We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waterways Luxury Apartments

Waterways 40 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#65 of 124 apartments in Surfers Paradise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A Family Friendly Oasis in the Heart of the City offering some of the most spacious full furnished and self contained 2 and 3 bedroom apartments on the Gold Coast, tranquil gardens and family friendly outdoor pool, undercover BBQ area and fishing pontoon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Fishing
Babysitting
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
48Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 16
  • 2
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Brent G wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great location, awesome staff and very clean apartment. Couldn't fault a thing. We visit Surfers often and will definitely stay at Waterways again. Must also say, my experience with George was nothing short of exceptional. I am in the accommodation industry and understand the value of good customer service. George was outstanding on this front every time we dealt with him. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Rouvas, General Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Hi, Thank you for your great review, The Manager always goes out of his way to make sure the guests are looked after. Our house keeping department is very particular on making sure the apartments are spotless. Hope to see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tevoro wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia63 contributions45 helpful votes
The Waterways apartments are in a prime location, right on a main street in the middle of Surfers. Being a secure complex, we were given detailed late check in instructions by Deborah. The apartments itself was very spacious with a generous living area, spacious rooms and a good sized balcony. Location wise, its perfect, just a short stroll to Surfers main beach and across the road from both Coles and Woolies. There is lots of eateries for around the area too. Perhaps due to the central location, and not sure what was on at the Gold Coast the weekend we were there, but we could hear emergency service vehicles with their sirens on zooming by at night. This is of no fault of the apartment however.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue H wrote a review Sept 2019
Queensland, Australia66 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
3 star accommodation, which for the price we paid was perfect for all our needs, $530 2 nights 3BRM Older complex clean, tidy and spacious Apartment was dated with older but functional bathrooms, furnishings however were current and tasteful Spacious Kitchen/Lounge/Dining area Grounds well kept Good location walking distance to beach/restaurants/Cavill Ave and Tram stations Grocery store/Chemist and bottleshop just over the road Views over the Canal Recommendations If driving - there are 2 visitor car parks, however if these are occupied upon checkin there is no where else to park without blocking drive ways or footpaths so be careful Need locks on Bathroom/Toilet doors, the main bathroom door opens onto the combined bath/shower, which has no shower curtain/screen so can be awkward if someone accidently walks in on you in the shower. Bring Toilet paper as not much is left on arrival, or pop to shops on day 1 and stock up. Open windows and doors to both balcony's for a lovely breeze throughout the apartment, no need to use Air con. Front door keys are sticky be careful not to get them stuck Bathrooms, hot water took time, but got there eventually, also would be good to have a non slip mat in the main bath as it gets quite slippery Need drop box for key upon checkout I dropped them in the locked mailbox at the secutiry gate to the entrance of the Complex and emailed the complex to notify I'd done so, as nowhere else to leave them in reception/basement. Overall, enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alice wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
The apartment itself was ok, a little bit dirty and under the weather but mostly ok. However, the manager George was the rudest person I have ever met with absolutely no respect. As soon as we arrived we were belittled about why we were parked in the visitor parking whilst we waited for friends to come and let us in. He was extremely rude with absolutely no manners or a clue about customer service. Because we were young, he jumped to conclusions and abrasively told us that this was not a party house, and threatened to kick us out. The whole time we were there we were extremely respectful, however, he was still rude and belittling when we asked the simplest of questions (aka asking for toilet paper because none was provided). When we went to check out on the Sunday (at 10 am, the check out time), the reception was closed, there was also no key box or anywhere to leave the keys or check out. We called multiple times and rung the bell multiple times and got nothing. So we then left the keys in the room and an hour later we got an abusive phone call saying we needed to check out through him - however, that was impossible when he was not there. This man needs to learn some serious customer service skills and manners!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Front Office Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 7 Aug 2019
Hello Alice, I believe you misunderstood George, you all being so young, he simply gave you the house rules 'No Party Policy' saying you can have fun etc but please keep noise down after 10pm, as have residents in the Building. As we are holiday apartments, not a hotel, we only supply the essentials to get you going, after that it is up to you. On departure, as you said you rang him several times, he did not get one call from you, he was also checking other apartments for cash bonds, when he realised you had gone and left the keys in the apartment, he only rang you to give you back your $300 cash bond and as we are closed on Sundays he asked for a time you would be here to collect it so he would make sure he was here for you. The booking was also not in your name, did you think we would not realise who this review came from?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amala_92 wrote a review Sept 2018
Gold Coast, Australia55 contributions46 helpful votes
Stayed earlier in the year and found nothing luxury about it compared to other places in surfers ,the manger isn't the friendliest person and made us feel uncomfortable for the extra money stay elsewhere !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Front Office Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 1 Oct 2018
Hi, as you have not said when you stayed or in what type of unit it is hard to respond to your comments, maybe you book a standard 2 bedroom apartment for a cheaper rate than the totally refurnished 2 bedroom executive apartments. Also your comments re the Manager, were you having a party perhaps late at night or to many people in your apartment at night? that he had to say something to you perhaps
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hinde F wrote a review Sept 2018
Gold Coast, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do not recommend going here. George the manger is one of the rudest people I've ever met We had just entered the building before he stopped us in the elevator and instantly belittled us and said we need to have respect for the building (simply because we were carrying balloons for an engagement party in a restaurant for later). He jumped to a conclusion and was so incredibly rude. When we called to tell him how uncomfortable he made us and that he was rude, he said to change our attitude or to find another hotel. When he called us down to the reception he continually threatened to kick us out when we talked to him about it and lied to our faces, trying to change the situation. So many people have written about how awful this man is and he certainly needs to learn how to be a decent human being with manners. No customer service at all. Can't wait for karma to bite you in the back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Front Office Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 24 Sept 2018
The Manager saw all the balloons in the lift and quietly said that we like you to have fun but this building has a strict no party policy. You than rang him 15 minutes later and was verbally abusive to him regarding his comments to you. He came back to the office and asked you to come down and registrar saying we needed either a credit card (not debit) or $300 cash bond for security that is stated on all our websites. You took this as personal, thinking it was only for you. You said you would go to the bank and bring back the cash bond, after 15 minutes your father arrived and the situation was explained to him. You than chose to leave rather than pay the bond and hence forfeited your money for your stay. I think we will let others decide the true story of this event.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MinRuss22 wrote a review July 2018
Toronto, Australia33 contributions8 helpful votes
Wow... We absolutely loved our 5 nights here. The privacy, security, size and design of the Apartment. Balcony front and back on corner and just a truly luxurious meticulously maintained building. George, Deb were truly welcoming and wonderful. The groundsman does a truly spectacular job a credit to him. The grounds are 5 Star. Now the Apartment. I would honestly live here if I could. The full size kitchen, living and dining. 2 bedrooms ensuite and walk in in main. Laundry and main bathroom. BEAUTIFUL. all in a fully secure residential apartment block. A note to the negative nellies. This is a residential apartment complex. You make your own bed, cook your own meals, hang your own towels (or don't but it's all on YOU).. . It is NOT serviced it is a private oasis, home away from home. No intrusions, no being waited on. You want that stay in the one room basic hotel next door. Everything you need is a few minutes walk in any direction. It's a family friendly beautiful Apartment. George and Deb happy to answer questions in business hours or assist in an emergency. Incredible Value for money in heart of Surfers Paradise is incredible and we will definitely be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 2 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Our apartments are a great size and being fully furnished are great for families or couples. We are very proud of our gardens and the way the building is maintained, I will pass onto the staff your great comments of them. People do get confused that we are not a hotel but Apartments so no daily service etc. Being so central in Surfers with our gardens and security, we like to call ourselves, 'Oasis in the heart of Surfers'
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tamara A wrote a review June 2018
Gold Coast, Australia354 contributions173 helpful votes
I have a friend who lives in this building so i have stayed with her on a few occasions and we always hang down by the pool and bbq area, its located on the river about 5 mins walk to Surfers Paradise city and beaches. The room are so stunning this is a luxury apartment and they definitely keep up to a high standard. The pool area and facilities are just amazing everything is so nice and clean, what a great place to holiday when Visiting the Gold Coast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 17 June 2018
Thank you for your lovely review on the Complex
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lgbrisbane2015 wrote a review Apr 2018
Brisbane, Australia78 contributions41 helpful votes
This is a very well maintained apartment block. The garden is beautiful and the apartments themselves are spotless. The couple who are managing it couldn’t be nicer or more helpful. The location is great - 100m from Coles, which would be very helpful if travelling with family. Extremely spacious and far better for a longer stay or a stay with family than a hotel. A lovely spot that is well cared for.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 8 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We think our gardens are beautiful, as we call ourselves "Oasis in the heart of Surfers". Our location is perfect walking distance to everything you need, no need for a car. As our apartments are large and fully self contained, they are great for families, or to have a BBQ in the undercover area on the river whilst you try you luck on the fishing jetty
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RinZu wrote a review Dec 2017
Singapore, Singapore24 contributions2 helpful votes
It is a luxury apartment! Very Clean & Beautifully maintained apartment with fully equipped kitchen, laundry room and everything you need in the house! Stayed in the comfortable 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 teenagers for 8 nights and it feels just like at home. Very close proximity to supermarkets (Coles, Woolworths, etc) and many eateries. There are numerous Halal restaurants and eateries around that open till late. Surfers Paradise and Cavill Avenue is just a few minutes walk from the apartment and so is the tram station. The bus stop to theme parks is also just a few steps away. Both Deborah & George are very helpful. My email was responded very promptly and they provide clear instructions and directions to the apartment. They are very kind and friendly and very easy to communicate with. I’m very impressed with the service provided by them. Thank your for extending our stay. =) We really love staying in your apartment and will definitely return again and of course, will recommend Waterways Luxury Apartment to friends and relatives. Such a fabulous family-friendly apartment! Thank you, Deborah & George! =))
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WaterwaysManagement, Manager at Waterways Luxury Apartments
Responded 5 Dec 2017
Thank you for the great review, was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. Agree we are very central to everything you need including transport for the theme parks, as well as walking to supermarkets, restaurants & cafes. Our apartments are large and fully self contained which is great for families. Also thank you for your kind words about the staff. We like to call ourselves "Oasis in the heart of Surfers"
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Surfers Paradise area.
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WATERWAYS LUXURY APARTMENTS: Reviews (Surfers Paradise) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waterways Luxury Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Fox In A Box Gold Coast Escape Rooms (0.2 km), Lost Locks (0.3 km), and Padlockd Escape Rooms & Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Betty's Burgers, White Rhino Bar and Eats, and Brazilian Flame Bar and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Waterways Luxury Apartments have airport transportation?
Yes, Waterways Luxury Apartments offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Waterways Luxury Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Surfers Paradise.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterways Luxury Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.