We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bay Villas Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (140)
360
Panoramas (49)
Room & Suite (356)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Check on Availability and Book Direct with us to Enjoy the Best Rates!
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 16 resorts in Port Douglas
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Diving
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Strollers
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Check on Availability and Book Direct with us to Enjoy the Best Rates!
447Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 183
  • 71
  • 29
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ashna C wrote a review Jan 2024
45 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
this hotel was one of the worst I’ve ever stayed at. It was a horrible experience for me and my children. We travelled over 30 hours from canada to spend New Year’s in Port Douglas Upon arrival been completely exhausted we were quickly dismissed to our room, saying that she was only working half a day that day at Reception I had sent a few emails with questions, and she said that she had been too busy to answer them She commented that it was unusual to book 2 dives. I thought that was strange. it was a great barrier reef after all. I felt I was being rushed at Reception. We had no help getting into a room and we were exhausted. When I got to the room I found that the room was full of ants in the bed and full of ants in the bathroom. There was no water to flush the toilet and there was no hot water to take a shower. I tried to call, but at this point Reception was gone and after hours the man that answered, said he doesn’t live in Port Douglas The bed that they left from my daughter had a mattress that was the size of a sleeping bag and my daughter said her back she could feel the rods all night I had to send an email. The Reception changed the sheets and said she couldn’t move us to another room. She sent an email saying that the hotel was full. I’m not sure I believe any of this because Douglas had a cyclone a week before and most travellers had cancelled and every single day I saw vacancy sign out front the building The hotel comments that they can help you arrange excursions. I wonder how they can do that when nobody is even at Reception after 1 PM This is a total joke. The room was filthy, dirty, and at all not a nice place to stay. Unfortunately, many excursions were canceled. However, like I already mentioned, you would not want to spend any time in the room. It was so dirty. In terms of supplies, they have a small thing of milk and disgusting coffee, and hardly any other supplies to walk a guest I asked if I could leave a day early and get a refund however I was denied and this would’ve given her four days notice the road to cairns was taken over 2 1/2 hours rather than the usual one hour it would’ve been considerate of her to let us leave a day early and refund the money instead, we had to wake up at 4 o’clock in the morning causing exhaustion on our next leg of our trip in Melbourne she took advantage of tourists that came to visit during the cyclone This is a sad comment not at all sympathetic to tourists but selfish Instead of treating the tourist that came with fairness, we were treated with disrespect The pools are no bigger than a size of a hot tub and are not at all refreshing to be in The location of the hotel is not ideal. It’s a good 15 to 20 minute walk to any decent restaurant and there’s no free shuttle service. The shuttle service service is actually quite expensive costing a lot of money. in terms of the washing machine and dryer are my last night I went to do a load of clothes the washing machine stopped halfway my clothes were full of water. I tried to call the after hours manager, who again I was told is not live in Port Douglas, he told me to squeeze my clothes dry. Ridiculous. Do yourself a favor, book yourself at a nice hotel at the Sheraton and stay away and stay clear of this filthy place that is completely inconsiderate I should get my money back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Barold wrote a review Nov 2023
Guildford, United Kingdom223 contributions91 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We liked Bay Villas but our suite was on the 2nd floor with no lift! Something to bear in mind if you're at all mobility-compromised. Separate bedroom and kitchen/diner/lounge. Dishwasher. Laundry in shower room. Good free wifi in room. Nice small pool, very quiet, in well-tended gardens with outside barbecues. No onsite food but plenty of options in town, 15 minutes walk away. You have to pay extra for the room safe (per day) and pool towels and there was no milk in the fridge which felt a bit cheapskate to me.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
arual29 wrote a review Nov 2023
Brighton, United Kingdom46 contributions60 helpful votes
Overall this accommodation was ok. We used it as a base for the 3 nights that we were in Port Douglas. Good location to marina and the local town, friendly recption staff. Rooms need a cosmetic "lift". Whilst we appreciate the wildlife, we did find our balcony was infested with flies which meant we didn't use the balcony. Otherwise, good stopping point for a few nights
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
flash m wrote a review Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia26 contributions7 helpful votes
Very "tired" and not clean. Our feet were dirty from walking on the floor, and worse we had itchy skin, watery red eyes and bites after sleeping in the bed. As for sleeping not the best as the bed was very average and "dipped' in the middle. It wasn't a good experience. The word "resort" is not really applicable for this accommodation. We do love and visit Port Douglas and there is plenty of good and well priced options of accommodation along the same street. I recommend checking out better options. It should only be 2.5 max rating based on how run down it is. Tiny TV, no streaming, but you pay a price that you would expect lots better. We travel a lot and this one you should avoid. Using "resort" in the name....well its nothing like a resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this one. Lots of better options and you won't pay anymore for a far better place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pavlob wrote a review Oct 2023
Brisbane, Australia773 contributions141 helpful votes
+1
