We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay here very much. The service was great very nice people. Our room was lovely overlooking the pool although was a bit disappointed about having to worry about the smoke alarms. So we cooked on the BBQ. DVD played didn't work, don't know why. (no volume) Very nice pools, laid on the couches under pergola all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodieannem
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first impression was that M.C. Escher was the arcitect of the hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful, the room clean with all the amenities. But the one thing a hotel MUST supply is a comfortable bed...thats the main reason you stay at a hotel, basic stuff. The matress was on on the hardish side, that was tollerable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellipot
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nellipot Thank you for placing your review of Hibiscus Resort - we are sorry to read that you did have a few concerns whilst staying with us and wish you had mentioned them during your stay as we could have provided you with a more suitable pillow, to ensure you got a good night's sleep. We are glad to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly staff who helped us book tours with ease, rooms were nice & pool was amazing. Went during a period when the 2nd pool was under renovation & kitchen was closed (didn't get complimentary breakfast), however this didn't take away from our stay at all and would have only made it better! Would happily stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhys B
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed here for six nights and found the place to be reasonably comfortable. The provided breakfast and swimming pools were great (watch for the pool towel rental fee) and the location was very convenient with shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk. Rooms are a good sized and relatively comfortable, however furnishings and bedding are a little tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We've enjoyed our time at Hibiscus. While it is a little old it is comfortable and a fantastic location, walking distance to everything in town. The pools are being refurbished. The rooms are a good size with separate rooms for ensuite, bedroom and lounge kitchenette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BowenMJ
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I had two nights here without the kids. It was lovely and relaxing and management paid attention to small details such us leaving us a personal note with some lollies and a complimentary bottle of wine. Pool area could have used a bit of maintenance on the decking area but other than that the room comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Feels like you're in Bali! Comfy beds, a/c, kitchenettes and seems like each room has a view of the pool. The pool is picture perfect and a great place to relax. HG is also really close to everything so you can walk to the wharf or shopping on Macrossan St. There's also a spa if you're keen. Reception was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I came here with my partner and it was absolutely amazing, the whole place had a gorgeous tropical feel and was always clean and well kept. The two pools were great with toys and lounges for everyone to use. The communal BBQ's were good quality ones and better than your normal public BBQ. Rooms were spotless and overall a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddy B
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We drove up from Cairns and got to Port Douglas already at lunch time. The friendly staff checked us in and we were in the pool within minutes. Very tropical resort with two clean pools with jetted tubs. Beautifully decorated one bedroom suite overlooking the lap pool with a nice patio for eating out. They provided us with breakfast vouchers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirpa S
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed for one night after we had another provider cancel our booking. The staff were friendly, the resort was lovely, the pool was beautiful. Its in an awesome location, shops and restaurants super close. Lovely and quiet. I would highly recommend families to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JodieGH

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (173)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Second Pool (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
652 reviews
0.3 km away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
280 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
239 reviews
0.3 km away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#31 of 44 in Port Douglas
154 reviews
0.3 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#11 of 44 in Port Douglas
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $134 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort
Hibiscus Resort & Spa Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hibiscus Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hibiscus Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms overlooking pool. ground floor boring and the top floor rooms too much for me after a couple of days of all those stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles jodieannem, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your own pillow”
 of 5 bubbles Nellipot, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We prefer the ground floor rooms but all rooms have a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles michellebI373WH, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no lifts so if stairs are a problem stay on first and second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles StellaM78, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the third level, overlooking the back pool.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenL49, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5