We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
USD 117
Expedia.comUSD 146
Algotels
travelup.com
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (265)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (266)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#24 of 194 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the heart of Surfers Paradise and on the doorstep of the famous Surfers Paradise Beach, The Island Gold Coast is the perfect gathering place for guests of all ages to stay, play and relax. Meticulously designed and restored from head-to-toe, the Island’s renewed breath of life pays homage to the natural splendour of a Queensland seaside village with abundant hardwood timbers, native plant life and open facades – bringing the outside, in! Immerse yourself in the Island experience and stay in one of the 98 luxurious, freshly renovated boutique rooms and suites, each with stunning views across either the Surfers Paradise CBD or the Gold Coast Hinterland. Enjoy a meal indoors or alfresco at the relaxing Island Pool Deck and the all new Goldie’s or savour a classically crafted cocktail at the Island Rooftop. If you are looking for a boutique hotel stay the Island Gold Coast will truly set the tone for an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
298Reviews9Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 77
  • 22
  • 10
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jyoosif wrote a review Oct 2023
Hamilton2 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic location close to amenities and to the beach , great time with the family and grandchildren, had fun at the Island pool and spa Nice breakfast collection , lovely staff , wonderful moments
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Meg A wrote a review Oct 2023
Geelong, Australia1 contribution
Wow in the middle of surfers paradise and 2 mins walk from its stunning beach this beauty is a surprise! Funky moody reception. And the rooms are a treat. Funky, great linen and mattresses and heaps of storage if you are staying a while. Great desk space too. My teenager ordered room service several times and it was quick and fantastic. The restaurant breakfast was fabulous. generous, fresh and a great view. Lovely pool and spa. Cannot recommend enough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Tiamarama wrote a review Oct 2023
42 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Easy check in, clean rooms, comfy beds. Location is central to surfers. Easy walking distance to shops and beach. Rooms can be a little noisy at night. We loved we can order food from our room and get delivered to us all by a QR code. Would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check availability for parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Joe M wrote a review Sept 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
CHECK HOW MUCH THEY CHARGE YOU. I ordered food and a drink, and was given a price ( incorrect), and when I questioned it, was told ‘ we’ll I just rounded it up’ by the young male behind the bar. Incredibly cheeky attempt, you have pricing for a reason, and if a customer wants to tip that’s fine, however automatically ‘ rounding up’ from members of staff is incredibly rude and disrespectful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Trip05756545293 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
I recently stayed at The Island for 2 nights when on a work trip. Travelling for work regularly, the hotel experience is typically a fairly monotonous routine. Checking in to The Island after a big day of work and travel however, proved to be a breath of fresh air. My check out experience also proved to be the same! Ella was fantastic on my check out, she seemed genuine and natural in our interaction of the checkout process, whilst filling the space with small talk that did not feel forced in the slightest. This was also consistent when checking in with a lady who’s name I didn’t grab. The hotel itself was clean, providing good value for the price, ideally located in Surfers Paradise and with good food options as room service or in the restaurant down stairs. I will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
pumper06 wrote a review Sept 2023
noosa2 contributions4 helpful votes
Simply the best place to stay on the gold coast. Amazing team of people starting with Deanne and Bec , the service support and welcome is second to none. Rooms are huge, clean tidy and hard to fault, i would have no hesitation in recommending the island hotel weather it be for business or pleasure, it is our 100% go to place on the gold coast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dene H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Hello Pumper06 Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. it's clear that you had an exceptional experience during your stay, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We couldn't agree more with you regarding our team as they are truly amazing. Their dedication to providing top-notch service and a warm welcome is something that sets the hotel apart. It's wonderful to hear that their efforts made your stay memorable and it's fantastic to know that it has become your go-to place on the Gold Coast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Realistic Travellers wrote a review Sept 2023
Northampton, United Kingdom589 contributions211 helpful votes
+1
We only had 1 night here but enjoyed our stay at the island and the staff were friendly and helpful, room was big and lovely with our side view of the sea. breakfast food down in the bar area was good too. the only downside was the wi-fi wouldn't work in the room - luckily we only had a 1 night stay (as experienced by other guests).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dene H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 6 Sept 2023
Hello Realistic_travellers, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable experience overall. Our amazing and helpful staff, spacious and lovely room with a sea view, and the good breakfast in the bar area all sound like highlights of your stay. It's unfortunate that the Wi-Fi in your room didn't work, were you able to reach out to the reception team to troubleshoot it? Apart from this setback, it's good to hear that it didn't overshadow the positive aspects of your visit. WE hope to have you stay again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic66184402984 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
We held our wedding in The Glasshouse at The Island Gold Coast and also had the majority of our guests stay one or two nights at the hotel. It was the perfect venue for the experience we were wanting to provide to our guests. Good hotel and spacious rooms; good hotel facilities (restaurants/bar/pool/function venues); beautiful function spaces; good service by function staff/reservations staff/bar and food staff; good food throughout the hotel and the wedding catering itself; good drinks at every bar; and that fact that most of us were staying at the hotel meant we didn't have to leave resulting in a hell of a good wedding! Jenna (our wedding co-ordinator) and the events team helped us achieve a memorable night/weekend for us all! THANK YOU to everyone involved!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Raminta B, Owner at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 3 Sept 2023
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review and for choosing to spend your special day with us! We are so glad you and your guests had a great time and we will be sure to let Jenna know how much you appreciated her. Regards, The Island Gold Coast Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne J wrote a review July 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We loved our last minute stay, unfortunately we were only there for about 12 hours, booked at last minute and secured a room with ocean glimpses. The staff were welcoming and our room was just what we needed for a quick stay. The Island just had a great feel about it with lots of little areas I would have liked more time to explore.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dene H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Hello FellowTraveler, Thank you for taking the time to send your review, apologies for the delayed reply. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last-minute stay with us, even though it was a short one! Thank you for acknowledging that the staff made you feel welcome. It sounds like your room provided the perfect comfort for your quick stay. It's a shame you couldn't stay longer to explore all the little areas and experiences the island has to offer. Hopefully, in the future, you'll have the chance to return and fully immerse yourself. We truly appreciate your kind words, thank you for choosing us for your getaway!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan W wrote a review July 2023
Brisbane, Australia10 contributions
We stayed here after a party and the room had a king and a queen. It was great for three people and really quiet and nice and dark. The beds were very comfortable. The location is awesome and the venue was amazing for a 21st party as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: You can park in the public parking next door if you have more than 1 car.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dene H, Guest Services / Front Office at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Hello Megan, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hold an event here as well, we're thrilled to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable experience. It's fantastic to know that the room was well-suited for your group of three. We strive to provide comfortable accommodations that cater to the needs of our guests, and we're glad the setup worked perfectly for you. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests have a comfortable stay, and your kind words, we couldn't agree more that a great location can enhance the overall experience. We're glad that our hotel's location suited your needs and added to the convenience of your stay. Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to having you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 120 - USD 198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
islander hotel surfers paradise, islander surfers paradise
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Islander Resort Hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ISLAND GOLD COAST (AU$181): 2023 Prices & Reviews (Surfers Paradise) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Island Gold Coast
Which popular attractions are close to The Island Gold Coast?
Nearby attractions include Fox In A Box Gold Coast Escape Rooms (0.4 km), Lost Locks (0.1 km), and Padlockd Escape Rooms & Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Island Gold Coast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Island Gold Coast?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Island Gold Coast?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Island Gold Coast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, White Rhino Bar and Eats, and Brazilian Flame Bar and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Island Gold Coast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Surfers Paradise.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Island Gold Coast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Island Gold Coast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Post Office Gallery (3.4 km).