Things to love about it: - Quiet - good bed and shower - Linen and towels fine - Short walk into town - Kitchenette well set up - Free laundry facilities For improvement: - Needs a little tlc eg blinds were a little shabby, the drying rack and luggage rack were both a bit rusty Dislikes: - Beach Towels vost $5, which I know is standard in Port Douglas but is annoying All in all, I recommend Bay Villas - I've stayed here before and would again. It just needs a little care to spruce it up around the edges but this stuff is not enough to put me off staying there/
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book early and lock in better prices - Port is an expensive place to visit and stay. Ask for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Woodsy1973 wrote a review Sept 2023
Rangiora, New Zealand28 contributions10 helpful votes
Super complex, close to main shopping/dining area of Port Douglas. Great friendly staff who were most helpful. We had Unit 2 at the back of the complex, ground floor and close to the pool. Tho other guests need to think about how loud they were in the pool! (not Bay Villa’s fault tho) Great location & would book again if coming back to Port Douglas.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SueC43 wrote a review Aug 2023
Canterbury Region, New Zealand80 contributions24 helpful votes
Nice quiet location with comfy beds and nice pillows (always a bonus!). Our one bedroom unit was modern with new furniture and loads of space. It was great having the option to park the car under cover especially during the day. The staff were friendly and helpful too. The only thing that was annoying were other noisy guests especially by the pool, as the sound carries upwards but can definitely recommend the apartments themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
_suttonrb wrote a review Aug 2023
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand9 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed there as our first choice accommodation was full for the period we wanted. We arrived just on 5pm and the lady in the office was trying hard to get locked up for the night, We found our room and were really disappointed as we had requested not to be on the ground floor. The Resort advertises that they pride themselves on the cleanliness. That is clearly not the case. We have been involved in the hospitality industry for many years and this place is dirty with no attention to detail at all. The unit smelt damp and the bathroom/laundry had dirt on the floor and there was dust everywhere. During our stay we were moved 3 times and the whole experience was totally unsatisfactory The gardens are untidy and it clearly needs a major upgrade all round. The office staff need to be flexible there is one very nice lady who should be there more.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark C wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Booked a "Guaranteed and confirmed" room...all verified with emails and booking numbers....2 weeks later we get an email out of the blue saying sorry, but we have canceled your booking because we have "double booked" the room. No offer of any assistance or help..just sorry we have cancelled you. When we contacted via email to enquire as to how that could happen we were met with nothing but bad attitude by the lady we were dealing with....I have no idea how someone can "Guarantee and confirm" a room using a booking system and then mysteriously double book it 2 weeks later...to top it off..whilst looking around to try to salvage our holiday (its a 3 bed room not easy to get)...we found the same room on a different booking site...made an online enquiry and have heard NOTHING....we suspect that they have simply had a better offer financially and decided to cancel us...very poor form..dont trust their bookings !!..they cancel with no real reason
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: YEP..DONT TRUST THEIR BOOKING...THEY CANCEL ON YOU WITH A DODGY EXPLANATION AND LEAVE YOU STRANDED
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bay Villas, Owner at Bay Villas Resort
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Sorry Mark for your bad experience, however you have the wrong place. We have no record in our booking system, booking system from third parties nor in our emails in reference to a booking from you. And we certainly haven't cancelled a 3 bedroom apartment. We haven't had an overbooking in the last five years, and if we did we would find an alternative place for you to stay and bear any additional cost. We don't cancel people's well earned holidays for a few extra bucks. Please contact me at the resort, and ask for the Manager, if you wish to discuss further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
murrpark wrote a review Mar 2023
Wurtulla, Australia251 contributions162 helpful votes
On the plus side this is in a good location with an easy walk to the main shopping street and the beach. Two very nice, clean pools and the large laundry is a plus. On the downside the place is in need of an update to clean it up and modernise. More attention needs to go into the cleaning as this was below standard.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Port Douglas area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$117 - AU$189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bay villas hotel port douglas, bay resort port douglas, bay hotel port douglas
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandPort Douglas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAY VILLAS RESORT (AU$117): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Port Douglas) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bay Villas Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bay Villas Resort?
Nearby attractions include Four Mile Beach (1.0 km), St Mary’s by The Sea chapel (1.1 km), and Flagstaff Hill Lookout (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bay Villas Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bay Villas Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bay Villas Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bay Villas Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bay Villas Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Epicurean Port Douglas, Melaleuca, and Capannina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bay Villas Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bay Villas Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Port Douglas.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bay Villas Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Bay Villas Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St David's Anglican Church Mossman (10.3 km).