We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Denison Boutique Hotel

233 Denison St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs in Rockhampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Denison Boutique Hotel offers luxury accommodation that will take you back in time. Built in 1885 it has been beautifully brought back to life. Starting with the choice of being picked up from the station or airport in a 1938 Rolls Royce, then delivered to our establishment which is surrounded by roses and hedged gardens. Each room with their 4.8m high ceilings and period style furnishings will give you the relaxed feeling of being some where totally luxurious. The Denison Boutique Hotel provides for our guests the highest quality comforts, a king size four posted bed, two person spa, 42” plasma television and wireless internet, while complemented with a high standard of friendly service. All of these features and benefits, including a gourmet breakfast for each guest daily will complete your experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English
341Reviews0Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 97
  • 25
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Fiona S wrote a review Feb 2024
Emerald, Australia4 contributions
Wow oh wow! absolutely incredible! This was a dream come true! Huge sumptuous room, with towering 12 foot ceilings. Filled with stunning reproduction furniture. Lavish corner, spa. Everything you could possibly need for a glorious weekend away together.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct and you get a free continental breakfast. In the beautiful dining room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terri H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Beautiful room clean quiet. A haven in the city and a Real break from the busy. Perfect for business travelers. Different from the normal motel room puts a spring in your step when you get underway again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Dear Terrih7177, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Megan R wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
+1
The room was amazing, spa bath was fantastic.I woke up by feeling something blowing freezing air on my neck and my back this happened 4 times other than that I will definitely be staying there again loved it. The bed was probably the best I have ever slept on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Dear N8879FJmeganr, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
garyharvey1 wrote a review Oct 2023
Mackay, Australia32 contributions6 helpful votes
Very nice room with all modern amenities. The only drawback to the location is limited dining options nearby. Given that I stayed there on a Public Holiday , that part of town is very quiet. Good location for rail enthusiasts.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fiona G wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
Please ignore the odd balls who gave negative reviews. This place is beyond brilliant. Four poster beds big enough to play tennis in, and a jacuzzi in your huge colonial room, at the same cost as a faceless highway motel. Seriously good value
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear 493fionag, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bwana Safari wrote a review Aug 2023
Brighton, United Kingdom185 contributions100 helpful votes
We were not impressed. Rooms are very old and musty smell. Furniture not clean, awful dust trap over huge four poster bed with very lumpy mattress. No separate bathroom and shower curtain too small for bath. Tiny, inadequate amenities for two and one small towel rail. Reception staff unfriendly and incompetent and so the list goes on. Location is odd - in light industrial area but across the road is the Great Western which is an old pub hostelry with character. Only redeeming factor is the Continental breakfast which is very good value. Not recommended and definitely a not return for us. Poorly run, strange place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Dear JokeBels, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. However labelling our staff as 'incompetent' is very inappropriate. Our building is almost 150 years old and can still collect a fair amount of dust which our housekeeping staff work very diligently to maintain everyday. Our website as well other third party booking sites do display the layout of our room/spas, as well as where our building is located. which you could've seen pre-booking. Amenities are replenished everyday when rooms are serviced. Staff would've happily provided extra had you requested it. We're sorry to hear you will not be returning to our establishment as you believe it is poorly ran, and strange. Kind Regards, Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris A wrote a review Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia59 contributions31 helpful votes
Excellent location near railway station and the joy of seeing trains going up and down the actual street. It's a short distance from the CBD. Staying in a wonderful 19th century building with huge ceiling heights and recreation 'old' furniture. Excellent continental breakfast provided if you book directly with them?) Room is very spacious with spa bath. Only negatives are the lack of natural ventilation and the toilet which is literally a wc (water closet).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: if near the pub side it may get a little noisy and there is also road noise which diminishes as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Dear ChrisAbb, Thank you for taking the time to leave is your review. We are delighted to here that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RvO58 wrote a review July 2023
64 contributions20 helpful votes
A fine example of Victorian architecture that has been tastefully renovated. Close to the CBD. Comfortable. Simple continental breakfast available. Recommend ground floor for anyone with mobility issues. Open on-site parking. Drawback: hotel is located at the intersection of a busy road and railway freight line. If you want a quiet retreat then this is probably not for you. Otherwise, it’s great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not a quiet retreat
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2023
Dear RvO58, Thank you for taking the time to leave is your review. We are delighted to here that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D698 wrote a review May 2023
Perth, Australia40 contributions48 helpful votes
Wow what a large room. Great spa bath and shower. Four poster bed. Fridge stocked. Substantial continental breakfast. Old antique furnishing. Rail line nearby didn’t bother us as only trains a couple of times. Parking included. Better than expected. Staff helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 18 May 2023
Dear D698, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janis F wrote a review Mar 2023
Cairns, Australia7 contributions
+1
Our second visit to Denison's was just as good as the first. The rooms are beautifully appointed with gorgeous timber furniture, 4 poster beds and a spa bath. The beds are so comfortable my husband said it was his best sleep ever. The building is heritage listed and opposite the Great Western Hotel. The dining area is lovely and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We will keep coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs request a downstairs room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denison Hotel, Marketing at Denison Boutique Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2023
Dear Furzie555, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Denison Boutique Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rockhampton area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$132 - AU$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandRockhampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DENISON BOUTIQUE HOTEL (AU$132): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Rockhampton) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Denison Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Denison Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rockhampton Museum Of Art (0.7 km), Riverside Precinct (0.5 km), and Great Western Hotel - Arena (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Denison Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Denison Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Denison Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Denison Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Denison Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include TruFusion Indian Bar & Grill, Giddy Goat Cafe and Bar, and The Two Professors.
Does Denison Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Denison Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Denison Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting CBD Heritage Walk Rockhampton (0.6 km) and Rockhampton Customs House (0.8 km).
Is Denison Boutique Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.