We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise

3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1197)
Room & Suite (439)
Pool & Beach (107)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 resorts in Surfers Paradise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mantra Sun City offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches. Facilities include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and dragon waterslide, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade. Start the day with a wholesome family continental buffet breakfast in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00am - 9.30am (Monday - Sunday). **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken. This hotel does not accept cash as a payment method. Credit, debit and prepaid cards are accepted to buy goods and services.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Water park
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
3193Reviews29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,162
  • 999
  • 503
  • 251
  • 278
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Keiron R wrote a review 19 Feb
Port Macquarie, Australia127 contributions53 helpful votes
The Mantra Sun City is our recent “go To” holiday accommodation. We have stayed here on all our recent visits. The apartments are spacious and comfortable, well maintained and quiet. The complex offers a large indoor and outdoor pool areas, Spas and gym. The location is terrific with the light rail to the door and only minutes walk to Surfers Central.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Keironr2014, Thanks for choosing Mantra Sun City for your recent stay on the sunny Gold Coast and providing your top rating. I'm glad to hear of the positive experience you had with us. It is great to read that we could accommodate you with everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time your travels bring you back to the Gold Coast. Warm regards, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
T L wrote a review 19 Feb
1 contribution
The most amazing hotel we have stayed at in Queensland. The apartments were huge, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were lovely and so accomodating and the pool was awesome. We initially stayed 4 nights and then moved onto our next hotel, but the next hotel was disappointing after staying at the Mantra Sun City so we decided to check out after 1 night and go back to Mantra Sun City for the remainder of our trip - we loved it that much! I loved that there were a lot of pool options, it wasn’t overly busy so we were always able to have a sun bed by the pool, we definitely will be coming back. Thankyou for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 1 week ago
Dear B9084YDtI, Thanks for choosing Mantra Sun City for your recent stay on the sunny Gold Coast and providing your top rating. I'm glad to hear of the positive experience you had with us. It's lovely to hear that you were impressed with our customer services and facilities. Your compliment will be passed onto our Team. Our hotel is just a block away from the ocean and we are located on the north side of Surfers Paradise, it is easy to access anywhere as we are only 10 mins away from the centre of Surfers Paradise. We do have great facilities for kids and families - Water slides, indoor heated pool, and indoor/outdoor spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time your travels bring you back to the Gold Coast. Warm regards, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt P wrote a review 16 Feb
1 contribution
From start to finish the staff were not friendly at all. seems like they only interest was up selling you anything that they could bid like McDonald’s would you like fries with that! Family of 4 they chargered $5 per towel just to use there pool, here for 4 days felt I had to reuse towels and wash and dry ourselves. Called reception to ask for coffee in the room as there was two satchels for a 4 holiday and was told I'd need to come down to reception myself to collect it. Breakfast was disgusting. The only hot option was burnt bacon, overcooked scrambled eggs, and baked beans for a buffet breakfast. (nothing else )The cheese, and tomato plate where empty at every breakfast. Always had to ask and wait for it to come out. Every morning there wasn't a table that wasn't cleared of plates, bowls, glasses etc. the poorest quality I've ever come across in 35 years of travelling. Ended up clearing tables ourselves so we could get a seat. $6 per coffee if you can stand poor-quality coffee. Paint falling off the sealing in the indoor pool, looks like it hasn't had a coat of paint in over 20 years. Felt like we're staying at a backpackers hostel as apposed to an Accor establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: From start to finish the staff were not friendly at all. seems like they only interest was up...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 1 week ago
Dear X8467QLmattp, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Sun City - Surfers Paradise. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dodiekas wrote a review 11 Feb
Jakarta, Indonesia18 contributions28 helpful votes
Location near down town Suffer Paradise, beach & next to Tram Shelter. Living in a Service Apartment (1 BR) is very spacious & complete with amenities (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom) except slippers & toothbrush, including washing machine, dishwasher, large refrigerator, microwave, grill, eating & cooking utensils. Balcony overlooking the beach, 2 large TVs, spacious living room & large sofa, dining area. There are several swimming pools (sand & sliding) including an indoor pool, 2 jacuzzi pools so it is very suitable for families, a gym and a sauna. Spacious lobby with 6 elevator lifts so it's easy & fast. Just a few steps to the iconic Suffer Paradise beach, stroll along while jogging. 2 next shelter stops reach down town to shop for all your needs including going to the busy center. Easy access to the airport, Sea World, Warner Bros & Griffith University and all tourist destinations. Highly recommended for your next visit, but low internet signal. Reception staff available for 07am~11pm, daily house keeping & extra towel (swim) with add fee. Low for internet signal
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: More grooming & hospitality
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dodiekas, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan wrote a review 9 Feb
Sydney, Australia8 contributions
Nice and well maintained leisure facilities. Staff tried their very best to make guests feel welcomed. One best example is the staff generally very ok with guests walk around in swimsuits as it is a resort next to beaches and guests tend to be dressed in their most relaxed way. Also the motu, gym, sauna and steam room are very well maintained and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Alan_N1992, Thanks for choosing Mantra Sun City for your recent stay on the sunny Gold Coast and providing your top rating. I'm glad to hear of the positive experience you had with us. It's lovely to hear that you were impressed with our customer services and facilities. Your compliment will be passed onto our Team. Our hotel is just a block away from the ocean and we are located on the north side of Surfers Paradise, it is easy to access anywhere as we are only 10 mins away from the centre of Surfers Paradise. We do have great facilities for kids and families - Water slides, indoor heated pool, and indoor/outdoor spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time your travels bring you back to the Gold Coast. Warm regards, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pris M wrote a review 7 Feb
1 contribution
From start to finish an absolute let down .. I called to say I'd left the floods early so would be arriving early but if rooms weren't available I'd go to a friend's because I understand 2 pm is check in. Man on the phone says it's no problem at all I will call the cleaners now and you can have room by 12. When I arrive the Asian lady says no room til 2 ..no smile, no eye contact just rude. Another man in the lobby had been waiting since 9 am from a long haul flight so that was sad not even he was allowed in and treated so poorly...even an owner of an apartment treated so rudely from Indian reception man. I've worked hotels and it is not hard to have the cleaners call with the rooms available. Anyway I get my room key and head to the lift ..rooms musty smelling and brown but I'm excited to be in the room and see the beach I missed. I then decided to unpack my shopping for my daughters bday but the fridge is hot. I call reception, he came and looked but said U will have to swap rooms the fridge is broken. So after unpacking everything we pack everything back up. Went up to a nicer room because I refused the lower room as it was noisy enough from the new building construction. The pool was filthy,the spa area looks like exposed asbestos and absolutely putrid. The room has a year's worth of crumbs under the oven ...no friendliness, no cleanliness and overall and underwhelming experience. Cafe wasn't open once.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 741prism, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Sun City - Surfers Paradise. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicole Grillo wrote a review 6 Feb
San Diego, California5 contributions
I loved my stay. I got a cheap rate so expectations weren’t super high, I know that I would have gotten more if I paid for more. It was perfect for what I needed, a safe, clean place that was close to main attractions. Check in and check out was super easy, I absolutely would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nicole G, Thanks for choosing Mantra Sun City for your recent stay on the sunny Gold Coast and providing your top rating. I'm glad to hear of the positive experience you had with us. It is great to read that we could accommodate you with everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time your travels bring you back to the Gold Coast. Warm regards, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoldCoastGal68 wrote a review Jan 2024
Gold Coast, Australia103 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
The room looks nothing like the pictures. Very old and doesn't look like it been remodeled since the 80s. First room the tv didn't work so was moved and the second room had a broken air con. There were cracks in the walls and the one chair in the room was 40 years old. The tv was small but the room was that small, could only fit one bed and thats it. The only thing good was the pools and outside spa. Adults weren't allowed on one slide because someone got hurt once so that was dissapointing. The sauna was pretty awesome. The public bathroom was disgusting with mould. (See pic). Surely this is a major health hazard ! The roof looked like it was caving in so I guess there was heaps of water in the ceiling to cause this. Overall, the place is very old and outdated , well the room we stayed in. The view was the main road. The free car park was awesome great. I wouldn't be coming back, plenty of nicer places for the cost. Oh and I guess they don't care about smoking rules because people were vaping in the pool area. When I talked to lifeguard , she said they only have "no smoking" signs and not no vaping. Ummm vaping is smoking. Better look up the qld smoking rules! Was a major turn off especially when I have kids and people can vape smoke in their faces.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear GoldCoastGal68, Thank you for your review. I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are really happy to receive all forms of feedback as it helps us to make improvements where we can. We are very passionate about our room quality and work very closely with our owners of the apartments in updating and refreshing furniture to keep up with the level expected by our wonderful guests. This is of course and ongoing project and we will continue to focus on this as a priority. Again, we do apologise for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is never our intention for our guests to leave disappointed. We truly hope you will give us another opportunity in the future, please speak to our friendly staff and make all requests known so we can take great care of you. Kind regards, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hiba wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The overall facilities are very old, the apartment was nice however and a nice view. The reception staff were rude and not helpful. I had called in advance asking to see if I could check in early because my flight got in very early that morning. When we got in at 9am we were greeted by a very cold receptionist, who told us the room wasn't ready yet which I was fine with. I called again at 11am after we were roaming around and they said they would speak to house keeping staff and see if they could speed it up. We then came back to the hotel at 12 and once again the same receptionist said it wasn't ready yet. We went to the pool to kill some more time came back at 1pm (one hour before the actual check in time) asked again the same guy told us it wasn't ready. So we decided to wait around in the lobby. At 1.30 we asked again if it was ready, to which he said no. At which I said but the actual check in time is in half an hour so are you telling me it's not ready at all, and he dryly said "yes". I then went up to the desk at 2.00pm on the dot and it was miraculously ready with the keys and everything. They were not helpful or accommodating at all. Facilities are not like the photos, it looks so much better in photos. Wouldn't really recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 491hibah, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Sun City - Surfers Paradise. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ross wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
When we checked in 2.30 pm I asked reception if breakfast was available and if Accor card discounts were available for breakfast tomorrow which is Australia Day The answer was yes no problem Went to breakfast to be told the 50% discounts aren’t available on a public holiday But a 15% surcharge was applied So that made it double normal members price plus 15% Then I gave them my 2 free drinks vouchers for coffee to be told they have no value on a public holiday No idea why they had written on them they were valid to and including that date The room was good but I’m not sure why you would pay to be in Accor club with gold status to get what should be a $22 breakfast with a $60 bill 15% is fine as a surcharge but this is double dipping Very unaustralian
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ben Hartono, Guest Services / Front Office at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 1bfc, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mantra Sun City - Surfers Paradise. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mantra, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mantra Sun City Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Surfers Paradise area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$147 - AU$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mantra sun city hotel surfers paradise, mantra sun city surfers paradise
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
266
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANTRA SUN CITY SURFERS PARADISE (AU$147): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise
Which popular attractions are close to Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Nearby attractions include Gold Coast Snow Park (0.1 km), Adrenalin Park (0.4 km), and Stingray (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bazaar, Citrique Restaurant, and Misono Japanese.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Surfers Paradise.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (3.8 km).