We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas

121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (296)
360
Panoramas (67)
Room & Suite (281)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 16 resorts in Port Douglas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Reef Resort Port Douglas offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. All bedrooms are air-conditioned. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools (tha main one is heated in winter and cooled in summer) and a family BBQ area. The tour desk at Reef Resort can arrange trips to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Salon
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
760Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 290
  • 163
  • 78
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Paul S wrote a review Nov 2023
New Zealand105 contributions80 helpful votes
Ideally situated a couple of kilometers outside the main centre in a quiet area. Very quiet neighbours! This is a privately owned and run unit within a resort. The resort itself has a great swimming pool but the bar and restaurant are closed more often than not and not to be relied upon! The unit mangers are friendly and responsive, couldn't ask for more. Can warmly and enthusiastically recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tristan G wrote a review Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
This was a lovely little place. Check in was good, staff were friendly and had a ready smile. The unit was something you could live in full time, clean, all the standards you need. Beds were comfy, air con worked well. The private parking spot in our particular unit was a little tricky to get into, but most others looked easy enough. We didn't really use the pool, restaurant or other amenities on site as we were only staying for one night, so can't comment on them, but the pool area itself looked quite nice on quick inspection. It is a little bit out of "town", so don't expect to walk out the front and immediately be in the middle of Port Douglas. Would require a car or taxi/uber to get in and out (only 5-10 min drive).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Em2 wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia256 contributions50 helpful votes
We had a great 10 day stay at the Reef Villas in Port Douglas. Our apartment was really comfortable and clean. From my understanding, a lot of them are decorated differently as they are privately owned but we were very happy with our apartment and could not fault it! Beds were comfy, air con worked well and it was set up with everything we needed. The pool is fantastic! We’ve stayed in Port Douglas a few times at different places and it’s definitely one of the better pools in town. The water is the perfect temp, it has shallow bits for kids but also deeper areas for swimming too. The gardens around the pool are beautiful and tropical which also gives the shade needed on those warm days. There aren’t heaps of deck chairs, but when we were there it was never full so it didn’t seem to be an issue. The resort is out of town, we hired a car which made travelling in and out nice and easy, however there are plenty of shuttle buses that come through if you need. The restaurant is good as well, although it wasn’t always clear from the pool area on the opening hours (there is a sign on the front door though). You can order through the app from the pool area and they will bring your drinks and food straight to you. We had a great time here and would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachael T wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
This was a disgusting, outdated and dirty apartment. The website is deceiving. It is not a resort but instead a management property for privately owned villas. The quality of the villa depends on the owner. Appliances not working or ancient. The villa hadn’t been updated since built in the 70s. Reception couldn’t help in any way to change apartments. Many villas appear to be lived in by locals as low cost housing. Do not stay here, you will regret it. Completely over priced for very unsatisfactory accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris and Beryl W wrote a review Aug 2023
16 contributions4 helpful votes
Needs such a pull through. Dated and feels quite dirty. Mould in the shower is not OK.. we showered with jandals on because it was gross. Lovely big apartments, and pretty surroundings. Great that the shuttle taking us to town was so easy to call and frequent. If apartments got a tidy up and a good clean, this would be a lovely place. I definitely don't think it's a 4 star accommodation..2.5 to 3. Very expensive for what it is
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melinda A wrote a review July 2023
4 contributions
This was a very disappointing experience for my family. Yes the room was outdated in areas but this should not be advertised as a resort as no bar or restaurant open and no BYO in pool area allowed. Also advertised xbox room but this was locked up and not is use. Pool was advertised heated but water was cold and pool and grounds was extremely run down. The gym door was broken and hanging off hinges. A lot of units are permanent residents and a few older residents came out and told other families in the pool during the day off for screaming and playing loud. An airbnb would of been better. This was a very disappointing part of our holiday. We ended up going to another resort that allowed guests and used the pool and purchased food and drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Never would stay here again
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reef Resort, Owner at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Dear Melindaa874 Thank you for providing your feedback. With regard to the bar we are open 7 days a week. For the restaurant during peak times we have been open for dinner 5 nights a week and lunch was available 6 days a week. The pool area is licensed hence no BYO. The xBox room is open daily when the reception building is open. The door is not locked which I am sure the reception staff would have advised you. The pool is in fact temperature controlled and is around 28 - 29 degrees. There is a second pool within the resort that is not heated. Reef Resort Villas.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GoldyFunken wrote a review July 2023
Sydney50 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed in unit 113, which we won through a Charity gala event. The unit is very old style, in need of renovation, but a really good large size and still functional. The beds were comfortable, and it was great to have air conditioning in each bedroom. The big hit of this resort is the lagoon pool and caves - our kids spent hours there! Such a nice place to relax and swim. The staff were friendly, and the resort is a short 5 mins from town, so that was okay with a hire car. We had some noisy neighbours though that woke us up at 1am twice in the week (different people each time, both sets were drunk) - we might have been unlucky, but that was really annoying. Overall, the resort is good for the price, and we had a good time. It would be good if the resort could renovate some of their units.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Colonel2222 wrote a review July 2023
Perth, Australia32 contributions15 helpful votes
The facility itself is old and dated. It doesn’t appear much maintenance has been done on the interior. The same as other reviews, doors, draws, blinds are broken and the utensils are lacking in number and old. Mould in bathrooms due to no ventilation fans and vanity door has deteriorated due to excessive moisture. Door hinges in kitchen don’t work and doors don’t close leaving them wide open. The grounds and pools are nice however, as a pool owner, I could tell from the cloudy pool water that it was low in chlorine and other required chemicals to keep it balanced (and safe). I instructed my children not to put their head under. The “resort” is far from town so you’ll need a car and designated driver (police everywhere). The biggest negative of this place is the staff. I agree with other reviews, very rude and unhelpful. Unhelpful is an understatement, it is as if they deliberately try to be difficult and ruin your day, even with very basic requests e.g. can I please exchange my pool towel for a fresh/clean one after using it for four days. Can I please get an extra fork as my daughters are sharing a salad for lunch. Restaurant food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reef Resort, Owner at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas
Responded 22 July 2023
Dear Colonel2222 It is always disappointing that people resort to calling our staff rude when things don't go their way for whatever reason. I can assure you it is never a deliberate response to whatever the issue is. With regard to the pool this is taken care of by a specialised pool company and is tested daily to ensure it is within "safe" limits. Regards Reef Resort Villas.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katrina L wrote a review July 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
I am truely disappointed and disgusted in the accomodation and the way things were handled while we were there. Our complaint wasn’t taken seriously and staff were very unhelpful. There were several issues when we arrived, like mould and rust through bathroom, rotting door that was tapped together with masking tape, the top bathroom flooded, there were unusable unhygienic kitchen utensils, Carpet was disgraceful, windows were filthy, dark and dingy, there was a dead frog in the cupboard a pot plant on display was gaffer taped together, the top deck was rotting through, We were also in a villa right on the highway so it was incredibly noisy.There was a plumping issue out our door and it was flooding, There were lights that didn’t work and when replaced the dead bugs and flies that were in the old light fitting were just tipped on the floor and in the toilet of our villa!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Naomi wrote a review Mar 2023
Blackburn, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
The older woman at the main reception with red hair was extremely rude, unapproachable & unkind. She is in the wrong job and shouldn’t be working with people. It doesn’t cost anything to be a nice person.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reef Resort, Owner at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas
Responded 22 July 2023
Dear NaomiLara I am not sure you have reviewed the correct place as we do not have anyone working here that matches this description. Regards Reef Resort Villas
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Douglas area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$148 - AU$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rendezvous reef resort port douglas hotel port douglas, rendezvous reef port douglas, rendezvous reef hotel port douglas
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandPort Douglas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REEF RESORT VILLAS PORT DOUGLAS (AU$148): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas
Which popular attractions are close to Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Nearby attractions include Agincourt Reef (1.1 km), Four Mile Beach (1.5 km), and St Mary’s by The Sea chapel (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Epicurean Port Douglas, Melaleuca, and Capannina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Reef Resort Villas Port Douglas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Anglican Church Mossman (11.2 km).