We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments

26 - 28 Reef St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (68)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 37 hotels in Port Douglas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beach-side location at Four Mile Beach, Port Douglas. 12 self catering apartments in Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom styles. These spacious apartments are ideally located beach-side, and centrally located for all Great Barrier Reef, rain forest and tableland tours. Experience your home away from home in elegant comfort and tropical style. Port Douglas is a destination which truly provides an adventure of a life time experience combined with the comfort of your accommodation, you simply won't want to leave...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Bicycle rental
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Hidden Gem
83Reviews4Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 23
  • 2
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
HeatherF wrote a review Nov 2023
Launceston, Australia1 contribution
+1
Highly recommend this small apartment block with its tropical feel and great location a few minutes drive from the centre of town. Four Mile Beach is at the end of the street, a short walk, and theres a great pub across the road. We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor overlooking the pool, balcony, polished boards, gorgeous colonial timber furnishings, spotless bathroom. Kitchen big enough and equipped if you wanted to cook but we ate out - holiday! Air conditioning worked and there was private parking under cover for our hire car. Very quiet, a lovely pool and spa area too. We would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get out to the Great Barrier Reef, however you can!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Wladysiuk, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Responded 17 Nov 2023
Thank you, it was a pleasure hosting your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marie-Christine G wrote a review Aug 2023
Ruby Bay, New Zealand133 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Super location only steps from 4 mile beach, awesome staff (Meghan and John). Super helpful at all times. Quiet location away from Port Douglas city proper and all the other hotels etc. Still very easily accesible by local shuttle and for tour pick-ups. Awesome accommodation that felt cheerful, comfortable, quiet, clean and very spacious. Close to wildlife Habitat and IGA. Pub across the street was fun and local.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Wladysiuk, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Thank you Christine, it was a pleasure hosting your stay and Megan is very grateful for your tips.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric H wrote a review July 2023
7 contributions
I was here for a week and this was perfect. Small colorful quiet with pool, a few apartments not hotel room, just down a short street from long wide undeveloped beach. A couple of miles outside of Port Douglas in residential area so it was good to have a rental car. I dove about every other day, and it is about 10 minutes from the marina. I also saw the Ramada and Silkari which look fine but are big resorts, and this gives more unique personal feel. I wish I could’ve stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I had a one bedroom unit which was a lot of space for one person, a couple would use this well
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Wladysiuk, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Responded 16 July 2023
Thank you Eric... Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Seaside1001 wrote a review May 2022
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
A wonderful find, it’s a little out of town but it makes up for that in character and tranquility. The apartments are brightly coloured, spacious and have a lovely personal touch with the dream catchers all around. It may not be everyone’s taste but we loved it and John was great - helpful and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Kai restaurant across the road did great food! Visit Mossman Gorge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Wladysiuk, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Responded 23 May 2022
Thank you. It was a pleasure hosting your stay. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Niki I wrote a review Apr 2021
Cairns, Australia400 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
We usually stay in the heart of Port but found this little apartment just out of the town and decided to give it ago. The place was lovely. Very comfortable apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool. Apartment was well equipped if you chose to cook for yourself and there’s also a bbq in the pool area. There’s a nice pub across the road and the beach is less than a minute walk away. The apartment complex was small and quiet which was great for a relaxing weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Colin C wrote a review Dec 2020
Cairns, Australia58 contributions51 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas period, John the manager went out of his way to make the apartment comfortable for us without intruding, for a holiday apartment the size was quite generous, it’s an older place but clean and comfortable, not the Hilton or other luxury place but not the price either, the apartment suited us and there were no issues so 5 stars is justified.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kitty_kattp wrote a review Mar 2020
Banstead, United Kingdom393 contributions166 helpful votes
If you are not looking for high luxury and want more a comfy home-stay style place then you cannot go wrong. Yes, the apartments are a little lack-lustre and tired, however you have everything you need and they are very spacious. Staff were helpful and friendly and check-in and check-out was very easy. The apartments are very close to four mile beach and a 5 minute drive into Port Douglas (either rental or local shuttle service). There is a bar and restaurant directly opposite for those that do not want to venture into town and (aside from the birds) it is a very quiet area. I would definitely return and would recommend for a short stay to other travellers. Beware of the green ants on the balconies though, you get a bit inundated!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Charles wrote a review Oct 2019
58 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had booked in for a week and after finding many problems in the apartment I asked John (owner) to view them (had tried phoning on 3 separate occasions but no reply and also knocked on office door, although he told us on arrival that he was always contactable!). The key issue was that the apartment has and had not been maintained. Pity, because the apartments could be lovely and the location is great for the beach. The room sizes are generous and it is a small complex. But where do I start. - TV picture pixelated and remote control didn't work (until I scraped away the corrosion on the terminals!) - So I tried the mini-HiFi; shouldn't have bothered. CD lid didn't close and radio found no station. It even had a cassette deck...now that dates it! - the central two spot lights started flickering after approx 90 mins so had to be turned off. - only one spot light (from 4) in kitchen area worked. - it was great that a coffee maker was provided and capsules. But the cups were standard size so couldn't fit onto the tray! Ended up using the sugar bowl!! - the top of the microwave was badly stained and marked in several places. It needed a good clean - bathroom door handle was coming away from door - bathroom spotlights hanging down by their wires (how safe is that?!) - chrome toilet brush holder was badly corroded - no soap and shampoo in bathroom - chipping boards were stained and had should have been thrown out a long time back - cutlery drawer was badly stained - glass topped dining table wobbled like a see-saw so made meals interesting as we ' synched' cutting food! - throom basin plug was dirty - faecal droppings behind TV (hidden by HiFi speakers until removed by John....but he didn't even clear them up! - fridge temp could not be changed as knob wasn't there - hole in both lounge and bedroom insect screen, rather defeating object of having them - live cockroaches found crawling around in crockery cupboard, wardrobe area (crawled out of wife's jacket as she went to put it on) and a few more wandering around lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Anything to do with holes in screening?? John seemed a bit nonplussed and uncomfortable so I didn't get a chance to go through the full list. unknown to us he returned the following day when we were out and changed the non-working spotlights and threw the mini-HiFi in the external bin. His attempt at fixing the bathroom door handle didn't work; it was just as bad as before. He left a note saying that all had been fixed and that the corrosion on the toilet brush holder was due to the salt from the ocean! Methinks it has more to do with uric acid and not being replaced regularly. I am sure John will respond to deny / make excuses / make out that the apartment was lovely and worth what we paid, but it was not. The acid test is would you go back. We certainly wouldn't. It was a big disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from John Wladysiuk, Owner at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Responded 15 Nov 2023
No refunds on day of arrival, no matter how nasty you try to be. I'm not your doormat. You had plenty of time to check the location of the property to be where you preferred, and when you arrive and find you made an error, then you try to strong arm a refund, for which several other bookings were knocked back and could not be resold once your arrival date came up. What you call "nonplussed" was the hotel policy in place, which by making a reservation you contracted to. Making up nasty lies to attain revenge for your own doing, I will agree has me nonplussed. You were far from my first rodeo, who ends up outing themselves by leaving reviews out of character to most other guests comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim Walton wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We found everything welcoming and of high standard. The operator Tony was a great guy full of local information which led us to top food spots and out on the limb adventures. Many thanks for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upstairs among the palm tree and birds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew H wrote a review June 2019
Melbourne, Australia14 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the second level. The apartment has its own balcony overlooking the pool and well kept gardens. The apartment has a great design with bold colours and with lots of flow-through ventilation, backed up by airconditioning. The kitchen and laundry facilities were much appreciated and easy to use. The pool is great, towels are supplied and a bbq is available. The host John is very friendly, available 24/7 on the phone to assist with any issues, although happily we didn't have any.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Second level overlooking the pool was perfect.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Douglas area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$172 - AU$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandPort Douglas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DREAMCATCHER HOLIDAY APARTMENTS (AU$172): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Port Douglas) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Agincourt Reef (0.3 km), Four Mile Beach (2.7 km), and St Mary’s by The Sea chapel (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
Is parking available at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Epicurean Port Douglas, Melaleuca, and Capannina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Anglican Church Mossman (12.6 km).
Is Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.