We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Apartments at The White House Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Whitehouse is in a great location, near the beach, not far from town. Unfortunately the place was a little disappointing. The rooms were tired, and a bit dirty. One night we used a blanket from the spare room because it was a bit cool and it was dirty and frayed and just not something you expect at a place...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gdkoz
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Oh dear, Gdkoz, what a pity you didn't say anything while you were here, so that I could look into it, because your experience doesn't sound like that which our guests usually have. We have been replacing all the blankets - perhaps because you only booked one bedroom, the blanket in the second bedroom was one of those not replaced...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We returned to Port Douglas and again stayed at the White House Apartments. It has 9 apartments and so it is quiet. Margaret was again very helpful and organised bus pick up and return at the airport as we did not get a car this time. White House is in a perfect location across the road is a park and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DarynP
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, DarynP, it is a pleasure to have you as regular guests! I'm glad you had another good experience, that's what we hope for with our visitors. As you know, all apartments face either east or north-east so the outlook is always pleasant.

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've just returned from two weeks in beautiful Port Douglas and although the weather left a bit to be desired, my apartment in the White House made up for it. I was in a 2 bdrm apt which had a fantastic view over the park across the road from the lounge room, balcony and master bedroom. Then it is just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CountryOzzie
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

CountryOzzie, I hope you come back soon for another visit, you'll be so welcome - and there's yet another gadget for you to enjoy; a coffee machine so that you can even have fantastic coffee without going across the park or along the main street! Hmm, what else can I think of that would make your stay even more pleasant?

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Whitehouse is ideally located just a short stroll from both Four Mile Beach and the town centre. The rooms are spacious and well-maintained offering a small balcony with furniture. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was big enough for a family with two grown children. The apartment was well equipped with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AvidTraveller60
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you AvidTraveller60, you said it all, really! Well maintained, well equipped and ideally located - what more can I add? We get a lot of comments on how quiet it is here, both the complex and the area. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, that's exactly what we want and try to ensure for all of our guests. We've...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a family vacation. We were 4 people - a couple, a grandma and a toddler. We shared a spacious and well-appointed 3 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable, fairly basic, slightly dated, but clean and everything worked well. There are ceiling fans throughout and individual air conditioners in each room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JCannuck2013
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you, JCanuck, for taking the time to write a review, and say such nice things. Now that we're not quite so busy we're doing some renovations, so we'll look at the idea of balcony furniture with cushions. Glad you found the apartment spacious, most of our guests do comment on that, as well as the ideal location. Look forward...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We said we would return and we have. Again, great location well situated for the beach and town. Having breakfast on the balcony listening to the bird life is a joy. Plenty of space, quiet and well appointed with ceiling fans and air conditioners. Plenty of parking, even if some is across the quiet street.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John O
Margaret W, Manager at Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you again, tripaccount. Good to have you as more of our repeat guests, it's lovely to see friendly faces coming back again and again. I think our large balconies are one of the most popular aspects of our apartments, if you were out there now you'd hear the lorikeets carrying on a treat!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have been travelling to Far North Queensland annually for the last 20 years and have stayed at The White House in Port Douglas for the last 4 years. The Apartments are spacious and clean with a lovely comfortable feel and are priced really well. I have stayed in many accommodation places over the years in the region and I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kathy b
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We just spent 3 days at the White House in Port Douglas and had a very pleasant experience. The place was recommended by friends who live in Melbourne. Margaret, the manager, was very helpful and friendly. She helped us arrange tours to the rainforest and the GBR and gave great recommendations. Because it was a holiday weekend, many restaurants were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MargoJames
Vic
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was my third stay at The Whitehouse, and after trying two other self contained holiday apartments on previous occasions, I will always be staying at The Whitehouse for my annual holidays from now on. It is a true North Queensland experience; the building has the feel & look of a Queenslander & the tropical surroundings are so pretty. My...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sandyzzz
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We (family of four) stayed at the White House which looked and sounded great on reviews but quite frankly a disappointment. The view of the water was blocked by trees, the rooms were a bit dirty. Kitchen appliances very annoying and hard to use. Only has a parking space of about 4 cars. The manager was a very nice lady...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nizmo100

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
126 reviews
0.2 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 44 in Port Douglas
860 reviews
0.3 km away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Balboa Holiday Apartments
Balboa Holiday Apartments
#16 of 58 in Port Douglas
166 reviews
0.2 km away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.1 km away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 58 in Port Douglas
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Apartments at The White House Port Douglas, a delightful example of "Queenslander" architecture, nestles amid tropical gardens enhanced by myriads of colourful butterflies and birds, beautifully positioned opposite a park leading directly onto famous Four Mile Beach. Only 9 large, airy apartments – 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, each with full kitchen & laundry & breezy balconies looking over the park onto the beach, around the corner from the main shopping and restaurant precinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apartments at The White House Port Douglas

Address: 19 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $121 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments at The White House Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Apartments at The White House Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments At The White House Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apartments at The White House Port Douglas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Apartments at The White House Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front-facing rooms have view of the beach and balconies with chairs and table”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor. Overlooking the park toward the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles ceamwilson, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in 208 and i couldn't recommend it!”
 of 5 bubbles Lewisfamily1, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the side have bigger balcony”
 of 5 bubbles colinsT8372UB, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“We had 2 apartments and both were ideal for us”
 of 5 bubbles dhels16, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay