We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Islander Backpacker Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Islander Backpacker Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Islander Backpacker Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, in a 4 bed dorm room. In general the location of the hostel\hotel was ideal. The room itself needed a good deal clean and renovation. The bunk beds were bashed up with the ladder to the top being duck taped on. It was dusty and because I was on the ground floor it was crawling... More 

Helpful?
Thank UnitedKingdom44
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear UnitedKingdom44 Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at the Islander. We know our rooms need some refreshing and renovating. We are planning major renovations for the resort including the construction of a brand new backpacker tower. The tower will have its on dedicated reception, large kitchen and common area, chill out zones on each floor, roof top... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

On arrival myself and a friend went to the desk and we were told that there was a high chance that we wouldn't be in the same room to which we said we weren't happy with as we had booked together and if they could do anything to which we were told again that is was very unlikely we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach C
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rach C I'm very sorry to hear you encountered an issue with your booking. As our backpacker beds are sold per bed; not per room, we cannot guarantee that guests who have booked separate beds will be staying in the same room. However we do our best to accommodate all guests needs. I will pass on your comments to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We've been in Australia travelling for 2 months and so far this is the best hostel we've stayed in! Very central! Only need deposit for cutlery and keycard 10 dollos each. Kitchen has more working Hobs than any hostel so far. No air con but they had two fans in the room was lovely. Only bad bit that there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Titan247
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Titan247 Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at the Islander Backpackers Resort. We're so happy to hear you had a great time staying with us. We agree that our location is excellent (just 100m to the beach) and our facilities are great too. Thanks for the feedback on the broken bathroom door - we'll be sure to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

The Islander is in a great location, just 5 min walk to the shops and restaurants and beach, maybe 10 altogether to the nightclubs and bars. BUT it's not a proper backpacker hostel. It's an old hotel that's made some of its rooms into dorms. The kitchen isn't very clean and is like an old restaurant kitchen. Not great for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lazyeyebailey
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear lazyeyebailey Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at the islander backpackers. Thank you also for your kind words about our front office staff, our facilities and our awesome location. You are correct that the Islander Backpackers started it's life as a hotel and was then converted into a backpackers. You will be... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

Great Location...Spacious Clean Room...Good Hotel Facilities and Friendly Staff. The pool is nice and large and the spa is lovely and warm, there is also a tennis court and squash court to use. The parking is also good. Only negative was the lack of height on the shower head. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank John W
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear John W Thanks for your review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at the Islander backpackers. We 100% agree that our staff and location are stand outs for the resort; as are our amazing resort facilities available for all guests to use. Thank you for your feedback on the shower heads. We are planning on an extensive... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when we were in Surfers. Lovely friendly welcome by staff on the reception desk. We booked a four bed dorm, the room was lovely and spacious with very comfy beds. Lockers in the room were really good large enough to fit your whole bag into also it was great to have a dorm room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kate M Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at the Islander. Here at the Islander backpackers we strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms in a fantastic location - it sounds like you experienced just this! Thank you for your comments about our amazing staff as well, we'll be sure to pass this information... More 

mt cook
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights in 4 beds dormitory room 216, Better than I expected, clean room and shower, about 5 minutes walk to beach, close to bus stop and shopping centre, friendly staff They do need to change shower 🚿 room tapware as they super old,

Helpful?
Thank zahid34
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear zahid34 Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We aim to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise. It sounds like from your review this is exactly what you got! Thank you for your comments on the tapware. Please note we have a re-furbishment plan in place which... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

So this review might be just down to a poor experience but we had a terrible time during our stay at islanders. To start with, the place is dirty and not well looked after. We stayed for 4 nights. Not once did the housekeeping clean the bathrooms or the floor, they only changed the sheets of the vacant beds and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah G
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Leah G Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at the Islander Backpackers Resort. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the resort. We want to assure you that we take all guest comments very seriously and have passed on your comments to our housekeeping manager to address. We aim... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2015

not bad at all, nice place you will meet nice people, located just few meter from the beach. you will enjoy to be in the center of everything, all the pubs and fun its just there for you to enjoy. staff is really nice and if you book with time you will not have any problems.

Helpful?
Thank maxrmit
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cattyboi Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your stay at the Islander Backpackers Resort. It's great to hear you enjoyed some of our many free facilities. We're very impressed you cooked curry for 15 people in our kitchen. Thank you also for your honest feedback about the lack of activities provided for the guests at... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

The hostel rooms very much felt like a hotel but shoved some extra beds in. It's wasn't luxury, but we had a good amount of space and half a kitchen with a private fridge. We made good use of the jacuzzi, that was free! The kitchen was great as it had industrial stoves and huge fridges. They were so good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cattyboi
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cattyboi Thanks for your review, we really appreciate guests leaving feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed some of our fantastic free facilities including large swimming pool, spa, tennis court, squash court, backpacker common room and kitchen, and much more. It sounds like you made good use of the kitchen as well. As we offer a variety of room styles... More 

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 km away
Islander Resort Hotel
Islander Resort Hotel
#28 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
346 reviews
0.8 km away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#52 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
285 reviews
1.1 km away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#58 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#30 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
163 reviews
0.3 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#19 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can't get any closer to the action than this! Islander Backpackers Resort is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hostel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Guests can enjoy free use of resort facilities including: • Tropical outdoor pool• Spa • Steam room • Tennis and squash courts Other facilities include:• 24 hour internet cafe• BBQ Area and Sundeck• On-site bottleshop• 24 hour reception• Tour desk• On-site car rental• Comfortable Common Room with lounges, DVD library and big screen TV. You can even record your own video msg and email home to your family on our Holiday Travel TV for free. • Fully equipped industrial kitchen and fridges• Laundry facilities• Games Room• Limited undercover parking. • Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor cafe is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. Islander Backpackers Resort offers twin and double rooms as well as four, five or six share dorm rooms. All rooms include private bathroom, lockers, small bar fridge, TV, telephone (incoming calls only) and private balcony. Linen is provided. Private rooms are also provided with a daily mini service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Islander Backpacker Resort

Address: Cnr Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd | Po Box 344, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $58 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Islander Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Islander Backpacker Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Islander Backpacker Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“RSL which is just nearby offers very affordable breakfast for 10-13 dollars”
 of 5 bubbles jhellesarmiento, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“better to have your own room”
 of 5 bubbles maxrmit, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room 8 all the way, very private!”
 of 5 bubbles rachelo986, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Pay a bit more for a room with less beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 83vmarie, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If your looking for all female. Room 7 a next to the sauna, with a lockable gate. There are two rooms of 4, lounge area, two bathrooms(,one with a bath) and a fridge next to the loungwroom, big enough for everyone to share.”
 of 5 bubbles anursesemail, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay