sand, dust , used shopping bags, food still on cutlery, dirty bench tops and windows you couldn't see out of. Behind the beds was a cesspool of hair and dust/dirt as well as around the old lounge, but as we were told "no one cleans under the lounge"
We asked management about it and all we got was its the contractors fault.
Construction noise from the pool made a family holiday into a giant head ache.
We were never told about he construction going on to the pool, it made relaxing during the day very hard, and to bad if you wanted to sit with the kids by the pool. The noise started at 730 800 am and went through out the day. We would have made our holidays after the construction was finished.
Complaints fell on deaf ears.We lasted 2 days before we moved out the a much better, cleaner apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look before you leap, check the room first....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tomy588, Manager at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 2 Dec 2018
Dear bljs, Thank you for your feedbacks, we do regret that your stay was not an enjoyable one. We like to apologise in regards to our pool renovation, however it is clearly stated on all supplier websites including our own. It is unlikely we making excuse about the cleanliness, we never said no one cleans under the lounge. Housekeeper could missed the areas under the lounge, you may have misunderstood. Also we normally inform our contracted housekeeping to redo the cleaning if our customer is not satisfy. Once again we like to apologise that our pool renovation has caused inconvenience during your stay. Kind regards Tom & Lucy Managers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ronald Y wrote a review Apr 2016
Redbank Plains1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been going to surfers for 16 years, this is the best place i have stayed in.very clean ,stunning views,excellent location,friendly staff joan and herald. Will come back and surely recommend to friends. You definitely have to experience it cauz words cant describe the place only experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hazza52, Owner at Berkeley on the Beach
Responded 23 June 2016
Hi Ronald Y, It was a pleasure to host you and your family for your holiday. Thank you for the best review and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Harold and Joan Managers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miray_h10 asked a question Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, is smoking permitted on the balcony?
Answer from Tarun S
New Delhi, India125 contributions117 helpful votes
Hi Joe, In my opinion this is the best you can get. The location is great and the appartment is perfect. Very beautiful and all amenities you need.
Answer from Tania J
Brisbane, Australia31 contributions47 helpful votes
Hi Willslea.... Yes as TerryScub said small scrub bushes that do interrupt your view a bit depending on where you are in the unit at the time, but you do have a beautiful big fenced front yard to use. You have to walk out the entrance of the building to get down to the beach but it is right beside the building and not really a problem. Enjoy your stay on the Goldie.
Cate P wrote a tip Feb 2020
Wodonga, Australia9 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't book room 33"
Read full review
Traveller 1000 wrote a tip Jan 2019
Sydney, Australia20 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid altogether, you are not guranteed a room, reonvations are deafening"
Read full review
lynette m wrote a tip Dec 2018
Buchan, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were at the front on level 6 and its great not to be up too high as you're living in the view."
Read full review
bljs wrote a tip Nov 2018
penrith5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look before you leap, check the room first...."
Read full review
MareeH245 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Seminyak17 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel provides limited bin bags and toilet paper, so you may want to bring some with you."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Surfers Paradise area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$301 - AU$468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BERKELEY ON THE BEACH (AU$301): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Surfers Paradise) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Berkeley on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Berkeley on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include SkyPoint Climb (0.2 km), iFLY Gold Coast (0.4 km), and SkyPoint Observation Deck (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berkeley on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Berkeley on the Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Berkeley on the Beach?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Berkeley on the Beach?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berkeley on the Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bmd Northcliffe Surf Club, Alfresco Italian Restaurant, and Clifford’s Grill & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berkeley on the Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berkeley on the Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Berkeley on the Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (3.6 km).
Does Berkeley on the Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Surfers Paradise HotelsSurfers Paradise Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Surfers ParadiseHotels near Berkeley on the Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars