We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Islander Backpacker Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Islander Backpacker Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I had the best stay ever in a 4 dorm bed rm ensuite ever. All i could ever think of was the share of toilet with everybody esle on the same level but i was wronged when i saw that big bathroom in my OWN ROOM.! with the fridge that available and the big locker.!(do prepare your own lock) They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad firima... A
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

They did not cleaned the room and the bathroom in 5 days...it was a 4 dorm beds though. The windows were not closing properly and the road close to the backpacker was really noisy. The curtain was in a bad shape, pieces of it were on the floor during all our stay. With all the lights from the street, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romain C
delhi , india
Reviewed 13 June 2016

imagine someone cleaning your room but not cleaning the room , yes they change towels but the rest they not even look at , whats lying on the floor or whatever not even they use vaccum cleaner , o they have no time to to talk either never go never go never go despite good location bad breakfast takes the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suneetkamra
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

All in all the Islander Backpacker resort is a big complex with a lot of beds. The stuff is friendly and the rooms big enough. A big minus point: there are current renovations and I woke up very early because of them. It was imposaible to söeep longer then 7/8 am!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piis96
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

The hostel was incredibly quiet, which isn't necessarily a problem but I didn't see many other backpackers at all and I was there for four nights. My bed has given my really bad bites from bed bugs so I've had to clean everything and the staff were not friendly. All in all a disappointing stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe E
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for several nights with a group of friends. We had pre arranged to stay together (filling a dorm) but on arrival were told that this was not guaranteed. All except one staff member we spoke to about this were terribly rude about it. I was made to feel a liar as i was told that their staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Danielle H Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander. I'm sorry to hear you found our staff rude - there is a lot of pride in our team and providing friendly customer service. It is correct that we cannot guarantee guests who have booked dorm beds will be allocated the same...

Catania, Italy
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Very good hostel with nice staff, clean swimming pool and very well located. I think the common aeras could be better because they are not very used and it s difficult to meet some people there. Just one point about the housekeeping, the bathroom in the rooms really need to be cleaned every day, because once for three nights is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Anne M
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marie-AnneM Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander. Thank you for your warm words about our facilities and location. Thanks for your honest feedback about the common areas and social activities of the hostel - we know we have some work to be done here. You will be pleased to...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights sharing with 5 other people and they are all nice. What I like about this hostel is that it is very near the beach, tram station, shops and must-try foodies. I forgot to bring a towel and fortunately they have available ones for rent for $ 2.00. The only thing i didn't like is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhellesarmiento
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear jhellesarmiento Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear you loved your dorm mates and the hostel's location. We're also delighted to hear that you found our staff helpful. Apologies for not having a fan in your room waiting for you. We use pedestal fans in our hostel rooms and they are moved...

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hostel is dated and the rooms look like they haven't been renovated in a while. Am think they are liveable. The facilities are the best part of the hostel and has a nice pool. The kitchen gets a little messy but this is due to the people and not the hostel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B Thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us; we really value all of our guests feedback as it ensures we are constantly improving the resort for all future guests. You are correct that our rooms are a little tired. We've decided to undertake major renovations for the resort including the construction of a brand new...

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Reviewed 21 January 2016

I stayed for 3 nights. The best thing is so close to the Surfers Paradise beach, 10 min for a walk. Food, shops and attractions are nearby. A room was clean and comfy with a good view to the city. Hospitable staff members. Outdoor pool is available. However, I didn't like the noise from Schoolies, but you can't avoid it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boldkhuu
irh, National Sales Executive at Islander Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Boldkhuu Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at the Islander backpackers. We 100% agree our location is amazing as are our free facilities (pool, spas). Thanks for your kind words about our staff - we think they do a brilliant job looking after guests. We're sorry to hear you experienced noise pollution due...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 km away
Islander Resort Hotel
Islander Resort Hotel
#28 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
347 reviews
0.8 km away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#53 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
285 reviews
1.1 km away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#58 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
387 reviews
1.5 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#29 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#18 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You can't get any closer to the action than this! Islander Backpackers Resort is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hostel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Guests can enjoy free use of resort facilities including: • Tropical outdoor pool• Spa • Steam room • Tennis and squash courts Other facilities include:• 24 hour internet cafe• BBQ Area and Sundeck• On-site bottleshop• 24 hour reception• Tour desk• On-site car rental• Comfortable Common Room with lounges, DVD library and big screen TV. You can even record your own video msg and email home to your family on our Holiday Travel TV for free. • Fully equipped industrial kitchen and fridges• Laundry facilities• Games Room• Limited undercover parking. • Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor cafe is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. Islander Backpackers Resort offers twin and double rooms as well as four, five or six share dorm rooms. All rooms include private bathroom, lockers, small bar fridge, TV, telephone (incoming calls only) and private balcony. Linen is provided. Private rooms are also provided with a daily mini service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Islander Backpacker Resort

Address: Cnr Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd | Po Box 344, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $58 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Islander Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Islander Backpacker Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Islander Backpacker Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“RSL which is just nearby offers very affordable breakfast for 10-13 dollars”
 of 5 bubbles jhellesarmiento, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“better to have your own room”
 of 5 bubbles maxrmit, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room 8 all the way, very private!”
 of 5 bubbles rachelo986, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Pay a bit more for a room with less beds.”
 of 5 bubbles 83vmarie, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If your looking for all female. Room 7 a next to the sauna, with a lockable gate. There are two rooms of 4, lounge area, two bathrooms(,one with a bath) and a fridge next to the loungwroom, big enough for everyone to share.”
 of 5 bubbles anursesemail, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay